We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveller rating
195
106
33
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
106
33
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar sister hotel small hotel honesty book pool area own private villa steep hill relaxing holiday old town rowing machine friendly hotel good size stayed bed and breakfast peace and quiet half board plenty of sunbeds minute walk
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 347 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Stayed here with through TUI. Welcomed by friendly manager (Paul?)

Location:
It is literally a very strong uphill walk to the hotel from Anywhere! and takes about 15-20 mins for us to get to and from the main town/restaurants.

Hotel Room:
Room 101 - Not a good balcony view btw !!
We had a problem with the shower as soon as we arrived and went in for our first shower - turned the shower on and the bathroom slowly flooded - However we reported this and it was fixed almost immediately. We had no more problems after this.
The room and bathroom was clean and were cleaned almost every day. The whole hotel was kept clean and tidy! Very nice staff around hotel also!
The Air-Con was great and in fine working order.
The mattresses were pretty hard (not so great if you don't like that kind of bed)

Hotel Facilities:
Pool area looks great, However the pool itself - Freezing. not even 'refreshing', just freezing and the 'Jacuzzi' - Even colder - nothing relaxing about it. This was such a shame! We could understand the Pool being cold but not the jacuzzi :(
The gym area isn't great. maybe 3 different types of bikes and a rowing machine. Would be great if they could get a treadmill up there!!

Hotel Food:
Breakfast was okay, cereal, bread, fruit, cheese, ham and some hot food.
We decided not to stay here for an evening meal as we wanted a different place to eat from breakfast! However the prices are quite decent!

In the long run, our holiday was good value for money - including the hotel we paid £370 Flights, B&B for 1 week with transfers and insurance. So it was a cheap getaway for us.

P.S. There is alot of stag parties and hen dos and partying in general in the town, so if thats not your thing, look elsewhere in Portugal!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank wallie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lxmax_design, Marketing at Cerro da Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Dear wallie64,

thank you so much for your kind review.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back for another stay at the Cerro da Marina.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

We have sadly returned from here last week. We were welcomed by Carol & Paulo fantastic people nothing was a bother. We requested via email a double matress for ourselves and our guests with us. The rooms are very spacious and the bed was huge. The breakfast is continental with plenty of choices, fresh bread and fruit daily. I would recommend Cerro de Marina yes it it about 10 to 15 min walk to the main square but it's no hardship. We will return.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank carol l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lxmax_design, Marketing at Cerro da Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Dear carol l,

thank you so much for your kind review.

It is really gratifying to read how much you enjoyed staying with us.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back for another perfect stay.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

Well, nice hotel but nothing special.
The environment is not as good as it seems to be.
Nice pool area.
Dinner: in town you can eat better. Breakfast: nothing special.
Room: enough.
Be careful if you travel with dogs. Read carefully the rules (we discovered when we git there, EURO 10.00 per day per dog!!!!), in Booking.com was written very little at the end....
Well for one night, not longer...

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Y1650ZBclaudiom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pauloGuerreiro500, General Manager at Cerro da Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear Guests
Many thanks for your coments but we do not agree with your review :
on the breakfast we have a long variety we have 12 quality fresh daily bread, we have fresh fruit every day, 5 cheese quality + 3 qualities of ham + 2 types salamis, yoghurts, natural juice (3 items, Orange, ananas and tomato) 5 qualities of cereals, 2 different types of homemade cake made every day in the hotel and many more items including Champagne, we remember that we are a 3 star hotel !! if it's a weak breakfast !!!!!
The information is on the bookiging page and on all pages of the hotel and onlines and that breakfast and buffett but we give more and we also have English breakfast with different sausages, bacon beans etc.
When you booked the hotel on booking you received a confirmation, in this confirmation it is well written that the animals may have additional costs, it is advisable to see the confirmation when the reservation is made or even before it is clearly stated, dogs up to 4 kg is free from 5 kg Additional cost of 10 € from 15kgs has an additional cost of 20 €, even in the important information of the hotel on the booking page is written the conditions and prices of the animals.
Next time you book a hotel please see the conditions and do not complain about the information you receive before and after you book
Sobre o jantar o preço é de 14€ por 3 courses ( soup or starter or a dish of fish or a dish of meat and the desert.(10 choices of dessert including ice cream)
The menu it is change every day , and even if you do not like the daily menu you have more 6 choices to change , including salmon, swordfish, grilled sirloin steak , chicken Pie etc)
Please let me now wish restaurant in the town and this quality and this price for 14€
I already when to the town to see prices and do not find any with for 3 courses for this prices , maybe fish & chisps ????are cheaper or pizza are cheaper but only one dish
But did you have dinner in the hotel I do not see a note on your review???
I hope to see you in the future
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

This is the third time (with many more to come) at staying at this Hotel. greeted with a friendly welcome and our room was very spacious and of a high standard in both cleaniness and ammentities available. Breakfast as always more than ample and a great selection to choose from both hot and cold. Unfortunately the weather spoilt our break as it rained most days, but that's mother nature for you.Once again highly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning next year( maybe a tad later in the season)

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Z693KKrobertk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lxmax_design, Marketing at Cerro da Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Dear Z693KKrobertk,

thank you so much for your kind review.

We are happy that your third stay was as enjoyable as the previous ones.

We look forward to welcome you back for your fourth stay and remain at your disposal for any assistance you might require.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

I cannot fault the service and cleanliness. It was soo relaxing and peaceful. I do agree it is a little out of the centre but my husband hired a car so it wasn't a big issue for us.

Breakfast was great with many choices of breads, fruits, juices etc. Staff were excellent, very helpful and friendly.

The room was spacious and comfortable especialy the bed. Definitely recommend.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Samirah188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews