We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,212)
Filter reviews
1,212 results
Traveller rating
418
457
197
84
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
418
457
197
84
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view infinity pool old town overlooking the beach premium room lovely hotel private balcony cold meats stayed bed and breakfast third floor sun loungers small pool few minutes walk coffee machine the cliff reception staff bars and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 1,212 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for 5 nights and found that there are pros and cons with this hotel. The location is great for the old town with its countless bars and restaurants and only around 7 euros in a cab to the livelier ‘strip’ area. The hotel enjoys fantastic sea views and was immaculately clean in all areas including the room, small and dated though it was. Our balcony was a small screened off section of a big terrace which also houses the pool, so it wasn’t private, but the view was spectacular. Breakfast was okay but the self service area is cramped, it seems too small for the size of the hotel. We found the reception and breakfast staff to be grumpy, they couldn’t even muster a smile! We were charged for the receptionist to call us a taxi. Only 50 cents but we found this very strange and not something we’ve ever encountered before. It felt as if everything was a bother for the staff. Our room was just behind reception and we were woken EVERY morning of our break by staff talking very loudly at 7.30am, followed very soon after by the unwelcome sound of vacuuming, complete with the vacuum cleaner clanging off the walls and our door. Not great when you’re away for a relaxing holiday. If you are assigned a room beginning with ‘3’ we’d advise asking for another floor if you don’t want the rude awakening. To be fair we might have been offered a room on another floor but we didn’t complain as we were already unpacked and couldn’t be bothered with moving.
Overall, a mixed bag.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank franm32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

We stopped by for a quick rest and snack at the outdoor bar. We were not greeted warmly and we were served a 'poor' ice cream a bit grudgingly! We would have stayed on and had a drink and maybe something to eat but were made to feel very uncomfortable AND the toilets were locked! Maybe we hit a bad day but we didn't return.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank rosalin101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

We booked in for 3 weeks which was to long ,the staff were wonderful.Unfortunately the swimming pool was so small it was like trying to swim in a bath.The food was of good quality but served luke warm.The pool area had only 7 chairs for the entire building.overall the hotel is more suited to short stay holidays.the hotel was beautiful clean and the staff were always cheerful.I think the hotel is overated. For anyone that has been in the military the noise in the restaurant would be familiar.would i return yes but only short stay

Room tip: floors on the 5th floor are quiet
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank georgeMerseaIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

We booked in to the Rocamar for a couples break in February. We initially booked in for the first 4 nights of a ten day stay with a view to moving. We ended up staying for the 9 nights as we really liked the hotel. We stayed in a standard room with a sea view for the first 7 nights and upgraded to a premium room on the third floor for the last 2 nights for an extra 20e per night. The room is totally worth the upgrade for the space, the Nespresso machine, the shower and the private terrace with sun beds beside the pool. You do not get the terrace with sun beds on any other floor. Everything is clean, modern and the location is superb. The slight downfall is the staff, particularly at reception. They are not particularly friendly and they don’t aim to please. However you will get what you need after a little debate. George the bar man is lovely and gave us some good tips on the area. We didn’t use the spa as it wasn’t available when we wanted it but it looks small but nice. The breakfast is nothing special but stocked well and a good start to the day. I will definitely come back for the location, the value, the view and it was perfect for our needs.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank aimeew184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

3 days in Portugal and we visited this bar and restaurant on the sea twice for numerous hours each time. It’s a place that you can get comfortable in whether it’s sitting outside by the sea view with a coffee or wine or sitting inside of an evening when the temperature drops with a lovely glass of red wine while seeing albufeira lighting up the night. Service is good. Very clean place. Enjoyed our girly lunches there very much. Excellent views.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank UGGMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews