We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel”
Review of Hotel do Cerro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel do Cerro
Ranked #49 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 16 September 2017

When we first arrived at the hotel, after a long transfer, I thought we had stepped back in time! First impressions were that the hotel is very dated and needs refurbishing, although we did discover that some parts of the hotel are more modern. Our room, although old fashioned however had a lovely view of the beach and was cleaned every day. The staff are all friendly and work hard. Not quite sure about Manuel the jobs worth bar tender as he could be friendly one day and quite rude another depending on his mood! The food was very good, not much of a variety but you won't starve! The walk down to the beach and town is about 10 -15 minutes and there is a lift down to the beach. As others have said it is quite a steep hill to get back to the hotel but not as bad as I had imagined. The guests at the hotel are all friendly and we met some great people and had some brilliant evenings! The entertainment was ok most nights. The bar shuts at 11 pm and we would sometimes go down the road to the Queen Victoria pub (turn left out of the hotel and it is just down the road) who open until very late. Give the hotel a chance, we had a great holiday!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PMW32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 826 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

After visiting the steakhouse terrace restaurant for a family birthday meal as non residents and being given the choice of buffet or al a carte we ordered from the menu .2 steaks one in a pepper sauce and one plain and 2 pork meals .the service was lovely and the food seemed ok .we tried to pay by card but was asked for cash so paid and left ,unfortunately a few hours later 2of the party who had the pork became seriously ill so much that on our flight home we received attention from the cabin crew and one of the party who is 76and diabetic with heart problems is still unable to leave her bed we are awaiting medical advice before we decide what to do.



Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Sharron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

We are staying here at the moment, our third visit, and it's nothing short of perfect.
All Staff are efficient and approachable, going above and beyond when necessary. Food is of a high standard and very appealing. Dining is a pleasure. Rooms are individual, lovely, spotlessly clean and full of character.
Pool area is small but allows for interaction with fellow guests.
Location is good. As it's overlooking albufeira old town the views are great. It's a reasonable distance away from the busy tourist areas but near enough to walk there and back or jump in a taxi to come back.
This is a very individual hotel which offers a great relaxing stay and the golden opportunity to make new friends. It's quirky and a privilege to have stayed here 3 times. Coming back in 2018 for another fix of rest and relaxation.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with my girlfriend for 2 weeks (all inclusive) it is a lovely hotel however it has some pros and cons

CONS
•not really a all inclusive hotel
•only 2 plug sockets in a room
•spa and gym are very expensive coming in at 5 euros and you have to pay separate for department off the spa e.g. sauna
•Have to pay 5 euros for a swimming cap (indoor pool)
•Gym is basic

PROS
•food is absolutely excellent
•great staff especially Rafael
•Good area about 5 min walk from the town
• peaceful and calm environment

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Comfortable room with sea view, spotlessly clean, great choice of buffet food for breakfast, lunch and dinner, staff always checking and refilling. All the staff were friendly and speak perfect English but they do appreciate it if you try some Portuguese. The pool area was lovely, plenty of sunbeds and good background music ( not thumping dance music ) , the perfect spot to relax and soak up the sun. Entertainment every night except Sunday...Ze Lara the Portuguese singer/guitarist is hilarious, still laughing back home. Manuel keeps everyone served with drinks in the bar....try his Sex on the Beach cocktail. Ten minute walk to Abufeira old town with plenty of bars and gift shops. The hills are plentiful but doable.. One downside..no kettle in the room so take your own, there is a fridge but there is a charge for it and a 7.50 euro charge for the safe. All in all good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cath W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 km away
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
2.1 km away
Ondamar Aparthotel
Ondamar Aparthotel
#42 of 154 in Albufeira
501 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Vila Recife
Hotel Vila Recife
#113 of 154 in Albufeira
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#39 of 154 in Albufeira
1,358 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#13 of 154 in Albufeira
1,851 reviews
3.3 km away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel do Cerro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel do Cerro

Address: Rua Samora Barros, Albufeira 8200-178, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#20 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#21 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#34 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: ₹ 3,439 - ₹ 11,720 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel do Cerro 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel do Cerro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Do Cerro Albufeira
Estalagem Do Cerro Hotel Albufeira
Estalagem Cerro
Hotel Do Cerro Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing