We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isolated mega resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #26 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2017

This used to be a lovely mid-sized hotel, with 5 tennis courts, a busy 9-hole golf course and a small beach.
It is now a mega resort, with about seven times as many rooms (many in apartments) - it still has 5 tennis courts, a 9-hole golf course which is very busy, and a beach that is now smaller, due to erosion. The resort always feels crowded.
The hotel breakfast is excellent - and while the staff is helpful, there are just too few of them. There is always a queue at reception. Worst aspect is the restaurants. All are expensive, without matching the standards of the nearby Conrad Algarve or Villa Vita Park. You can buy dinner in advance for 37.50 Euro - but outside July and August this gets you either one buffet or a credit of 30 Euro in an a la carte restaurant. (I know, paying 37.50 in advance for a credit of 30 doesn't make sense to me).
Would not return.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank x229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear x229,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Pine Cliffs Resort.

After reading your review, we regret to know that we were not able to meet your expectations unlike other years you have stayed with us. The size and the facilities existent of our property are one of the main reasons other guests visit us. Please be informed that we have recently done some improvements works at the beach making it bigger and wider for our guests.

Nevertheless, we would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the shortcomings experienced during your stay and rest assured your comments were promptly shared with management for improvement measures.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our resort and dazzle you with the exquisite level of service we always aim to provide.

Best Regards,

Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2017

I have just returned from 4 nights at Pine Cliffs. We stayed in a Premier Grand Deluxe Room with Resort view. Room no 22.
There have been a number of reviews which have stated that the staff were surly, rude,dismissive etc.
My experience could not have been so different. The Staff at Reception were polite,informative & helpful. All the staff were polite and friendly. I did not come across one person with a bad attitude.
Room 22 was very well appointed. Fabulous bathroom, lovely bed, nice terrace with 2 very comfortable loungers with a lovely view of the garden and quiet. Whisper quiet and efficient Air conditiioning!
We ate in the Corda Cafe,O Grill and the Beach Club. All served very nice food. We had Sunset drinks in the Mirador/Champagne bar where the service was also exceptional.
As mentioned in other reviews there are plenty of sunbeds and areas of natural shade to sit. We stayed mainly by the O Pescador pool.
We played 9 holes of golf on 3 occasions. The course is very well kept, the greens were " fast" and we avoided the 6th Hole,not having the confidence to land on the Green!
The beach is long and my one criticism is that the Sunbeds and shading should be upgraded so that people are not packed in like Sardines.I did not use the beach as the sunbed area did not look appealing to me. Great beach for power and sunset walks.

Room Tip: Room 22 in the Hotel. Ocean,pool and golf suites appear to be used by families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Milly1_23860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear Milly1_23860,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Pine Cliffs Resort with TripAdvisor.

It is with much honor that we receive your compliments on our resort accommodation, facilities and grounds. Creating wonderful memories is one of our main goals so we are happy to learn we were able to achieve that.

Thank you for your nice words on our associates and for recognizing our efforts in providing to our guests the most exceptional service. Your remarks are of extreme importance to us, so we would like to inform you that we took note of your comments regarding the beach sunbeds and they will be shared with the head of the department to prevent similar situations in the future.

We look forward to your return and should you require assistance in your future bookings, do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

6 years ago we got married at the Pine Cliffs hotel. Since then we were afraid to return because we didn't want our memories of that fairytale weekend to be overshadowed. But when we were in the neighbourhood this week we jumped in and booked a 2 night stay. The welcome could not be more warm and nice. We immediately got an upgrade to an amazing renovated duplex suite. 2 badrooms, 2 balconies and more space then we ever needed. The personel is fantastic, from the conciërge to the receptionist, to the staff in the restaurants. The grounds are more beautiful and well maintained than ever. I truly believe Pine cliffs is one of the most beautiful places in the world, and the only thing I really really regret is that we waited six years after our wedding to return. I promise our next visit will be sooner.
Thank you guys

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BarbaraKralingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear BarbaraKralingen,

First and foremost, we would like to share how grateful we are for you choosing the Pine Cliffs, A Luxury Collection Resort to spend your holidays once again. It is our main goal to provide memorable experiences, so we are very proud to know that 6 years after your fairytale wedding, the Pine Cliffs Team and its beautiful grounds were able to exceed your expectations and make your stay so wonderful.

We look forward to your return and should you need any assistance on a future booking, please do not hesitate in contacting us. It would be our pleasure to assist you.

Best regards,

The Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

We went back to Pine cliffs as we had had a great time at Costa Navarino hotel which is also a luxury collection resort in June and thought this was a safe bet. Whilst it is a great location and we loved their Piri Piri restaurant every thing else felt a little off the mark all of the time. I do not want to put the place down but silly things let it down like no ping pong balls only bats in kids room. Unable to book a table at night and having to wait for a table and being told off for standing at the wrong place at the bar having waited there for 15 mins to get a beer. This could be a great place if they sort their offer out. Having said that we did ultimately enjoy our trip

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank swann_familiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear swann_family,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay at the Pine Cliffs Resort. Your feedback is indispensable to the running of our operation, so we are thankful for your contribution.

While reading your review we noticed some mixed feelings regarding your stay. Whilst we are very happy to learn that our resort grounds, facilities and accommodation contributed to your enjoyment, we are also disappointed to learn that there were some aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations, and for that we would like to present our apologies.

Nevertheless, we would like to believe that we will keep deserving your preference in the future and we will do our upmost to provide you with our exquisite level of service.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

First day at the Pine cliffs hotel and very mixed feelings about it. Got an upgrade to a nice suite as a Starwood Platinum and check in was great. However, the beach experience was quite disappointing. For starters, the lounges and beach club were not exactly what you would up to the level of a 400 euro/night, five star hotel. To top it up, we were not allowed to take our wine to the beach as they did not have any buckets of ice to keep it cold while drinking at the beach club.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Antonio K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear Antonio K,

Thank you for contributing with your review on your recent stay at the Pine Cliffs Resort and for your loyalty towards Marriott International.

We are delighted to learn that you have had a pleasant stay with us and that our check in experience contributed to your enjoyment. We always take in high consideration our Platinum guests so we are happy to know that we were able to upgrade you to one of our beautiful suites.

Regarding your beach experience, allow us to extend our apologies for not meeting your expectations. This is one of our high points and one of the main reasons that drives most of our guests to visit us, so we are disappointed to have fallen out of our goal to provide a memorable experience in this occasion.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our resort in the near future and dazzle you with the five star service we so much pride ourselves on.

Best Regards,

Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
1.2 km away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
0.7 km away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,155 reviews
1.8 km away
Pine Cliffs Ocean Suites, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 km away
Vila Joya
Vila Joya
#13 of 154 in Albufeira
246 reviews
19.7 km away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
14.6 km away
Salgados Dunas Suites
Salgados Dunas Suites
#20 of 154 in Albufeira
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort

Address: Praia da Falesia, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal (Formerly Sheraton Algarve Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#7 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#12 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#17 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#19 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: ₹ 9,644 - ₹ 36,880 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, formerly known as Sheraton Algarve, offers recently renovated rooms, enhanced and extended dining options, and a brand new, 1000m2 Serenity Spa, The Art of Well Being. Pine Cliffs Hotel has a stunning cliff-top location above Portugal's longest beach, Praia da Falésia. All of the beautifully decorated rooms and suites at Pine Cliffs Hotel include in-room entertainment systems with LCD TVs. All rooms also include furnished balconies with garden or sea views. The resort features 5 tennis courts, a 9-hole golf course, a beach club and a mini golf. For children and teenagers, the Junior Club provides a variety of activities such as mini-golf and football. The property is a 1-hour drive from Faro International Airport. Free on-site car parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Albufeira
Sheraton Algarve
Albufeira Sheraton
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing