We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time here, fantastic experience again. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #19 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

So this is our second time here, aside from a pain in the backside previous “guest” who wouldn’t give up our room all day everything has been even better than last year.

The weather is obviously 33 degrees plus everyday which is met wonderfully with the unheated pools, others disagree but I love them. The general facility during the day is fantastic. Huge grass areas to sit around or 5 separate pools to sit near means you never get bored.

The beach is also fantastic, well staffed and maintained. Very clean.

There are many restaurants on the complex, see last years review for them - all are 5 star.

The kids club is just amazing. See last years review.

The kids have been taught to swim out here - very good coaches. A very very good gym too. Very happy with the facilities. Always spotless. The cleaners are active all day here.

The buffet each night should you choose to eat them is amazing. Always a huge variety.

I can’t fault anything at all !!!!! Yannis, one of the managers is fantastic - very helpful. We had some special requests. Kids baby gates, cots, bed bars etc. Even a birthday cake. All attended to perfectly.

Absolutely perfect here. 100/100 (because 10/10 isn’t enough )

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Sirai1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Dear Sirai1,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for the glowing review regarding your recent stay at the Pine Cliffs Resort.

Thank you so much for your kind compliments, they really enhance how unique our resort is. Especially we are pleased to know how much you have enjoyed your accommodation, the resort grounds and facilities, and our stunning beach.

We would also like to share how proud we are to realize that our associates went above and beyond to assure you enjoyed your stay to the fullest. It is our aim to create fabulous memories so we are thrilled that we have been able to achieve just that.

It will be our joy to host you again, and to provide another memorable stay. Please let us know when you are planning your next visit and we will be happy to assist you.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 47 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Mixed reviews on here so almost didn't book. Now wished I hadn't. Arrival at hotel greeted by rude reception staff manager - it set the tone for the whole holiday.

Our Queen bed double ocean view room paid and booked not available. Apparently paying for this is a request and according to their Manager they let guests down every day on this. You'll pay for the above but get a twin car park facing room with two single beds. Took over 1 hour of arguing to get the room we'd paid for after he eventually found one after being told it was full! They will try it on!

Every single restaurant in this resort is full of grumpy middle age men appearing as waiters. Be warned - rude, can't be bothered arrogant attitude follows the theme in all restaurants. No getting away from them. Mixed well with 20 something girls with cranky attitudes to match.

If you happen to walk past a member of staff by the pool etc you will receive no friendly welcome. As a guest you'll be in their way and get more of a tut or shove off the path than a hi!

Hotel ok but let down by terrible staff. Pool areas rubbish and a long walk to the beach. Beach bar is the worst restaurant out of them all. Tables free but you'll wait 20 minutes to be seated.

Beach is more 2 star than 5.

I highly suggest you go and stay anywhere but here!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank honestandfair_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear honestandfair_12,

On behalf of all the management team at the Pine Cliffs, a Luxury Collection Resort, we would like to thank you for having taken time to post your impressions on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

Following up on your review, please allow us to mention that contrary to your impressions, we do emphasize and care about the well-being of our guests, investing heavily in training our associates to provide first class customer care to make sure that our guests leave us feeling that they have received exceptional service. While we are positive that that our team had no intention of appearing careless, we would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused.

We do regret we were not able to rectify your feelings prior to your departure, but we hope you will allow us another opportunity to show you how much we care of our guests. To avoid any issues with the room preference for a future stay, feel free to contact our Reservations Team to assist you during the booking procedure.

Best regards,

Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Stayed here for a night leaving a day early from Lisbon (cancelling our hotel there), we loved it. It is a super family friendly resort and we don't have children but that didn't matter. It is expensive, but it is peak summer season in a very well equipped resort, so what do you except, rent a villa if you want cheaper less amenities vibe/price.

The champagne bar was gorgeous, we stayed much longer than we attended. I also used the gym which was well equipped and pretty good for a hotel. Breakfast is good, if a little crowed (back to the peak season comment) and has a separate gluten free table with bread, corn flakes etc, quite tiny but still never see that outside of NZL/Australia.

Room service also very good, elemis products in the bathroom. We enjoyed so much, are leaving our villa a day early and have rebooked for tomorrow night.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Suemas2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Dear Suemas2014,

It is with much pleasure that we read your review. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts with the TripAdvisor community.

We would like to start by thanking you for your nice words on our resort facilities, such as the Mirador champagne bar, very well known for its stunning views of the sunset over the cliffs, our well-equipped health club and gym and our gastronomic variety both in our different restaurants and in our breakfast.

Being a family friendly resort is one of the reasons why most of our guests visit us, so we would like to express our appreciation for your recognition on our efforts to provide an exquisite service even to our families without children.

We look forward to host you back in the near future, and if you require assistance in your future bookings do not hesitate to contact us, we are at your entire disposal.

Best regards,

Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Hotel is nice and room is lovely. The reception staff could do with taking some pointers in friendliness and customer service from the restaurant staff. Very good gym. Wouldn't say it's a 5*, more a 4*

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank HeidiGrasmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Dear HeidiGrasmere,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at the Pine Cliffs Hotel.

We would like to start by telling you how grateful we are to learn you have enjoyed your room, our hotel design and comfort, and the facilities of our gym. However, it is with disappointment that we realize that you have not received the exquisite customer service experience we most pride ourselves on, not only in our restaurants and bars but also in our front desk, and for that, we apologize.

We hope to count with your next visit to our resort and dazzle you with the five star service we always aim to provide.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

We recently spent two weeks at the Pine Cliffs Hotel. Overall this is a fine property, but there are clearly some negatives people should be aware when chosing the hotel.

On the positive side, the location is spectacular right above Praia da Falaisa. The beach and garden are very nice and quiet. The restaurants are generally fine, the beach restaurant is very nice. The rooms have been refurbished, and the property is well maintained. The views from the garden are stunning, and it is enjoyable to rest under the pine trees. Lunch is possible in the garden (although of mediocre quality and overpriced).

On the negative side, one needs to be careful with the location of the room. We had booked a Premium Duplex Suite over two floors, and the view is advertised by the hotel as follows: "captivates guests with incandescent views of the verdant resort grounds". In reality the room was overlooking a large parking in front of the entrance of the hotel, and it was just over a staff entrance. It was quite noisy until 1 pm and as from 7:30 am. Staff friendlyness and competence is mixed, with lots of junior assistants not able to cope with simple demands. Wifi is poor in a number of areas, and most of the times did not work in the room, contrary to what is being advertised. The problem seems to be well known to staff who help out with mobile access points, which in turn do not work either. In our case IT changed it 4 times - unsuccessfully so. It would be easier to have rooms equipped with adequate Wifi coverage as most hotels are today. The biggest negative is the breakfast at Jardim Colonial. Almost every morning we had to cue for 10 minutes to get a table, there was chaos, staff was stressed and unfriendly, coffee was served at the end of the breakfast if at all. It fell like a big canteen - including the treatment.

Overall a good but mixed experience, sadly the negatives could easily be overcome if there were competent supervisors at the property. Certainly not a 5 star hotel, rather 3-4.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Claude M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Dear Claude M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with the TripAdvisor community.

While reading your review we noticed some mixed feelings towards your experience with us. Whilst we are very happy to learn that our Resort grounds, the views, beach and the surroundings met your expectations, we are also saddened to realize that there were some aspects of your stay that were not up to your standards.

Your feedback is of high importance to us as it allows us to follow up on your recent stay so we would like to thank you for it. Kindly notice, that your thoughts and suggestions were promptly shared with our Management for their review and improvement.

We look forward to your return and should you need any assistance don’t hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,
The Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
0.7 km away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
0.2 km away
Pine Cliffs Ocean Suites, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
1.1 km away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,458 reviews
0.4 km away
Pine Cliffs Village & Golf Suites
17.9 km away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort

Address: Praia da Falesia, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal (Formerly Sheraton Algarve Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#7 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#15 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#16 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: ₹ 9,045 - ₹ 35,605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, formerly known as Sheraton Algarve, offers recently renovated rooms, enhanced and extended dining options, and a brand new, 1000m2 Serenity Spa, The Art of Well Being. Pine Cliffs Hotel has a stunning cliff-top location above Portugal's longest beach, Praia da Falésia. All of the beautifully decorated rooms and suites at Pine Cliffs Hotel include in-room entertainment systems with LCD TVs. All rooms also include furnished balconies with garden or sea views. The resort features 5 tennis courts, a 9-hole golf course, a beach club and a mini golf. For children and teenagers, the Junior Club provides a variety of activities such as mini-golf and football. The property is a 1-hour drive from Faro International Airport. Free on-site car parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Albufeira
Sheraton Algarve
Albufeira Sheraton
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing