We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 297
US$ 267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 251
US$ 193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Vila Gale Atlantico(Gale)(Great Value!)
US$ 222
US$ 215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 144
US$ 120
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Alfagar Aparthotel(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$ 234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 426
US$ 378
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eden Resort(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$ 216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 277
US$ 268
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 226
US$ 210
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 631
US$ 455
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (981)
Filter reviews
981 results
Traveller rating
413
364
136
36
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
413
364
136
36
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmoonlight restaurantstar hotelnature reservelobby barbeautiful hotelhalf boardgin barbuffet restaurantkids clubspa poolrain showergolf resortold townkids poolsmall trainhotel rooms areuntil midnight
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 981 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2018

We enjoyed a nice stay here... buffet breakfast was nice fresh and great cheese. Room service was good also. The main restaurant had a lovely view from the top but the food wasn't that great tbh. They were friendly and helpful.

Overall I enjoyed my stay, nice quiet hotel

Stayed: April 2018
1  Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAUHotels_Resorts, Manager at Salgados Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Dear George,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at NAU Salgados Palace.
Kindly note that we are very happy to hear that you had a great time in our hotel.
Please be so kind to note that our staff works daily to bring you the best experiences.
We hope to see you soon in the future.
Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

We were given an upgrade as our planned hotel (Salgados Dunas) was surrounded...by bulldozers! At The Palace you enter an imposing, almost cathedral-like reception and the welcome was pretty good though booking in a little slow. Having said that one of the reception team (Mario) took the initiative to arrange a free transfer to Morgado (by one of his colleagues) when one of our games was rained off at Salgados...top marks for that. The room was gorgeous....large, clean, very modern with a very large bed... 5* there. Small point is that only your first two coffee pods are free...you will be charged 2 euros for any after that....this surprise was a little disappointing at the end when we came to settle up. For a place of this standard it just seemed a little penny (euro cent) pinching. The food was right up there with the best I've had in a holiday setting....the chefs are adventurous, and there is a huge variety of seriously tempting food available at breakfast and dinner (didn't have lunch there). One other very impressive aspect is that the lower priced wines are delightful and the attentive staff are happy to recommend them. We don't see much Portuguese wine in the UK (other than Mateus Rose!) and these were a revellation...5* again. The Spa is on the lower ground floor....lovely pool, sauna and steam room. We didn't have any treatments. A small criticism would be that guests tend to leave towels on the limited number of couches so there could be more room in that regard as you are left not really being able to lie by the indoor pool. The gym is small but freely available (not many takers when we were there). If you are looking for a beach holiday you might find the distance to the sand a little far. The Salgados Golf course has more water than I've seen in most places but is really good. There seems to be limited availability at Salgados though so be sure to book your tee times there in advance. Morgado and Alamo are serviced from this hotel but be prepared for a 20' transfer; both are pretty decent with a good bar area and range. One small niggle at these courses was the additional charge (4 euros) for a push trolley.....just seems a little pinching.....for this quality it would be a wise touch to have it included in the green fee on a first come first served basis otherwise it sets the wrong tone. In conclusion you are in for a serious treat if you are getting away from it all and relaxing at Salgados Palace. If you're golfing book all that you need and I'd recommend Salgados over the neighbouring courses (e.g 4 rounds there and 2 at the others for example). If it's sand you want you'll prob want a hotel closer to the beach but there are three large outdoor pools at The Palace if you don't mind.

Room Tip: Would recommend a sea view room.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank AndChiSqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAUHotels_Resorts, Manager at Salgados Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your good review.

Kindly note that we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your holidays at NAU Salgados Palace.

Our team is commited in bringing you the best service and experience, as well as making your holidays unforgettable.

We look forward in seeing you again.

Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

I went there in a work convention. In the balcony you can have a great time relaxing with that amazing view. Very near to the beach, you can be really zen, even when you are working. The food was great too and the bathrooms so beautiful.

Room Tip: Good to relax even when working
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MafSousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAUHotels_Resorts, General Manager at Salgados Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear MafSousa,

Thank you for your excellent review.

Kindly note that we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your time in your work convention in our hotel.

Our team is commited in bringing you the best service and experience.

We look forward in seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Marcos Sousa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

The hotel is nice, though not that quiet as it was during the easter holidays ( alot of toddlers). You can walk all the way to the beach (15 mins walk). The experience was good compared to the price paid. But We left an item in the hotel, so we got in touch with their customer service to arrange the item to be shipped back to France. We paid for the shipping, and we are fine with that. But since then no news of the Item, and it's been 6 months. Despite regularly inquiring about it no one from the Hotel personally took the matter in his/her own hand and try to solve this issue.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kamel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAUHotels_Resorts, Diretor-Geral at Salgados Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Kamel M,

Thank you for your comment regarding your stay at Salgados Palace.

Kindly note that we are happy to know that your have enjoyed our hotel.

Regarding the situation that you refer about your item, please note that we have sent it to you to the adress that you have given to us. As per the information that we have from the company, your package has failed the dilevery for 5 different times (Please contact for detailed information).

We are always happy to help our guests', including making the efforts to send back the items that our clients have left behind. In this case, we have sent the items as requested, according to our standarts.

We hope to see you again in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Marcos Sousa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

I booked this hotel as it was 5 star & seemed to have a lot of facilities plus close to beach. It's in the middle of a golf course/nature reserve so it is very relaxing if you want to get away from it all but as this was out of season only the buffet 25 euro per head not including drinks was open or you had to get room service so it was a good job we had hired a car. The room was very clean & well equipped with comfy bed although I requested a double & it was two singles when we arrived that could not be changed to a double till the next day & even when it was made into a double you could still end up in the gap. I was aware the spa had an additional charge before we went which is quite unusual as normally hotel guests get free use of spa area's in 5 star hotels. It's 15 Euro plus you have to wear a swim hat in the pool so had to buy one a 5 Euro so in total 20 Euro & once in there actually it was quite small & some things were closed so that was disappointing. The breakfast is fantastic such a huge choice. The beach is a mile away & although we were told there was a train when we went to get it they had stopped running it & just had a guy in a taxi who couldn't fit everyone in the car so we had to wait a long time. The beach is lovely & nice restaurant there too.
Outdoor pools were nice & plenty of sun loungers.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ellejt1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAUHotels_Resorts, Diretor-Geral at Salgados Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear ellejt1973,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Salgados Palace.

Kindly note that we are delighted to know that you have enjoyed our hotel.

Please note that regarding our Spa facilities, they are charged at the amount of 10€ a day per person plus a swimming cap, in case you did not bring yours with you.

Our guests' opinions are important for our service improvements, so please note that we will have yours in consideration.

We look forward to see you again.

Best Regards,

Marcos Sousa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews