We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,920)
Filter reviews
1,920 results
Traveller rating
773
763
270
79
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
773
763
270
79
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dog and duck pub indoor pool old town vila gale hotel bed and breakfast lovely hotel tourist train busy road plenty of sunbeds a pool view room cake shop next door cold meats junior suite day ticket main road reception staff pool side
Filter
Updating list...
758 - 763 of 1,920 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2015

We holidayed with two other families and had a brilliant time. The animation crew were brilliant, my 6 year old son had such a fantastic time he cried when we left and is desperate to go back! I would recommend this hotel to anyone of any age!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank angelamason34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a lovely review and for highly recommending our hotel as we are very please to find we have been able to exceed your expectations.We will pass on your comments to our animation crew.
We hope to welcome you and your son again in a near future

Kind regards
Rosário Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2015

Staff friendly and helpful, fellow at reception most helpful printed out my boarding pass for Ryan air return. Was a little disappointed when we were checking out as we were charged 3 euro for drinking a bottle of water which was left in the fridge.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rover1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2015

had a lovely relaxing break in this beautiful hotel.All the staff were so good to us,was so handy to the OldTown,hardly used a taxi which is unusual for me.My wife's birthday was during our stay and on returning to our room that afternoon we were surprised to see a lovely treat waiting for us and i never mentioned it lovely gesture .Thanks

Room Tip: Pool views are nice
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ciaran p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2015

Stayed here for a week, 2nd-9th June. Lovely hotel, very clean with friendly, helpful staff. My partner fell ill on the Sunday and they called out the doctor for us (Dr Folmer of the Orange Medical Centre - a great doctor, very reassuring) which took away some of the worry. We opted for bed and breakfast, for which a great selection was provided every day, and we also had a small kitchen in the room, not that we ever cooked with all the restaurants to choose from. Very nice pool area; we only had problems getting a sunbed on one of the weekend days, with a good selection of drinks and snacks from the bar. Our room was at the front of the hotel facing the road; quite noisy during the day, but didn't keep us awake at night. I didn't have any problems accessing the wifi, but not having it wouldn't have been an issue either - using the internet is not what I go on holiday for!
The hotel is quite close to the Old Town, where we spent most evenings as it was within easy walking distance and generally quieter than the Strip. The Strip was a bit of a trek, especially when it was hot, but the little tourist train that stops outside the hotel made things much easier. In all, a very pleasant, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank fangtasia69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2015

We stayed at the Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa in May 2015, arriving on 18th for a week. We had booked a junior suite as we had read that they have roof top terraces....this is not true, ours didn't - however, this did not detract from what was a fantastic week in the Algarve.

The hotel was good quality and we couldn't fault anything. We had booked bed and breakfast and found there was plenty available to eat each morning. Each night we either went into Old Town or the Strip for food and drinks (our preference was Old Town as more choice).

The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was cleaned daily. The room had a fridge, although it didn't work very well and there was air con. There was a hair dryer in the bathroom, so no need to take one. Balcony was small and our room faced the road, but to us, it didn't matter as we weren't in the room much.

Pool area was clean and tidy - only problem I can see would be getting sun beds in peak season, as in May they were all taken by 10am.

Would definitely stay again. There was nothing at all that would put me off.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are quieter
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews