We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 161 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

My fiancé and her Dad and I stayed at this hotel for 7 days in April 2012. We had a 2nd floor double room and her Dad had a single room. We were on a half board tariff.
The outside colour is unusual but on the inside its a very lovely reception and sitting area. Small but cosy.
The hotel is well situated to the many shops and restaurants around the area. Access to the beach is via the garden entrance and it is a long walk down dozens of steps. We went down to the larger beach another way via the road which is only about 10 min walk. We didn’t use the pool but it looked lovely and there seemed to be loads of sun beds around.

The accommodation was first class. Our bedroom was large with a small private balcony overlooking the outside of the hotel, similar to the other room also booked.
Our room had twin beds which was a pity as we would have expected a double bed.
The bathroom was a good size and the shower unit was good too. There are no sink plugs which is unusual and makes shaving rather water wasteful.
The chambermaids were excellent keeping everything clean and tidy.
Safe facilities were free of charge . The TV showed a few English programmes too.

The restaurant was small but you could dine both outside which was lovely in the sun, and also in a part of the lounge used as a dining area. The breakfasts were excellent with a wide range of drinks and food. The dinner was also excellent with loads of choices for hot or cold dinners. There was a good choice for deserts too. One small issue was the queue sometimes for tea/coffee during breakfast time when it was busy.
The staff were very friendly in the hotel and the restaurant itself was very clean.

The lounge was next to the restaurant and part of it was used for diners. The seating consisted of large couch like seats which are not suitable to all guests, in particular if you have any back problems. The other seats were comfy though. The staff serving drinks were always very friendly.

We enjoyed the accommodation and the breakfasts and will definitely return to this hotel.
We were on half board but there are many nearby restaurants where you can get low price breakfasts, lunches and dinners if you wanted to.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in this area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SportsworldDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    756
    522
    127
    18
    13
See reviews for
89
1,032
31
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 10 days returning to UK on 9 April 2012. We had a third floor 'Deluxe' room on a half board tarilff. On arriving at the hotel our first impressions of the terracotta building made hearts sink but on entering the building we gained a very different impression. The internal layout is unique and certainly appealing. The hotel is well situated to the many shops and restaurants. Access to the sea is via the garden entrance and it is quite a long walk down dozens of steps not really suitable for infirm persons The weather was poor with rain and wind on most days but when the sun shone there were plenty of sunbeds around the pool. We were told it was for adults only but that is not so.-there were several youmg children in the hotel and from the adjoining apartments.

The accommodation was first class. The bedroom was very large with a small compact yet private balcony overlooking the swimming pool. The seaview and the view of the coast were superb. The bed was extremely large in fact we lost each other at nighttime.The bathroom was large and the shower unit excellent. There are no sink plugs apparently throughout the hotel, apart from the baths, so we supplied our own. (I commernted to the management about the possible excessive use of water but it did not seem to be a problem to them). The two chambermaids were excellent keeping everything spot and span in a very friendly manner. There was a settee and easy chair.. Although drawer space was sparce there was adequate space in the wardrobe. Safe facilities were free of charge . The TV showed very few English programmes but there was BBC World News, CNN. and Sky News. There were several 'other' Portuguese, French and Germasn stations.
The refrigerated bar was useful for water etc but quite expensive compared to supermarket prices.

The restaurant was small but you could dine both outside and in that part of the lounge used as a dining area. The breakfasts were excellent with a wide range of drinks and food. The dinner was disappointing and although the soups, salads and deserts were very good the main courses were poor- spoiled by the fact that the vast majority of meat and fish dishes were caseroled. The staff were friendly and the restaurant itself very clean. If you were not on half board and wished to have dinner in the hotel the cost was advertised as 18 euros and it was certainly not worth that price.

The so called lounge was next to the restauant and part of it was used for diners. There was no real comfort for the after dinner coffee costing 3 euros per large cup
Sky Sport wass available in this area.

The reception area was 'different'! The very friendly receptionists sat behind their individual desks to deal with clients. There is free WiFi and also the free use of a laptop computer.

We enjoyed the accommodation and the breakfasts and will definitely return to this hotel. However, we would only book bed and breakfast, making use of the many nearby restaurants for our evening meals.

Room Tip: We understand all bedrooms are very good but the 'Deluxe' similar to the one we had (318) ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Lakelander_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We've been to stay here on 2 occasions. It's a well run, pleasant, hotel with clean and spacious rooms and lovely bathrooms. Breakfast can be taken in- or outside and there is a great variety of nice things to eat and drink. It's an easy walk down to the beach and there are plenty cafe's and bars nearby. We always rent a car when abroad and we could park easily next to the hotel without fail. We like trying different places to eat in the evenings so we never had dinner at the hotel but from a distance it also looked fine. There is nothing we didn't like apart from it sadly, having become more expensive to stay there over the past year. We would like to go back sometime when the price is right.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaja999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

I opted for the Sea view room and glad I did as it was really nice to wake and see the view in the morning. The room was modern and spacious with a huge bed. The Bathroom was again modern with a great shower. The balcony although small was perfect and private.
The Hotel itself is really slick and the staff all polite and friendly. Free parking outside.
Breakfast was the usual buffet of Bacon, eggs, cereal, fruit, cold meats, pastries, juice etc....
The pool area is nice, pool is small, but fine for a quick dip. No problem getting loungers being off season. The beach can be reached within 3 / 4 minutes via the back gate of the hotel and I'd urge all to visit as it's lovely. Steps and all uphill on the way back so be warned.
Plenty of Resturaunts and shops in the area.
I'd stay here again. Perfect place for a relaxing off season break.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dollos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sCOTLAND
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

2nd visit to dos pedra in February and again very satisfied with the hotel and the staff I had a room with a lovely view this time and appreciated it very much. The head waiter in the dining room we excellant I will be back

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool side and high room if your budget stretches
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cALEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
4.8 km away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
4.1 km away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
3.3 km away
Porto Bay Falesia
Porto Bay Falesia
#5 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#10 of 161 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
1.2 km away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#8 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel

Property: Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Address: Urbanizacao Quinta Pedra dos Bicos, Lote 24 | Santa Eulália, Albufeira 8200-389, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Pedra dos Bicos)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#12 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,337 - ₹ 9,944
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aqua Pedra dos Bicos is an island of serenity in Santa Eulalia, near the busy Albufeira and at 500 meters from the famous "Strip", one of the main nightlife atractions. The direct access from the Hotel to the Bicos Beach - 400 meters away - and the inspiring view over the Atlantic Ocean complete this unique Hotel in the heart of the Algarve. This 4-Star Hotel, from Details Hotels & Resorts, features a daring and modern architecture, offering a memorable and relaxing experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia and Expedia so you can book your Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedra Dos Bicos Albufeira
Aqua Pedra Dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing