We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,407)
Filter reviews
1,407 results
Traveller rating
560
500
217
75
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
560
500
217
75
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washing machine self catering old town pool area piccadilly bar mgm hotels lovely hotel fridge freezer one bedroom apartment fat cats games room the sofa bed tourist train rooms are huge min walk hotel bar large beer
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 1,407 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Had a very pleasant stay here for a week in October, lovely apartment which was cleaned daily and towels replaced, beach towels also provided. Well equipped and modern with dishwasher and washing machine. Staff extremely friendly and helpful at all times. Thank you for a lovely stay

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank andycoop62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such a positive feedback on your recent stay with us.

It is good to read that you liked the hotel and most important is that you found the staff to be friendly and up to the mark.

We have plans to upgrade the hotel facilities in near future as we have been doing in the past. Do give us another chance to serve you again.

Best Regards,
Ashish Gosain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Forte Do Vale is positioned in a very convenient area, close to Oura & Albulfeira, both within easy walking distance. Good selection of restaurants close by. Our room was furnished lovely very tasteful, good maid service. The pool was lovely, with plenty of outside space no overcrowding a pleasure to be there.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such a positive feedback on your recent stay with us.

It is good to read that you liked the hotel and our cleaning service. The hotel is indeed known for its location as its in the middle of the two most important spots in this area.

We have plans to upgrade the hotel facilities in near future as we have been doing in the past. Do give us another chance to serve you again.

Best Regards,
Ashish Gosain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

I visited here late September 2016 and was very impressed by this luxurious hotel. As we travelling with two children, we were looing fro a family friendly hotel. It was very quiet with probably less than 40 people in the hotel when we arrived, meaning my kids had the pool practically to themselves all week! The pool was of a decent size, but seemed to have an insect problem, as some days there were hundreds of dead flies in the pool. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment, and were impressed by the size of our room and how clean it was. We ate breakfast and lunch in the hotel everyday, as the food at these meals was excellent with a good variety of choice. The evening meal was not as good as it did not cater very well for children so we ate out every single night. This hotel is in a good location in Albufeira as it is in the middle of the strip and the old town, with it being a peaceful walk to either. I would not visit during peak seasons as the restaurant is tiny and could holdless than 50 people at a time, as it the bar area, which would cause a problem when its busy. My children were fine as the occupied themselves but it is not a hotel if your kids want lots to do, with no kids club, children's entertainment or water fun area.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank emilywoods1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such the feedback on your recent stay with us.

It is good to read that you liked the room and resorts location. I have noted you points on the pool and restaurant. I will share it with the concerned team members.

We have plans to upgrade the hotel facilities in near future as we have been doing in the past. Do give us another chance to serve you again.

Best Regards,
Ashish Gosain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

Our recent stay at Forte do Vale was very nice and a great location for our first holiday with our baby.

For those travelling with infants the following info may help:

Travel cot was provided with bedding, this should be requested from hotel.

Each apartment comes with microwave and kettle for sterilising/making bottles. Also a sink with a small amount of washing up liquid for washing dishes.

Washing machine available but no detergent so will need to bring if you intend doing a wash.

There are no baby changing facilities at the pool (unless you do it at your sunbed which we did!) so we emailed the hotel and requested a room with easy access to the pool. Ours was just round the corner and the terrace looked directly onto the pool area, but cannot be accessed unless you climb over the wall (which a sign says not too...).

All the pools were very cold, including the baby pool which I think should be addressed. Our baby did not like the first dip into the pool but got used to it. The pool music can be quite noisy but not overwhelming and our girl was able to nap easily.

There is a small kids room which we didn't use. The only time we tried to access it it was locked so it may only open at certain times or ask reception for access.

Selection of food at breakfast and lunch was good. For breakfast our baby usually had porridge, selection of fruit, scrambled egg, yogurt and toast. Same fruit was usually available at lunch along with a fish dish, pastas and soup etc. We only ate dinner in the hotel once, it was similar to lunch offerings but with more selection. High chairs are available, however would not be suitable for very young babies, they need to be able to sit independently as the high chairs are quite wide.

Staff at the hotel were all very friendly and helpful, they interacted with our little girl which she loved!

Non baby specifics are that the hotel is very clean and attractive. The old town is just a 12 minute walk away. The hotel runs a bus back and forth from the old town but it doesn't seem to run some days, weekends and local holidays i think. The tourist train stops just across the road from the hotel and from the hotel stops at the old town then at bellavista then the strip in the new town. It costs 5 euros for a day ticket and runs every 20 mins. We used this most days as it was a nice novelty!

A small gripe I had was that the hotel did not supply free towels for the pool, the are only available to rent at 10 euros a day. We went out and bought our own.

There is a small supermarket a couple of minutes away and a big one about 15 minutes walk away in the albufeira shopping centre. It stocks plenty of baby supplies. Not many UK baby brands but I noticed they did sell aptimal baby milk and pampers. Many shops nearby also sell floats and pool toys if you plan on buying there.

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, would definitely return!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Breakfastlover785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such a positive feedback on your recent stay with us.

It is good to read that you liked the hotel and the facilities offered inside the apartment and in other areas. Kids are indeed very special to us.

Its always good to read positive feedback about the staff. It helps all of us to perform even better.

We have plans to upgrade the hotel facilities in near future. Do give us another chance to serve you again.

Best Regards,
Ashish Gosain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Aparthotel in a quiet area of Albuferia, good sized rooms , very clean. Ate breakfast in the hotel, good selection but the cooked items were luke warm at best.
Lunch and dinner available in the hotel but didn't use as it was buffet style only.
No oven in kitchen just microwave and hob and fridge freezer so some restrictions on cooking. Washing machine and dishwasher fitted.

Pool terrace was good with plenty of sun beds, towels can be rented from the hotel.
Free hotel shuttle bus only ran on weekdays into Albuferia and ran a limited service.

Three restaurants within easy walking distance. I'm happy to recommend.Tres Palmerias a primarily fish restaurant. Stews and more and the restaurant next door. Be prepared to book to avoid disappointment.

A small supermarket within a few minutes walk. Larger supermarkets on the outskirts of town.

About 45 minutes from Faro airport.
We found car useful to explore, plenty of free parking at the hotel.
Be aware of motorway tolls with car hire, pre authorise with hire company as you pick up hire car much better to pay in advance as penalty high if you don't. All tracking electronically no booths to pay in as you drive on and off toll road.

Visited Sagres, Silves, Quarteria .Nice fish market and did the cork factory tour.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank 75KTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such a positive feedback on your recent stay with us.

It is good to read that you liked the hotel and its location.

We have plans to upgrade the hotel facilities in near future as we have been doing in the past. Do give us another chance to serve you again.

Best Regards,
Ashish Gosain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews