We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,381)
Filter reviews
1,381 results
Traveller rating
556
494
209
70
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
556
494
209
70
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswashing machineself cateringold townpool areapiccadilly barmgm hotelslovely hotelfridge freezerone bedroom apartmentfat catsgames roomthe sofa bedtourist trainrooms are hugemin walkhotel barlarge beer
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 1,381 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Just home from here and must say Wil definitely recommend this hotel to friends. Especially Gina Reis on front desk that helped us all weekend from recommendations of restaurants calling taxi extra hairdryer and lastly my daughter is diabetic and Gina was very accommodating for my daughter to self mediate in r room on check out day. Even leaving we were allowed to u the health centre to shower and change. We also got an upgrade on arrival
The only down side is the pool bar is steep with drinks prices. €5.50 for bottle beer and the most I paid for it was €4.50 any other bars and restaurants.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Colette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such a positive feedback on your recent stay with us.

It is good to read that you liked our Staff (Gina) and the services offered to you during your stay.

We have plans to upgrade the hotel facilities in near future as we have been doing in the past. Do give us another chance to serve you again.

Best Regards,
Ashish Gosain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Almost finished our 11 night holiday here and we have stayed before a few years ago. I can say it has improved a little but not much considering the price and understand the hotel is a newly rated 5 star but I think it would be better to be classed as a very good 4 star rather than a poor 5 star.

Positives:
Large and spacious rooms, great free wifi throughout, clean communal areas, clean bedding, nice pool area, courtesy bus, hire of beach towels, air con great, British tv channels, helpful reception staff and great location between old and new town (10 mins either way)

Negatives:
Room still had previous occupants food in kitchen cupboards on arrival, kitchen nor microwave not cleaned very greasy/dirty, balcony never swept so housekeeping need to work better as a team as different levels of cleaning depending on maid, deluxe one bedroom apartment looking tired and worn out, carpet in the corridors would help with suitcase noise.

After staying here twice we probably wouldn't stay for another few years until it had had chance to develop and grow further. Management need to liaise with hotels with a 5 star rating to see what the grade is that they need to meet.

Wishing the hotel success with continued improvements. Perhaps a guest feedback questionnaire should be given out.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Lumbers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such a constructive feedback on your recent stay with us.

It is good to read that you noticed the developments we made and i also apologize for the lapse in the cleaning service.

We have plans to upgrade the hotel facilities in near future as we have been doing in the past. Do give us another chance to serve you again.

Best Regards,
Ashish Gosain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

This is the second time at this Hotel and I must say I have enjoyed it very much the staff were all very friendly and helpful the reception manager Carlos and his staff were always on hand to help with anything you needed the apartment clean and spacious as I don't get to the beach the pool area was excellent the only comment I would make it a bit more verity in the pudding but apart from that the food was excellent
Hope to return to Forte Do Vale

Room Tip: Apartment overlooking Pool Area
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank marie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such a positive feedback on your recent stay with us.

It is good to read that you liked our Staff, food and the services offered.

We have plans to upgrade the hotel facilities in near future as we have been doing in the past. Do give us another chance to serve you again.

Best Regards,
Ashish Gosain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Staff very friendly and helpful. The apartments where spacious. I went with my sister and nephew so generally would not stay at family resorts. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the new town which may be more suited to those who want top go clubbing, there are some decent shops there also.
For those like myself seeking a bit more culture I recommend going to the Old town in the afternoon (it can be very busy at night) especially for shopping as there is a lot more on offer and some nice curious shops. It is a 15 minute walk or €5 in a taxi
If wanting to stay close to the hotel for breakfast/lunch or dinner I recommend Restaurante Expresso which is just right beside the supermarket when you go out of the Hotel and turn right (you go down a flight of stairs from hotel reception first) The breakfast and lunches are cheap and the food quality is great.

In terms of activities there are plenty of things to do and these can be organised from the hotel reception. We did a Safari tour which took us into the mountains (in the evening time from 17:00 to 22:00) for €45 per person. This included a meal in a restaurant over looking the hills at the end of the tour along with many other adventures. Our guide for this tour was Pedro who calls to pick you up at the hotel in his Jeep (no waiting on buses!). I highly recommend this!
If you are getting a taxi from the airport to the hotel it takes around 35 minutes and costs €45 which is standard fair.

Room Tip: Rooms with a pool view should expect more noise.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GerardF296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing the feedback on your recent stay with us.

It is good to read that you liked the Hotel and the Room was up to your expectations. Staff appreciation is the best thing to read.

We have plans to upgrade the hotel facilities in near future as we have been doing in the past. Do give us another chance to serve you again.

Best Regards,
Ashish Gosain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Have just stayed here for a week. Apartments are large and spacious could not fault them. Avoid the bar it has a horrible smell on entering and the drinks are expensive. The pool bar doesn't open until 12 and the music is much too loud and it's the same music every day!!!!
The apartment was not cleaned very well on arrival, toast crumbs ect over the worktops, think they need to speak to the the housekeeper to check rooms prior to letting. Would not say this hotel is a five star more a 3 to 4. Could do with a few more sunbeds and umbrellas.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 760kaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing the feedback on your recent stay with us.

It is good to read that you liked the Apartment allocated to you. I apologize for the inconvenience caused to you due to the bad smell in the bar and housekeeping service.

The concerned teams have been spoken to by the undersigned.

We have plans to upgrade the hotel facilities in near future as we have been doing in the past. Do give us another chance to serve you again.

Best Regards,
Ashish Gosain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews