We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 Star Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Muthu Forte do Vale
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Staff very friendly and helpful. The apartments where spacious. I went with my sister and nephew so generally would not stay at family resorts. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the new town which may be more suited to those who want top go clubbing, there are some decent shops there also.
For those like myself seeking a bit more culture I recommend going to the Old town in the afternoon (it can be very busy at night) especially for shopping as there is a lot more on offer and some nice curious shops. It is a 15 minute walk or €5 in a taxi
If wanting to stay close to the hotel for breakfast/lunch or dinner I recommend Restaurante Expresso which is just right beside the supermarket when you go out of the Hotel and turn right (you go down a flight of stairs from hotel reception first) The breakfast and lunches are cheap and the food quality is great.

In terms of activities there are plenty of things to do and these can be organised from the hotel reception. We did a Safari tour which took us into the mountains (in the evening time from 17:00 to 22:00) for €45 per person. This included a meal in a restaurant over looking the hills at the end of the tour along with many other adventures. Our guide for this tour was Pedro who calls to pick you up at the hotel in his Jeep (no waiting on buses!). I highly recommend this!
If you are getting a taxi from the airport to the hotel it takes around 35 minutes and costs €45 which is standard fair.

Room Tip: Rooms with a pool view should expect more noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gerard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing the feedback on your recent stay with us.

It is good to read that you liked the Hotel and the Room was up to your expectations. Staff appreciation is the best thing to read.

We have plans to upgrade the hotel facilities in near future as we have been doing in the past. Do give us another chance to serve you again.

Best Regards,
Ashish Gosain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 1,290 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Have just stayed here for a week. Apartments are large and spacious could not fault them. Avoid the bar it has a horrible smell on entering and the drinks are expensive. The pool bar doesn't open until 12 and the music is much too loud and it's the same music every day!!!!
The apartment was not cleaned very well on arrival, toast crumbs ect over the worktops, think they need to speak to the the housekeeper to check rooms prior to letting. Would not say this hotel is a five star more a 3 to 4. Could do with a few more sunbeds and umbrellas.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 760kaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing the feedback on your recent stay with us.

It is good to read that you liked the Apartment allocated to you. I apologize for the inconvenience caused to you due to the bad smell in the bar and housekeeping service.

The concerned teams have been spoken to by the undersigned.

We have plans to upgrade the hotel facilities in near future as we have been doing in the past. Do give us another chance to serve you again.

Best Regards,
Ashish Gosain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We stayed at this hotel from 3rd to 8th Sept. Couldn't find any faults. The staff were so helpful and cheerful and the standards were what you expect in a 4 star.I stayed room only so I didn't use the restuarant but I'm told that this was also very good.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 633michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such a positive feedback on your recent stay with us.

It is good to read that you liked our Staff.

We have plans to upgrade the hotel facilities in near future as we have been doing in the past. Do give us another chance to serve you again.

Best Regards,
Ashish Gosain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

We are currently in the middle of a 12 day holiday. We have stayed at Forte on many occasions,usually in the winter. Last year we came in June with our seven years old grandson, he and my wife and I enjoyed the stay. My wife and I returned some six weeks later, for "our holiday" once again an enjoyable experience. There was the occasional burst of what some may call music, when areobics etc were scheduled. The noise was incredible, but thankfully short lived.
We are here now, in a beautiful room, and I am trying to relax, as ordered by my surgeon, I had major surgery ten weeks ago.
Unfortunately, the relaxing part in the room is impossible between hours of 12 noon and 1800 hrs.
We have delayed leaving the room until the noise starts, and delay our return when we are sure that the noise will be gone.
I don't know why there is a need for the "music" it serves no other purpose than to annoy guests in rooms near to the pool. Our room is directly ABOVE the pool bar, and gets the brunt of the attack.
I feel sure that if the noise was not there, other guests would still enjoy their days around the pool, after all, most of them are there from about 830am, three and a half hours sans noise.
We went to another complex within the MGM group, and found a haven of peace and serenity around the pool there.
We shall think really hard about a return, or even take a non pool view room.

Room Tip: Do NOT take a pool view room if you wish to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing the feedback on your recent stay with us.

Your point on Pool music is well noted and this will be solved at the earliest.

Best Regards,
Ashish Gosain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We can for a log period of 10 days. The hotel looked very nice when we arrived and the room was ready before 4PM, which was a good sign.
However, in our stay we met some poor standards that should never be met in a 5* hotel (and this is NOT a 5* hotel).
First, room was dated. One balcony door wouldn't lock, black stains in bath, and not a clean feeling.
we arrived on Thursday, on Friday evening someone came to tidy the beds quickly. On Saturday and Sunday no maid came, and no Towels were replaced... So we went down to the reception, they were surprised and promised that someone will come tomorrow. They did, at 17:50, and she said that she is not being paid overtime and her shift is finishing at 18:00, so she just left a bundle of clean towels, and went. We went back to the reception... this time we got a bottle of wine from the manager and a letter inviting us for dinner. Nice, we thought. We went to the reception to ask what is this dinner, and they said that it is the same dinner we already getting, as we are staying Half board... so an empty gesture it was.
The next day (5 days after we arrive) someone actually came and cleaned the room for the first time. Hurry!!
Also, the restaurant was understaffed on occasions, which meant that it had unoccupied tables that the staff couldn't clean so we had to sit in a cold and not pleasant conference room to have our breakfast.
The acoustic is bad, and combining with the shows from the downstairs bar, meaning that you can;t have a quite time in your room until after 22:00, not very convenient when you have small children trying to fall asleep.
Food was average, coffee awful, fresh fruit great.
Extra charges for the safe in the room... really??

Good things:
Very good location to go to the old town, the new town centre and the seaside.
Big rooms.
Free beer for dinner.
very nice pool.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank The_Lictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1 km away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#80 of 152 in Albufeira
3,445 reviews
1.2 km away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#77 of 152 in Albufeira
719 reviews
1 km away
Grand Muthu Forte da Oura
Grand Muthu Forte da Oura
#86 of 152 in Albufeira
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 152 in Albufeira
257 reviews
2.3 km away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 152 in Albufeira
1,020 reviews
0.8 km away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#26 of 152 in Albufeira
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Muthu Forte do Vale? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Muthu Forte do Vale

Address: Rua Dunfermline | Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200-278, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Apartamento Forte Do Vale)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range: ₹ 3,240 - ₹ 25,924 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Muthu Forte do Vale 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Muthu Forte do Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Do Vale Hotel Albufeira
Grand Muthu Forte Do Vale Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing