We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,409)
Filter reviews
1,409 results
Traveller rating
561
500
218
75
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
561
500
218
75
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washing machine self catering old town pool area piccadilly bar mgm hotels lovely hotel fridge freezer health club one bedroom apartment fat cats the sofa bed games room tourist train rooms are huge min walk day ticket
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 1,409 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Have just stayed here for a week. Apartments are large and spacious could not fault them. Avoid the bar it has a horrible smell on entering and the drinks are expensive. The pool bar doesn't open until 12 and the music is much too loud and it's the same music every day!!!!
The apartment was not cleaned very well on arrival, toast crumbs ect over the worktops, think they need to speak to the the housekeeper to check rooms prior to letting. Would not say this hotel is a five star more a 3 to 4. Could do with a few more sunbeds and umbrellas.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank 760kaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing the feedback on your recent stay with us.

It is good to read that you liked the Apartment allocated to you. I apologize for the inconvenience caused to you due to the bad smell in the bar and housekeeping service.

The concerned teams have been spoken to by the undersigned.

We have plans to upgrade the hotel facilities in near future as we have been doing in the past. Do give us another chance to serve you again.

Best Regards,
Ashish Gosain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We stayed at this hotel from 3rd to 8th Sept. Couldn't find any faults. The staff were so helpful and cheerful and the standards were what you expect in a 4 star.I stayed room only so I didn't use the restuarant but I'm told that this was also very good.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 633michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such a positive feedback on your recent stay with us.

It is good to read that you liked our Staff.

We have plans to upgrade the hotel facilities in near future as we have been doing in the past. Do give us another chance to serve you again.

Best Regards,
Ashish Gosain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

We are currently in the middle of a 12 day holiday. We have stayed at Forte on many occasions,usually in the winter. Last year we came in June with our seven years old grandson, he and my wife and I enjoyed the stay. My wife and I returned some six weeks later, for "our holiday" once again an enjoyable experience. There was the occasional burst of what some may call music, when areobics etc were scheduled. The noise was incredible, but thankfully short lived.
We are here now, in a beautiful room, and I am trying to relax, as ordered by my surgeon, I had major surgery ten weeks ago.
Unfortunately, the relaxing part in the room is impossible between hours of 12 noon and 1800 hrs.
We have delayed leaving the room until the noise starts, and delay our return when we are sure that the noise will be gone.
I don't know why there is a need for the "music" it serves no other purpose than to annoy guests in rooms near to the pool. Our room is directly ABOVE the pool bar, and gets the brunt of the attack.
I feel sure that if the noise was not there, other guests would still enjoy their days around the pool, after all, most of them are there from about 830am, three and a half hours sans noise.
We went to another complex within the MGM group, and found a haven of peace and serenity around the pool there.
We shall think really hard about a return, or even take a non pool view room.

Room tip: Do NOT take a pool view room if you wish to relax.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing the feedback on your recent stay with us.

Your point on Pool music is well noted and this will be solved at the earliest.

Best Regards,
Ashish Gosain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We can for a log period of 10 days. The hotel looked very nice when we arrived and the room was ready before 4PM, which was a good sign.
However, in our stay we met some poor standards that should never be met in a 5* hotel (and this is NOT a 5* hotel).
First, room was dated. One balcony door wouldn't lock, black stains in bath, and not a clean feeling.
we arrived on Thursday, on Friday evening someone came to tidy the beds quickly. On Saturday and Sunday no maid came, and no Towels were replaced... So we went down to the reception, they were surprised and promised that someone will come tomorrow. They did, at 17:50, and she said that she is not being paid overtime and her shift is finishing at 18:00, so she just left a bundle of clean towels, and went. We went back to the reception... this time we got a bottle of wine from the manager and a letter inviting us for dinner. Nice, we thought. We went to the reception to ask what is this dinner, and they said that it is the same dinner we already getting, as we are staying Half board... so an empty gesture it was.
The next day (5 days after we arrive) someone actually came and cleaned the room for the first time. Hurry!!
Also, the restaurant was understaffed on occasions, which meant that it had unoccupied tables that the staff couldn't clean so we had to sit in a cold and not pleasant conference room to have our breakfast.
The acoustic is bad, and combining with the shows from the downstairs bar, meaning that you can;t have a quite time in your room until after 22:00, not very convenient when you have small children trying to fall asleep.
Food was average, coffee awful, fresh fruit great.
Extra charges for the safe in the room... really??

Good things:
Very good location to go to the old town, the new town centre and the seaside.
Big rooms.
Free beer for dinner.
very nice pool.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank The_Lictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

We took our 6 month old and had one of the studio apartments in the hotel, all facilities very good. Hotel lovely inside and staff helpful. We walked to the old town and beach, took a while but plenty of taxis and trains to catch if you prefer. Went to the strip a couple of nights for tea, took us approximately 30 minutes to walk. The pool was great for little ones although a little cool if anything.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Mrs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, General Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing the feedback on your recent stay with us.

It is good to read that you liked the Hotel and Staff was up to your expectations.

We have plans to upgrade the hotel facilities in near future as we have been doing in the past. Do give us another chance to serve you again.

Best Regards,
Ashish Gosain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews