We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT APARTMENT AND EXCEPTIONAL VALUE FOR MONEY.”
Review of Solaqua Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Solaqua Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“GREAT APARTMENT AND EXCEPTIONAL VALUE FOR MONEY.”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed at the Solaqua Aparthotel apartments in Albufeira for 3 nights over Easter in April 2012. Weather was reasonable with the temperature around 63 oF. The price was only £58 – amazing. Incidentally we also hired a car for the week for 77 Euro’s.

The location is about a 20 minute walk from popular tourist places of ‘The old town’ and the same from ‘The Strip’.

First the negatives. The internet is not free and at around 1 euro for 15 minutes is not good value particularly as you can use it free at the nearby McDonalds. There is a safe in the room but they charge 2 euro’s a day for its use. There was no plug for the bath, so we had to go to reception and ask for one. Fortunately they managed to find one. Although there are good kitchen facilities, they do not provide washing up liquid, tea towels or cleaning cloths so you need to purchase your own from the nearby supermarket. We were told (whilst checking out) that tea towels could be provided by the hotel, but you needed to request one. Our room had no kettle either so we had to boil water in a pan. So they did supply some items but did not bother to tell you about them – a great shame as for an apartment they should provide much of the above as standard.

On the hugely plus side the room had a microwave, toaster, 2 pans, cutlery and other utensils. The apartment had air con, was very modern, clean, and very impressive with two large twin beds and a balcony to boot. The small flat screen TV had several BBC and ITV channels – you are not stuck with CNN only!! There was also a great pool and other entertainment provision.

Incidentally we left a euro plug and 3 way adapter and went back 3 days later to collect it and failed. They showed very little interest saying only that the room was in use.

Overall we thought it was a great 4 star apartment and very good value for money and would highly recommend it for couples and families.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nothernman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    393
    139
    36
    20
See reviews for
289
463
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The 1 bed apartments are really spacious and had everything we needed and more. We were all inclusive so mainly used the hotels facilities and restaurant but the kitchenette was handy for storing bottled water and snacks, There was plenty of storage for all our clothes and suitcases so everything was kept out of the way making it feel very comfy.
The food was excellent. The breakfasts were gorgeous, bacon or sausage, eggs, beans, toast, croissants, brioche, cheese and ham, fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereal, fruit juice, coffee etc etc. For lunch and dinner There was always a hot soup on offer with fresh bread, a really good fresh salad selection and a choice of fish or meat with various veg and either chips or potatoes for the main course plus usually a pasta choice with differing sauces. Something for everyone, even a fussy eater. The sweets were to die for and were always plentiful. Soft drinks including fruit juices, water, wine and beer always on tap. The staff are helpful and unobtrusive.
The outdoor pool is huge and although a bit cold while we were there the children took full advantage and usually had it all to themselves. There is also an indoor pool and jacuzzi which is open 0800hrs-2000hrs every day.
The lounge/bar was good and staff really friendly. The sangria is delicious! Kids were quite happy to order drinks and snacks by themselves and all staff speak good English.
The only negatives about the hotel were that the tables in the lounge/bar are really wobbly, all of them, we checked. Just have to take care with your drinks. Also, the floor around the pool is very slippy when wet and as all the floors inside are marble you have to be really careful if you're coming inside with wet feet/shoes.
There is internet access in the lobby for 1 Euro per 15 mins. They also offer Wifi which you have to pay for.
The rooms are cleaned daily and fresh towels etc provided.
The area was great. We had a shopping centre practically on the door step and a taxi rank just a 2 min walk away and it costs about 12 Euros to get to zoomarine and about 3.25 Euros to get a taxi from the beach back to our hotel which seems to be the usual rate for anywhere in the local area.. All taxis are metered and the drivers never expected a tip so what you see is what you pay. They will also give you a rough idea of price before you get in if you ask.
The beach was about a 10 min walk away, although we were in no hurry so it was a nice stroll. When you reach Albufeira beach there is an escalator which takes you down to the main square where there are numerous shops, bars and restaurants and the sand is only metres away. The sand is quite shelly so a little care is needed but if you head over towards the marina end it is nice soft sand and the view is amazing.
We did go to zoomarine for the day and it was really nice. It is focused towards education and conservation. There are plenty of animals to see and the dolphin and seal lion shows are a must. The rides are limited and often aimed towards smaller kids but we enjoyed everything. There is a large pool with slides etc and there are a few shops and cafes so no need to take food and drinks if you don't want to carry loads of stuff.
All in all, we had a really nice time and were very comfortable. It was great value and a beautiful relaxing place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Emmylou110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield, uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Just returned from a weeks all inclusive stay at solaqua.
The rooms here are great, clean, lots of space, good air con, clean fridge, toaster, no kettle though. We stayed in a room over looking the pool on the 1st floor. The staff in the restaurant were lovely, very friendly. Food choice was limited, if you like pasta, rice and salad everyday you'll be fine! All inclusive drinks 2-10 was a joke and god forbid you ask for a cappuccino as each time I did the bar man huffed and rolled his eyes! Snacks 3-5pm again very limited choice and quality not that good. Location not bad, bit of a hill to get to the top of the road. No entertainment what so ever, so if you have kids looking for an evening disco, this hotel is not the place for you. All in all the rooms were great but doubt we would return unless a couple of things changed.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scuzzrocks1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights all inclusive. Rooms was very clean and cleaners was in every day. Rooms was a good size and nice size balcony. Only problem is food in the snack bar was pre-heated burgers that was cold and there wernt much choice of food on snack menu, breakfast was limited choice (3 hot items i.e eggs, sausage, beans) thats it for hot food. Lunch and dinner was really good tho. Drinks on all inclusive start at 2pm for alcholic or soft drinks. Whats quite late. Drinks also stop at 10pm on the dot.... And the staff dont like you hanging about in the bar area. When its 10pm they want to go up or out... Prob wouldnt go back again to be honest.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rossco110490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Partner and I are just back from Solaqua. Summary : fab price (paid £150 for 3 nights all inclusive for both of us, which is £75 each for 1bed apartment! Crazy price). Huge 1 bed flat with kitchen, living room, bathroom and bedroom. Food was lovely but not much choices, always rice, fish, salads, meat, but all delicious and fresh. Alcohol free from 2-10pm. Nothing to complain. Pool outside looks clean but was too cold so didn't try. Pool and jacuzzi inside alright. All the staff in the restaurant /bar extremely helpful. No wi-fi so prepare to pay 1 euro for 15 min cabled Internet.
The only thing I suggest u is to buy some water and snacks to leave in the room as the dinner finish at 10 and after that nothing else can be bought.
Anyways lovely holiday and I would come back.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MPeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
#91 of 154 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,760 reviews
0.2 km away
Paladim Aparthotel
Paladim Aparthotel
#24 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#16 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
1.5 km away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.5 km away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#29 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solaqua Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solaqua Apartments

Property: Solaqua Apartments
Address: Rua do Mediterraneo, Albufeira 8200-156, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Albufeira
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,102 - ₹ 11,115
Hotel Class:4 star — Solaqua Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solaqua Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solaqua Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Solaqua Apartments Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing