We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evora trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

This was a beautiful hotel within a short distance to the old city. Very luxurious hotel experience and breakfasts were very good. Always fresh fruits, breads, juices, cheeses, meats and eggs. Very good value! The rooms were clean and the bathroom was very beautiful and modern.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoriaStone, Gerente at Vitoria Stone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Lori,

How nice it is to read your comment!

It was a pleasure to have you in our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes from everyone at Vitória Stone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (973)
There are newer reviews for Vitoria Stone Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 973 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2017

The hotel has good facilities (pool, bar, etc) but the rooms are small, so this is probably not a good hotel is you're there for a few days. The restaurant (5amendoas) is EXCELLENT. Personnel is very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LeCannonierMasque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoriaStone, Gerente at Vitoria Stone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you in our hotel.We have taken note of the questions you pointed out as needing improvement.

Best wishes from everyone at Vitória Stone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

We knew Evora would be hot, but nothing prepared us for the "mini-heatwave" of our visit in July and 44 degree heat. Fortunately, my beloved insisted on a room balcony for our stay and so we fell upon the Vitoria Stone Hotel just outside the city walls. Many of the hotels in the city looked nice but without a balcony, and it felt a little more airless in the town centre in the heat of the day.

The hotel itself had a pleasant and reserved style to it. Perhaps it was the polished concrete and the stone effect concrete pillars but that grey and mirrored finish felt just a tad hard. At least the Vitoria Stone has a style to it (I detest beige hotels), and the staff were friendly, professional and polite.

Our room was down a long arty dark corridor with the aforementioned polished concrete walls, mirrored ceiling and cork bark decorations. Again it looked a little severe to my eye but all was nice and tidy. Our room was very pleasant and artful with a large walk in shower and fluffy white towels, an air com system which was delightfully quiet and a little balcony which in the mid heat of the day was shaded. The room wasn't the biggest I've ever stayed in, but it was perfectly acceptable with good wardrobe and storage space.

Our room was tidied every day and we were perfectly comfortable with our room. The only grumble came with the tiny hand sink which was difficult to use to do anything beyond hand washing and there is just one lift up to the rooms, so if you are leaving early you need to make sure you beat the Chinese tour parties, else there is a bit of a scrum for the lift.

Breakfast certainly had the "wow" factor and a lot of the Chinese girls were posing with dishes of watermelon and a trout pout for their facebook profile before tucking into their bowl of chocolate coated breakfast flakes. There was plenty of choice at breakfast including fresh juices, fruit, cakes, bread as well as scrambled eggs, bacon and little sausages.

Above the breakfast room on the roof was the infinity pool and the pool bar. This was lovely, although too hot for my celtic skin in the day time. Unfortunately the top bar (which was the nicest) was closed in the evening (guessing the pool thing was too much of a risk), and the main bar was at the breakfast bar. While it was lovely, it was a little too staid and quiet when we dropped by for pre-dinner drinks, and we didn't really use the bar. Likewise, I'm sure the evening meal would have been lovely, but it was a little too expensive when compared with the competition outside (and the town centre was a simple 10-15 minute stroll away).

One plus point is that the hotel is a short stroll from the train station - we are too cheap to pay for taxis and the rough cobbled pavements made it quite difficult to wheel heavy suitcases around, so we were grateful we hadn't booked another hotel in the town centre itself.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Vitoria Stone although we didn't really end up using many of the facilities outside of our room because it felt just a little too quiet and serious for our personal taste. That said I'd recommend the hotel to anyone wanting a reasonable priced quality stay in Evora.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Slug01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoriaStone, Gerente at Vitoria Stone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear Guest,

How nice it is to read your comment!

It was a pleasure to have you in our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes from everyone at Vitória Stone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

Thank you for a wonderful stay. The hotel is modern and clean. The rooftop pool is very welcome in 43 degree heat. Breakfast was perfect and staff so attentive and friendly. Reception, bar and cleaning staff also exceptional. Evora is a a cute town in central Portugal and we really enjoyed our stay

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoriaStone, Gerente at Vitoria Stone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear Sammy,

How nice it is to read your comment!

It was a pleasure to have you in our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes from everyone at Vitória Stone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

We were two couples and stayed 4 nights at the Vitoria Stone Hotel in mid-June 2017. We affectionately nicknamed the hotel “the Stoner”, probably because it countered the slightly pretentious name and website of the hotel. This is a nice hotel, and located a short (5 minutes) walk to the walls of the old city. The rooftop pool is the main amenity that caused us to choose the Stoner over other central hotels, given Évora’s reputation for hot hot heat in the summer months. (the pool area and rooftop bar were indeed greatly enjoyed during our stay). The hotel is “modern” in decor – which left me with a fairly neutral impression in the common areas but which was an overwhelming (underwhelming?) presence in the rooms – the rooms are compact, and the bathroom sink and counter are a triumph of aesthetics over function. Still, it looked nice. The room did have a small balcony with a table for two, so that was an unexpected amenity. The hotel staff were all friendly and helpful, and all spoke English. The breakfast buffet was extensive and good, and served in a nice space, the fourth floor lounge, that had indoor and outdoor seating. We ate one dinner at the Stoner’s restaurant, 5ÂMENDOAS, and the food was good and well-priced for a hotel restaurant. There is parking at the hotel, but like all urban areas in Portugal, getting a parking spot is a competition, and those with a fear of door dents, or exploiting the outer limits of vehicular orderliness, may be left circling.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bogblast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoriaStone, Gerente at Vitoria Stone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear Guest,

How nice it is to read your comment!

It was a pleasure to have you in our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes from everyone at Vitória Stone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Evora hotels
4.7 km away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
1.2 km away
Albergaria do Calvario
0.4 km away
Vila Gale Evora
Vila Gale Evora
#10 of 26 in Evora
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 26 in Evora
1,124 reviews
1.3 km away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 26 in Evora
802 reviews
1.1 km away
Pousada Convento de Evora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vitoria Stone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vitoria Stone Hotel

Address: Rua Diana de Liz 5, Evora 7005-413, Portugal (Formerly Albergaria Vitoria)
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Evora
#2 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#3 Family Hotel in Evora
#3 Luxury Hotel in Evora
Price Range: ₹ 5,392 - ₹ 11,239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vitoria Stone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vitoria Stone Hotel**** is at 200 meters from the wall that enclosures the historic center of Evora, about 12 minutes' walk from the famous Giraldo Square. Vitoria Stone Hotel goes far beyond a name, it is a perfect symbiosis between a design and traditional ambience, living up to the region where it is placed. This concept was born from an immense passion for the genuine Alentejo. We are rooted in the traditional, without leaving sophistication aside. Our goal is to amaze with a bold architecture, with the presence of rustic elements, imposing stones, along with pieces of delicate and sophisticated design. The stone is present throughout the unit and the entire hotel will be a tribute to important places in this unique region. We want to make our guests feel at home and live the Alentejo just as it is. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vitoria Stone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitoria Stone Hotel Evora, Alentejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing