We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 63
US$ 61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 138
US$ 135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$ 46
Booking.com
View Deal
US$ 48
US$ 47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Casa do Sertorio(Evora)(Great Value!)
US$ 55
Booking.com
View Deal
US$ 46
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (1,147)
Filter reviews
1,147 results
Traveller rating
715
373
39
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
715
373
39
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolold townupstairs barwalled cityminute walktop floorsmall balconydegree heatgreat showermodern hotelhotel restaurantnice amenitiesexcellent hotelgreat designbreakfast buffetfantastic breakfastwithin walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 1,147 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2017

The hotel has good facilities (pool, bar, etc) but the rooms are small, so this is probably not a good hotel is you're there for a few days. The restaurant (5amendoas) is EXCELLENT. Personnel is very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LeCannonierMasque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoriaStone, Gerente at Vitoria Stone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you in our hotel.We have taken note of the questions you pointed out as needing improvement.

Best wishes from everyone at Vitória Stone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

We knew Evora would be hot, but nothing prepared us for the "mini-heatwave" of our visit in July and 44 degree heat. Fortunately, my beloved insisted on a room balcony for our stay and so we fell upon the Vitoria Stone Hotel just outside the city walls. Many of the hotels in the city looked nice but without a balcony, and it felt a little more airless in the town centre in the heat of the day.

The hotel itself had a pleasant and reserved style to it. Perhaps it was the polished concrete and the stone effect concrete pillars but that grey and mirrored finish felt just a tad hard. At least the Vitoria Stone has a style to it (I detest beige hotels), and the staff were friendly, professional and polite.

Our room was down a long arty dark corridor with the aforementioned polished concrete walls, mirrored ceiling and cork bark decorations. Again it looked a little severe to my eye but all was nice and tidy. Our room was very pleasant and artful with a large walk in shower and fluffy white towels, an air com system which was delightfully quiet and a little balcony which in the mid heat of the day was shaded. The room wasn't the biggest I've ever stayed in, but it was perfectly acceptable with good wardrobe and storage space.

Our room was tidied every day and we were perfectly comfortable with our room. The only grumble came with the tiny hand sink which was difficult to use to do anything beyond hand washing and there is just one lift up to the rooms, so if you are leaving early you need to make sure you beat the Chinese tour parties, else there is a bit of a scrum for the lift.

Breakfast certainly had the "wow" factor and a lot of the Chinese girls were posing with dishes of watermelon and a trout pout for their facebook profile before tucking into their bowl of chocolate coated breakfast flakes. There was plenty of choice at breakfast including fresh juices, fruit, cakes, bread as well as scrambled eggs, bacon and little sausages.

Above the breakfast room on the roof was the infinity pool and the pool bar. This was lovely, although too hot for my celtic skin in the day time. Unfortunately the top bar (which was the nicest) was closed in the evening (guessing the pool thing was too much of a risk), and the main bar was at the breakfast bar. While it was lovely, it was a little too staid and quiet when we dropped by for pre-dinner drinks, and we didn't really use the bar. Likewise, I'm sure the evening meal would have been lovely, but it was a little too expensive when compared with the competition outside (and the town centre was a simple 10-15 minute stroll away).

One plus point is that the hotel is a short stroll from the train station - we are too cheap to pay for taxis and the rough cobbled pavements made it quite difficult to wheel heavy suitcases around, so we were grateful we hadn't booked another hotel in the town centre itself.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Vitoria Stone although we didn't really end up using many of the facilities outside of our room because it felt just a little too quiet and serious for our personal taste. That said I'd recommend the hotel to anyone wanting a reasonable priced quality stay in Evora.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Slug01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoriaStone, Gerente at Vitoria Stone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear Guest,

How nice it is to read your comment!

It was a pleasure to have you in our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes from everyone at Vitória Stone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

Thank you for a wonderful stay. The hotel is modern and clean. The rooftop pool is very welcome in 43 degree heat. Breakfast was perfect and staff so attentive and friendly. Reception, bar and cleaning staff also exceptional. Evora is a a cute town in central Portugal and we really enjoyed our stay

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoriaStone, Gerente at Vitoria Stone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear Sammy,

How nice it is to read your comment!

It was a pleasure to have you in our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes from everyone at Vitória Stone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

We were two couples and stayed 4 nights at the Vitoria Stone Hotel in mid-June 2017. We affectionately nicknamed the hotel “the Stoner”, probably because it countered the slightly pretentious name and website of the hotel. This is a nice hotel, and located a short (5 minutes) walk to the walls of the old city. The rooftop pool is the main amenity that caused us to choose the Stoner over other central hotels, given Évora’s reputation for hot hot heat in the summer months. (the pool area and rooftop bar were indeed greatly enjoyed during our stay). The hotel is “modern” in decor – which left me with a fairly neutral impression in the common areas but which was an overwhelming (underwhelming?) presence in the rooms – the rooms are compact, and the bathroom sink and counter are a triumph of aesthetics over function. Still, it looked nice. The room did have a small balcony with a table for two, so that was an unexpected amenity. The hotel staff were all friendly and helpful, and all spoke English. The breakfast buffet was extensive and good, and served in a nice space, the fourth floor lounge, that had indoor and outdoor seating. We ate one dinner at the Stoner’s restaurant, 5ÂMENDOAS, and the food was good and well-priced for a hotel restaurant. There is parking at the hotel, but like all urban areas in Portugal, getting a parking spot is a competition, and those with a fear of door dents, or exploiting the outer limits of vehicular orderliness, may be left circling.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bogblast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoriaStone, Gerente at Vitoria Stone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear Guest,

How nice it is to read your comment!

It was a pleasure to have you in our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes from everyone at Vitória Stone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

The unique style of this hotel is perhaps best explored before booking through their on-line video clip. The architectural approach strongly promotes the theme of the ancient stones for which the countryside around Evora is known and dominates the public areas hotel making a stay an experience to remember. The bed and bath rooms are limited in size but highly functional to the point where size is not an issue. The rooftop infinity pool is rather small and the related seating lacks shade. The gym is limited to 4 standard machines. Breakfast is a highpoint: the choices on offer are most impressive as is the quality. There is outside parking, some exclusive to the hotel and the remainder in spaces open to the public. The hotel is situated close to the city walls of Evora and the historic areas are a short stroll away. The address of ‘Rua Diana de Liz’ may well be correct: but seeking in on ‘Rua da Horta das Figueiras’ probably helps you find it more easily.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoriaStone, Gerente at Vitoria Stone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear Martin,

How nice it is to read your comment!

It was a pleasure to have you in our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes from everyone at Vitória Stone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews