We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stone, Stoner, Stone-est”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2017

We were two couples and stayed 4 nights at the Vitoria Stone Hotel in mid-June 2017. We affectionately nicknamed the hotel “the Stoner”, probably because it countered the slightly pretentious name and website of the hotel. This is a nice hotel, and located a short (5 minutes) walk to the walls of the old city. The rooftop pool is the main amenity that caused us to choose the Stoner over other central hotels, given Évora’s reputation for hot hot heat in the summer months. (the pool area and rooftop bar were indeed greatly enjoyed during our stay). The hotel is “modern” in decor – which left me with a fairly neutral impression in the common areas but which was an overwhelming (underwhelming?) presence in the rooms – the rooms are compact, and the bathroom sink and counter are a triumph of aesthetics over function. Still, it looked nice. The room did have a small balcony with a table for two, so that was an unexpected amenity. The hotel staff were all friendly and helpful, and all spoke English. The breakfast buffet was extensive and good, and served in a nice space, the fourth floor lounge, that had indoor and outdoor seating. We ate one dinner at the Stoner’s restaurant, 5ÂMENDOAS, and the food was good and well-priced for a hotel restaurant. There is parking at the hotel, but like all urban areas in Portugal, getting a parking spot is a competition, and those with a fear of door dents, or exploiting the outer limits of vehicular orderliness, may be left circling.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bogblast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoriaStone, Gerente at Vitoria Stone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear Guest,

How nice it is to read your comment!

It was a pleasure to have you in our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes from everyone at Vitória Stone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (969)
There are newer reviews for Vitoria Stone Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 970 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2017

The unique style of this hotel is perhaps best explored before booking through their on-line video clip. The architectural approach strongly promotes the theme of the ancient stones for which the countryside around Evora is known and dominates the public areas hotel making a stay an experience to remember. The bed and bath rooms are limited in size but highly functional to the point where size is not an issue. The rooftop infinity pool is rather small and the related seating lacks shade. The gym is limited to 4 standard machines. Breakfast is a highpoint: the choices on offer are most impressive as is the quality. There is outside parking, some exclusive to the hotel and the remainder in spaces open to the public. The hotel is situated close to the city walls of Evora and the historic areas are a short stroll away. The address of ‘Rua Diana de Liz’ may well be correct: but seeking in on ‘Rua da Horta das Figueiras’ probably helps you find it more easily.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoriaStone, Gerente at Vitoria Stone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear Martin,

How nice it is to read your comment!

It was a pleasure to have you in our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes from everyone at Vitória Stone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

The photos on the websites won me over and I was a bit desperate to make a booking. Couldn't get one on the two usual web sites but was able to make one through a Spanish web site. Not disappointed at all. All the photos live up to reality and the hotel has a very distinct atmosphere. Wonderful reception even though we had to wait until three pm when we could check in. Virtually had pole position as far as parking spots are concerned, right in front of the entrance. The decorations in there hotel foyer are delightfully quirky, especially the shared stone trough for the bathrooms. Throughout the hotel the modern ambience is so relaxing and all the staff are friendly and helpful. The room is small but adequate with twin beds and good mattresses and fresh crisp white sheets. A room safe and little bar fridge are very useful for storing all our traveling supplies over our two night stay. The bathroom is small but well designed so you don't feel cramped. Fantastic shower, better than mine at home, and big white fluffy bath towels and nice amenities. I have read some complaints on TA about the bathroom and amenities that really surprised me, I really wonder what some people expect from a four star hotel. The breakfast is very good with a huge selection of offerings for every taste. And the breakfast area in the upstairs bar is very pleasant. In the evening we were able to watch some sport shows in the bar which weren't available on our room tv, and then in the bar and we had a light dinner at the same time. On the top floor is a swimming pool and sauna which we didn't use but which looks very nice. The hotel is only a five minute walk from the entrance to the walled city and is in a very quiet area. If you are coming to Evora by car and like a modern interesting hotel, it is the perfect place to stay.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoriaStone, Gerente at Vitoria Stone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear Lee,

How nice it is to read your comment! We confess that the team was touched by your feedback. It is great to know that you felt at home with us , and above all, that you felt as special as you deserve!

It was a pleasure to have you in our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes from everyone at Vitória Stone Hotel.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed a comfortable stay for two nights. It's a short walk to the walled city and you have all the luxury of a modern hotel. The restaurant in the hotel is exceptional as well and the pool area is lovely.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoriaStone, Gerente at Vitoria Stone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Dear Alice,

It was a pleasure to have you in our Hotel.

Best wishes from everyone at Vitória Stone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

The pictures shows a perfect place than it is. The pool and breakfast area are pleasant. A four sfarts hotel. The staff is friendly and try to help mailing call to confirm your diner or winery dinner. We arrived at 1pm and in spite the check in would be at 3pm, at 2pm our room was ready.
The room is very very small. Has a micro desk for one computer, kust tge size of my husband laptop.. The bed iand pillows are very comfortable and the room 312 is quite.
The bathroom is micro and the sink amazing small. The bathroom has a problem: if you go at night or early morning you need to turn on the light and exhaust fan that besides the light come to the bedroom through a window between both , waking up whoever is sleeping.
The toiletries has only a small bar of soap, a showed, shower ,cap,, cotton buds and two body and hair gel.
I no hair conditioner, no shampoo, no facial tissue. I had to go out and buy them. I asked the front desk please get me at least HAIR CONDITIONER! I washed my hair and I couldn't comb. It was all stringy! A mess! I try to use the comb but hurt and I lost my hair trying to do it.They could buy but they wouldn't move a finger to hell me. I had to walk to the grocery , crossing a busy street and buy shampoo and conditioner. I miss a body cream because my skin is dry but they also do not offer.
I wouldn't come back. There are nice hotels I stayed before and they lack nothing.
The breakfast is very good and has a lot of options. Taste good and it's quality is high.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Houston_TxFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoriaStone, Gerente at Vitoria Stone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Dear Celita,

It was a pleasure to have you in our Hotel.

We would like you to know that the amenities you refer to are of very high quality and organic. Even though the soap bar is small, it is replaced daily.

We are very mindful of the waste, and know that the soap is a big part of it. We keep the leftover soap and give them to a social institution, where it is turned into fragrance bags that we sell in our shop, reverting 100% of the price to that institution. We thought you would like to know.

We don’t have any body lotion or hair conditioner in our amenity kit because those are usually more personal and less consensual products, therefore people usually bring their own.

It was the first time we had such a complaint, however, considering the discontent you showed at Reception, and after you quickly decided to go to the nearest supermarket, we offered to pay for the products you had bought, which unfortunately you did not accept.

We are sorry about the situation, and assure you that the next time you visit us, we will already have hair conditioner and body lotion on request.


Best wishes from everyone at Vitória Stone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Evora hotels
4.7 km away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
1.2 km away
Albergaria do Calvario
0.4 km away
Vila Gale Evora
Vila Gale Evora
#10 of 26 in Evora
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 26 in Evora
1,121 reviews
1.3 km away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 26 in Evora
801 reviews
1.1 km away
Pousada Convento de Evora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vitoria Stone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vitoria Stone Hotel

Address: Rua Diana de Liz 5, Evora 7005-413, Portugal (Formerly Albergaria Vitoria)
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Evora
#2 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#3 Family Hotel in Evora
#3 Luxury Hotel in Evora
Price Range: ₹ 5,332 - ₹ 11,114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vitoria Stone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vitoria Stone Hotel**** is at 200 meters from the wall that enclosures the historic center of Evora, about 12 minutes' walk from the famous Giraldo Square. Vitoria Stone Hotel goes far beyond a name, it is a perfect symbiosis between a design and traditional ambience, living up to the region where it is placed. This concept was born from an immense passion for the genuine Alentejo. We are rooted in the traditional, without leaving sophistication aside. Our goal is to amaze with a bold architecture, with the presence of rustic elements, imposing stones, along with pieces of delicate and sophisticated design. The stone is present throughout the unit and the entire hotel will be a tribute to important places in this unique region. We want to make our guests feel at home and live the Alentejo just as it is. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vitoria Stone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitoria Stone Hotel Evora, Alentejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing