We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,076)
Filter reviews
2,076 results
Traveller rating
1,902
158
14
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,902
158
14
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tapas french toast adc hotel granola glass of wine bee pollen premium room restaurant recommendations cakes dinner reservations welcome drink recommended restaurants owners and staff small hotel underground garage hotel experience inside the city walls
Filter
Updating list...
1,087 - 1,092 of 2,076 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I have stayed at many hotels in Europe, but this place is more than a hotel, it is an experience. The hotel is more like staying in a casa by the ocean, where you are treated like family from morning till night. The staff are very caring to your every needs from shopping, to dining reservations. The rooms are exteremly large and very clean. The view from the second story remind me of ancient times in a lost city with remarkable views. The breakfast provided contains the most extensive assortment of foods and beverages I have ever experienced. The dining recommendations provided by Hugo were outstanding. I stayed for only 2 days, however, you should plan on staying for at least a week. This is one experience you will not regret.

Room tip: I don't think you can make a bad choice selecting a room. I prefer the second story, which has easy access and great views.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaelc14932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We revelled in this oasis for 3 days but could have stayed much longer. A year since our stay has not diminished the special memories which our holiday at Albergaria do Calvario evokes. Ambience, accommodation, food services, travel assistance and location were outstanding. It is a perfect base from which to explore Evora and the surrounding countryside. A custom made individualised trip was organised for us by the Albergaria do Calvario which gave us a more iinformative and interesting insight into this area in Portugal.

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterandJaneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed here in April on a cold windy day. On arrival we were greeted by Hugo.  As we checked in we were served perfectly made espresso right there in the reception. Every staff member who passed us at that point greeted us friendly and politely. The hotel has a cozy bar area where you sit in deep sofas and you can order freshly made sandwiches and soups throughout the day. Local wines, coffee etc .
At night they light candles all over the place.  The atmosphere is incredible warm and inviting.

 Included breakfast is the best I have had for years. Everything super fresh and organic. 
We booked one of the suites and it was super clean and had a very comfortable bed. At checkout the staff follows you to the door with all the information you need to continue enjoying your trip.

Free Wifi and Parking included. The price so reasonable for such a treat!!!

So happy we went out of our way to go to Evora. Hotel Albergaria do Calvario turned out to be the highlight of our stay. Will definitely stay again.  

Date of stay: April 2012
1  Thank Karen1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My review may echo the ones posted by others here, but this is really a special place. My husband and I arrived in the afternoon after flying into the Madrid airport and driving straight to Evora. Exhausted, we were warmly greeted, offered cool drinks, checked in quickly, more cool drinks brought to our room, and reservations were made for dinner while we took a nap. Our room had a king size bed, flat screen TV with enough english channels, plenty of room for all our luggage and we bring alot and a large marble covered bath with soaking tub.

Refreshed from our siesta the front desk staff showed us how to get to the restaurant. Evora is a walkable city and we throughly enjoyed our time there.

Breakfast is a wonderful thing here - fresh squeezed tangerine juice, there was also orange, apple and carrot. The other special part that we did not find at our other stops during our trip was the conviviality of all the other guests. We were all sharing what we had seen the day before and our plans for the day. The staff is also very helpful in that regard, with maps and routes, special places and favorite towns. We stayed here 4 days and still have more to discover, I'm sure we will return.

Room tip: Elevator is helpful with bags from parking garage to rooms.
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love2travel055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The Albergaria do Calvario is a really lovely hotel which is nicely situated in the beautiful, historic city of Evora. It has comfortable rooms, wonderful breakfasts and cosy lounges with books and boardgames. The staff are all friendly and helpful without being intrusive - the excellent customer service is what makes this hotel really exceptional. Little touches like a welcome drink, free water in the room, and easily available Wi-fi make you feel at home and relaxed. The hotel does not provide meals apart from breakfast but you can order drinks or light snacks at any time.
We flew to Lisbon and took the bus to Evora - the hotel is a 10 minute walk from the bus station (or 2 minutes in a taxi). We managed without a car and found it was a lovely city to walk around - everything in the historic centre is within easy walking distance from the hotel including several good restaurants.
The highlight of our trip was a visit to the The Cromlech of the Almendres megalithic complex. We went on a tour, the hotel arranged, with Mario a local guide and I would really recommend this interesting tour - the complex had no information to read and without the guide we would not have understood much about what we were seeing.
We had a lovely stay and highly recommend the hotel and Evora.

Room tip: Our room (19) had a balcony.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francesca35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews