We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, relaxing, everything you could want or...”

Review of The Old Creamery

The Old Creamery
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Creamery
Bedroom 1 Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
The Old Creamery
Bedroom 1
Sitting Room
View from the cottage
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bathroom
Inner hall
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 1
A warm welcome awaits!
Wingfield Manor
As the sun goes down
Spring at the cottage
Gated entrance to the Old Creamery
Parking area
Garden available for those staying at the cottage
View from the cottage
Garden in winter
View over the valley in winter
Nearby Lea Gardens
View over the Amber Valley
Summer charm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
South Wingfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Debs O
Atherstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect, relaxing, everything you could want or need.”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

My friend and I wanted a relaxing weekend away from work and day to day life and to celebrate one of our birthdays.

This cottage exceeded all expectations. Near enough to activities to allow us to pop out to shop and sightsee and with all the amenities we needed in the cottage to allow us to unwind.

Priscilla and her husband were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely be returning and our husbands may be invited next time!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenelopeC...
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Delightful - thoughtful and kind!”
Reviewed 6 November 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Old Creamery. Priscilla was a most thoughtful and gracious hostess. The house was spotless and absolutely everything you could ever need was provided to us. We especially enjoyed the homemade jam. We were so touched that she also raised a Canadian flag in the courtyard for our visit - very lovely.

We have family in the area so wanted to stay near by. The Old Creamery was absolutely perfect for our needs and we will certainly be back to stay.

Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the convenience and coziness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H T
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent 5 star cottage. Far exceeded our expectations.”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A wonderfully equipped cottage, warm and cosy providing all we needed for a comfortable stay. Situated in the Dales but easy access to the Peak District, so much of interest in the area. Warm welcome from Priscilla and a basket of goodies on the table awaiting our arrival. Have already recommended to friends, would love to return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samanthap...
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Attractive, superbly equipped cottage in beautiful location - will return!”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Service from Priscilla, the owner of The Old Creamery, was fantastic. She was very efficient and thorough with all communication via email, post and text. She got in contact when necessary and was very pleased to offer assistance if required. On the day of arrival we were warmly greeted and given a guided tour. We were delighted to be given a "Welcome" basket of goodies including a freshly baked delicious home-made cake and marmalade and bags of popcorn. There was even milk in the fridge so we could make a hot drink and settle in before needing to go out to fetch provisions. She was very obliging and happy to help.

My family and I absolutely loved the property, which is very attractive and full of character. It has been tastefully furnished and were delighted to find that it looks even nicer and is more spacious when inside than it looks in the photos. The lounge is bright and airy and has a lovely balcony opening off of it which has chairs to sit on. Priscilla really has thought of everything that guests may need, there has been so much thought put in to equipping the cottage and attention to detail. The room lay-out with the lounge upstairs and the bedrooms going downstairs certainly added to the charm and excitement for our children. The shared garden is also a lovely attractive space and great for the children to run about a bit, for us to sit out in (table and chairs provided) and take in the views down the hills. There are lovely walks all around. The views are superb and it is very tranquil. It was very uplifting.

There is a nice local shop in the village, at least one supermarket within easy driving distance. Post box very near by. The Yew Tree Pub very close by serves tasty reasonably priced food - we didn't hear any noise from the pub though. There are numerous pubs/eating houses in the surrounding areas. It is a great location to have as a base for exploring the sights/attractions of the area. There is so much to do.

In terms of self-catering, because the kitchen is so well equipped you could really choose a variety of things to cook and you'd highly likely find all the utensils etc you needed to cook/prepare it.

We were very lucky with the weather for nearly the whole week but should you need to/choose to stay in there is lots to do. A selection of magazines/ bookcase of books/games for various ages/ a tv, dvd and video player with some dvds and videos. Having wifi was also a big bonus for keeping up with communications; great connection.

As you can tell from our review we really enjoyed our stay at the Old Creamery and, as we came to visit family, will definitely be returning for a future stay! We highly recommend it; we couldn't fault it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attractive, superbly equipped, beautiful location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elspeth A
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant weekend away”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Excellent place for a weekend away from the business of life. Relaxing setting and lovely home comforts.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing