We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Muffulettas”

Maceo Spice and Import Company
Restaurant details
Reviewed 28 May 2021 via mobile

We were looking for a place to have lunch after antiquing and someone suggested Macao’s for muffulettas. Said they were the best on the island. Three of us had them and we wholeheartedly agree. It’s an interesting little place, filled with imported food items and the wonderful aromas of a variety of spices. So glad we gave it a try.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank houstontravelingfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2021

Red beans and rice smelled great...was not spicy so this would be good for even the kids. Muffuletta looked delicious....it was. Inside and outside small areas to eat. Staff were friendly.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank derajharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2020

Lunch: Love their sandwiches and love shopping for spices and pastas while waiting on sandwiches. Mr Maceo was there this laughing the helping customers, he is a charmer. The young ladies working to counter are so friendly. I love that there are so many regulars in there sharing their fave items and ideas.

Friday night dinner: great love music outside, shared a bowl of the best gumbo I've eaten in Galveston. 2 of us got fantastic shrimp baskets with the best spicy tartar sauce I've ever eaten. Other friend got shrimp salad that she loved. We ran across the street for a tasty cocktail to go upon Mr. Maceo's recommendation. Perfect evening with friends!

One of the coolest spots in Texas!

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank BeachbumAggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2020 via mobile

Best Muffaleta ever! Very friendly staff. Worth the 60 mile drive. They have a wide variety of spices

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank charlesrP5661NW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2020 via mobile

O.k. tried Maceos today after being a local 18years...always wondered how their sandwiches were...Very disappointing. Being of Italian decent I expected more.
I know the Italian coldcuts and with the price of these sandwiches they should have been loaded with meat! Sorry Maceo's you didnt come through. Sapori on the West End gives a wonderful sandwich loaded with italian cold cuts...well worth the drive and it is byob ..off the beaten path. You wont be disappointed.

Galveston
Locals

Date of visit: April 2020
Thank ddec13613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maceo Spice and Import Company also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Maceo Spice and Import Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.