We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect as always”

Flanders Battlefield Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

I and my friend Jean have used the services of Jacques and Ginevra in the past to do a personalized tour and to visit Tyne Cot to view the inscription of Jean's uncle who died in 1917. The tour was wonderful and brought to life Joseph Robert's experiences and moved us both. Jacques knowledge is overwhelming and he has a true passion for his work. Our first visit inspired me to follow up the research started by my mother into our family history and I discovered four of my gran's cousins had perished in WW!. Jacques accompanied us to France and we visited three of then in cemeteries where even he had not been before and along the way he showed us some places he had discovered on his tours of the Somme. We also met Ginevra who took us to Abbeville the next day for our final visit. I cannot begin to stress the knowledge, passion and compassion of Jacques and Ginevra. You will not be disappointed and like us will be moved not only by the tragedy of the great loss of life but of the peace and beauty of the Cemeteries where they are at rest and afforded the maximum respect.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank PaulineandJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    746
    33
    0
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“new museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

worht a visit, a lot of information, keeps you at least 2 hours busy, but worthwhile!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank RnoAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

I recently made a short tour of the Ypres salient with my two sons aged 15 and 10.
The wide disparity of our ages and interests were a potential challenge to our excellent guide
Genevra who more than met this with her friendly and highly informative tour. Without lessening the
enormity of what we were shown and what was graphically outlined -Genevra managed to make our tour a very enjoyable and memorable day. The overwhelming loss of life was given a perspective understandable for a 15 or 10 year old by seeing a headstone of one rifleman who was of the same age (15) when he was killed. Genevra's passion and enthusiasm for her work shone through and she
kept us all engaged with her graphic descriptions and friendly questions for all of us to answer.
All in all this was a very special day and I am sure its memories will stay with us for many years to come.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“History comes alive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

standing in a cold damp hole beings everything into perspective

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
185 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Very informative tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

A thought provoking and educational tour. Jacques showed the hugely paradoxical craters resulting from some of the largest explosions ever created by man that were now beautiful, peaceful ponds full of water lillies. He talked us through battles and individual soldiers' stories, together with tales of the veterans he used to know when they were still with us. We also got a bit more of an idea of local culture. Thoroughly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank SidCupLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flanders Battlefield Tours also viewed

Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 

Been to Flanders Battlefield Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing