We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Abacus House

Cosy sunlit dining room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy sunlit dining room
Spacious lounge area Your stylish home in Ypres
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
Cosy sunlit dining room
Spacious lounge area
Your stylish home in Ypres
Spacious patio
Lounging in the sunlit patio
View from the wintergarden
Bathroom 2nd floor
View from single room 2nd floor
Twin room 2nd floor
Master bedroom 1st floor
Bathroom 1st floor
Twin room 1st floor
Reading corner master bedroom
Entry hallway
Wintergarden
Dinner is served !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Monty-and...
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 9 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Very comfortable and well equipped but best of all was its position to the town of Ypres, within very short walking distance of the centre and the Flanders museum which is excellent.
Johan the owner is very helpful and met us on arrival he showed us around and explained everything the house was extremely comfortable with very good showers and lots of hot water the beds are comfortable and large.
It was obvious that the property had been very well cleaned and maintained between rentals probably one of the best we have visited. Thank you Johan.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Prefer this to any Hotel!”
Reviewed 8 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Owner:
Great doing business with Johan from start to finish.

House:
Great location.
Sleeps 7 + 1 infant allowed
Clean.
Spacious.
Great facilities.
No problem with on street parking.
Settled area of town.
Very Very. Close to everything.
Value for money.
Comfortable beds.
3 bottles of complimentary beers.

Post booking:
Refundable deposit returned within days. (-€20)

I have to compliment Johan the owner, on his quick response to any queries or requests I had prior to arriving at the house. (Thanks)

PS1: €20 charge for broken bowl? Accidents happen.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillyPix
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This is an excellent base for any trip to Ieper. Located near anything of interest. Well maintained and very spacious.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aoc_redle...
Haslingden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Exceeded all our expectations”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Before booking Abacus House I read the reviews of previous visitors, and they were more than encouraging.

Our actual experience more than matched up with the previous reviews. Johan could not have been more helpful when we arrived. We did not need to take advantage of his local knowledge as the trip was pre-planned based upon the 100th anniversary of a major attack by Canadian troops at Kitcheners Wood. The location of Abacus House is ideal - just 5 minutes walk from the Menin Gate and the Cloth Hall and Market Square. To put the icing on the cake, the weather for the 5-days stay was perfect.
The facilities within Abacus House are extensive, and we really felt at home during our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location - you can walk to (and from) excellent restaurants all within 5 mins
Liked least: My wife and I are in our early 70's, and she could not have slept on the upper floor due to the stairs.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Just returned from our second visit to Abacus House, great location and excellent facilities. 2 minutes walk from the centre of Ypres, plenty of space for the family.
Well maintained and very clean.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing