We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This house is simply excellent!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Abacus House

Cosy sunlit dining room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy sunlit dining room
Spacious lounge area Your stylish home in Ypres
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
Cosy sunlit dining room
Spacious lounge area
Your stylish home in Ypres
Spacious patio
Lounging in the sunlit patio
View from the wintergarden
Bathroom 2nd floor
View from single room 2nd floor
Twin room 2nd floor
Master bedroom 1st floor
Bathroom 1st floor
Twin room 1st floor
Reading corner master bedroom
Entry hallway
Wintergarden
Dinner is served !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Graeme W
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This house is simply excellent!”
Reviewed 3 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Johan and Christine have made a lovely home here. The photo's do not fully convey the size of the house which was larger than we expected.
Everything in the house is in excellent condition and we felt we were staying in a 5* hotel. My teenage children enjoyed playing the piano in the front drawing room. There is plenty of guides and leaflets provided to help plan your days - these were useful.

The house itself is set in a quiet street just off the main square and very close to the Menin Gate and all attractions in the town. We enjoyed observing the Last Post each night at the Menin Gate, walking the ramparts and visiting the In Flanders Fields Museum in the Old Cloth Hall - an impressive building in itself. At night the Town is lit up and is very pretty to walk around and visit a bar or two.

The town is an ideal location to visit the area and just an hours drive from the coast. We have come home with lots of memories and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Abacus House. Thank you both!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location and the high quality of the home
Liked least: not applicable - cannot fault this property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GNG_53
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A comfortable and relaxing stay”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A spacious and comfortable residence, close to the centre of Ieper, Abacus House was excellent value for money. The facilities are very good and our hosts had gone out of their way to make everything as easy as possible for us both before and during our visit. Recommended!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravlnTwi...
Tacoma, WA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our family of 5 (3 adults, 2 children) spent a month at Abacus house and it was WONDERFUL! The house it huge, very centrally located, and has everything you need. Johan and his wife were amazing. They answered all of our questions both before and during our stay. They went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Although the house did not yet have a washing machine, due to the length of our stay, they picked our laundry up weekly and personally washed it for us! WOW. When we wanted to visit the beach, they brought us extra towels and supplies. They helped us with directions to various sites. They were amazing.
The rooms were enormous...the walk in closet in the master suite was bigger than all the closets in our home combined! Plenty of space for everyone and everything. The house was extremely clean and well-kept. The only drawback to the house is that the mosquitoes were a problem. We ended up getting some spray which seemed to help.
Ypres is a very small town, and everything is walking distance from the house. Johan provided a notebook listing out local shops, restaurants, and hours which was very helpful. We quickly found our favorite bakeries and delis, which we then visited daily for fresh and delicious meals. Walks on the city wall and visits to the Menin gate are not to be missed. In Flanders Fields museum is very well done and moving.

We would happily stay in their amazing house again and highly recommend it to anyone visiting Ypres.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts - they were wonderful
Liked least: Mosquitoes
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ethelhild...
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location!”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Plenty of wonderful room, super clean, only a few blocks from Ypres square, must stay here if in the area. The owners went the extra mile when we needed help with our rental car. Lovely old building but modern everything with lots of hot water for showers. There are steps to walk up to the bedrooms but that was not a problem for us. Very convenient to shops, restaurants and bakeries.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, clean, room, owners
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jansalway...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Merveilleux!!”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Well what a gem! Photos don't show the vast space abacus house has to offer! The house is beautifully and tastefully decorated and believe me I'm fussy! Beds so comfortable were close to being put on my roof rack (if I had one! :-) lol) There is everything you need to self cater! I can honestly say this is the nicest house I have ever stayed in, very homely! But if that wasn't enough, Menin gate and Flanders museum along with the beautiful market square just a few minutes walk! Nothing is too much trouble for the lovely owners Johan and Christine, I can't thank them enough for making my 50th birthday weekend unforgettable! Thank you Johan!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing