We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Chat Noir

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ieper (Ypres)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Chat Noir
Ranked #36 of 48 Ieper (Ypres) B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Le Chat Noir is a great place to stay situated in a great location. It is a short walk from shops, restaurants and bars. The accommodation is very homely, clean and tidy. You are guaranteed a good night’s sleep in a comfortable bed. The bathrooms were all clean and fully stocked. You can use the lounge and kitchen if required. All mod cons are provided. Although we did not cook as the local food is too good to miss out on! The owners were genuinely helpful and knowledgeable. There are vast amounts of battlefield information and DVD’s to watch if you are tired from the day’s tour and just want to relax. We were told to help ourselves to coffee. The alcoholic drinks in the fridge were all reasonably priced. You pay for what you drink by putting your money into an honesty box next to the fridge. A little tip whilst you are in Leper try Flemish stew washed down with a local beer and make sure you check out the amazing art work.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Le Chat Noir is a wonderful place to stay in Ypres - a real home from home. The location is great, close to the centre of town and the Menin Gate. Alain and Caroline are the perfect host. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

We had a group of 3 adults and 2 teenage boys who stayed here in June 10. The location was excellent both to drive to and to walk into the center. We were met by the owners who supplied information on the local area and advise on where to go etc.
Tea & Coffe are all supplied and Beer is availabe on an honest bar at very reasonable prices. Great when you have just arrived.
Garden to the rear was really quaint and a little sun trap.
Bedrooms and bathrooms all very clean
Steps are steep so these may be a problem for some.
If you are looking for accomodation close to the center of Ypres (leper) I would highly recommend and we are re visiting this year with the wives.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brayfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Fairy, Australia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

We have stayed in this fantastic home 3 times now, and I always look forward to staying there. Alain and Caroline the hosts are absolutely marvelous. Alain has a great interest in the Great War, and he is able to take any guests on a guided tour of the battlefields. The house is very close to the Menin gate and all the shops and supermarkets are nearby. The house is quite large and sleeps 9 people. and all the comforts are there, it has a full size fridge , and there is a washing machine and clothes line in the backyard.I would not think of staying anywhere else in Ieper / Ypres . We stayed 10 days this year and I did not want to leave!! Ieper is a marvelous place to explore and its very safe. I use Ieper as a base to travel into the Northern French battlefields. The Belgium food is similar to French food , but with Germanic proportions.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aroney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.2 km away
B&B @Room's
B&B @Room's
#1 of 48 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
0.5 km away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.9 km away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
4.3 km away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chat Noir? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chat Noir

Property: Le Chat Noir
Address: Diksmuidestraat 91, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Ieper (Ypres)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious and clean house in Ypres Town Centre, with full equiped kitchen. Terrace and garden. 2 Minutes walk to Flanders Fields Museum and 3 minutes to the Menin Gate. Different rooms and bathrooms available. Garage available. Free Wifi. Discounts in all Museums and in some restaurants. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing