We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveller rating
141
256
122
30
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
256
122
30
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews very comfortable room bar is open a great nights sleep floor room very pleasant stay hotel breakfast weekend stay two single beds private parking small fridge public car park nice bar two nights buffet style air conditioning central location croissants
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 563 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2018

This is an independant Mercure hotel, the entrance etc give the normal Mercure vibe
the room we got was small.. very small
Bathroom : toilet, small single sink and shower; While sitting on the toilet, you can t stand at the sink. I ve never seen such a small bathroom in a 4 star hotel.
And concerning the actually rooms ... this is more of a 3 star hotel. the rooms resemble more an Ibis than a Mercure. further on Rooms... disturbing noise from nearby rooms ... clean, bed, small fridge and TV, and safe. Not that much closet space... problem if you stay with 2 longer then 5 days. in the room just one chair and a small desk.
Parking, outside, you can get a badge, but expect to pay € 18 a day... So more than a 10% add to your room price. ok they will tell it s no obligation, but if you arrive by car...
Staff is friendly & helpfull.
Breakfast is complete, lots of choices, ok quality ... but you pay 20 euro a day a person for that... so compared to other hotels that ask 20-24 euro for a breakfast, well then it's just ok (maybe even a little under par)

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WingWingOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, General Manager at Hotel Mercure Oostende, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review.

We are sorry to hear that your recent stay with us was not completely satisfying.
We remind that we have different room sizes and categories and will be happy to advise you a larger room on your next reservation.

Thank you for appreciating our secure parking and your room facilities.

We are glad that we were able to satisfy your taste buds with our rich and nutritious breakfast. However, we regret that the price of our rich and tasty breakfast buffet made of a large selection of fresh and good products was not at your convenience.

Regarding our parking, we propose a lower price than the public parking available at +-23€/day.

We also regret the inconvenience you had faced due to the noise. For such issues, you can always report this to the reception so that we can take the necessary measures. Once again. thank you for your feedback. They are very important to us.

We hope to welcome you and your family in the future.

Best wishes,
Kristoffel Verdonckt, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

On the plus side this hotel has the most comfortable hotel bed I've slept in in recent years. It is close to the Trams station and very close to the great Oostend shops and less than half an hours drive from Brugge.

We had an upgraded Privilege, balcony room that was filthy. The Maid even told me she had not cleaned it the day before we arrived but the dust under the bed is about 3mm deep, I'm not kidding. The ironing board I requested was so filthy that I had to completely clean it before use (I always carry antibacterial spray in my washbag). The Ironing Board was covered in dust and dirt and the steam iron leaked water..

As a couple you would expect a room that offers a Nespresso machine to have at least 2 coffee pods. We had 2 coffee cups and one(1) Pod. The bathroom had the usual toiletries and I like the Mecure shampoo. Unfortunately during our 3 night stay we got 1 bottle. So back to nicking my wifes shampoo. On our 3rd night we got a 2nd coffee pod.

My wife and I spent 3 nights at this hotel. I requested some extra pillows (most rooms have 4, 2 on the bed and usually 2 in a cupboard). I've never had a hotel refuse to provide more pillows upon request.

I unplugged the room phone to use the Iron (cordless) and plugged it back in a couple of minutes later and it wouldn't work and showed no charge even though it had been plugged in when we arrived. I was unable to call reception to book a table for dinner and had to go in person.

We took an Amazon Fire TV stick to plug in to the hotel TV but they had blocked source changes on the TV so we couldn't use it. The TV would receive BBC1 & BBC2 so we were able to watch some of our favourite shows. The WiFi was good but connection was temperamental.
The air-conditioning would only work for a few hours and then shut off which meant we woke up in the middle of the night because we were hot and then had to switch it on again. It had a default temperature of 21C and we wanted a room temperature of 19C. It was 2 days before I was able to get the control to display English but it refused to adjust to a default of 19.

The webpage has a large P sign indicating parking but the hotel does not have a car park. There is an expensive pay car park nearby but being disabled I can park for free on the street parking. That of course is is the street parking is available. There is very little street parking available and many bays were cordoned off for works. A large cherry picker was parked outside the front entrance of the hotel for the duration of our stay. We had to search for parking finding a space in an adjacent street and struggle with our luggage during a Monsoon like torrential downpour

I didn't contact the staff about the list of small problems because they were so dismissive after the pillow request that I considered them unhelpful. It is often the little things that make a difference. All in all for a 4 star hotel it could do a bit better.

Room Tip: Ask them if it has been cleaned recently
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LoHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, Manager at Hotel Mercure Oostende, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Dear LoHawk,

We are so sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and regret that you had not reported the issues to us.

We always urge our guests to report any issues, even the minor one.

Doing so can help us provide the facilities that were not replaced and ensure all the departments are doing their job efficiently.

We pay very particular attention to hygiene and ensure that we provide all the essential amenities for your comfort.

For any additional amenities, you can always request them at the reception.

We will be happy to provide them for you.

Regarding the location and parking, we are very lucky to be situated in the centre of Ostend which means everything is on our doorstep.

Regrettably this also has some downsides such as limited space and parking complications.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

It is feedback like this that helps us to improve our quality of service.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you would like to discuss the issues further.

Sincerely,

Kristoffel Verdonckt, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Old Hotel renovated to Mercure Hotels. with very small rooms. Kettle in the room. A small TV on the wall. Minibar. With a bottle of water free. Breakfast is good but just the fresh orange jus maker was not working very good. Very near the sea. And near the Casino of ostende.Near lots of restaurants and snacks. Parking possibilities in the parking of the casino underground 22euro for 24h. Parking on the street maximum 4h.
Ps : A smile is missing at the réception and at the breackfast room. Apart this we had a good time.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jimmy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, Manager at Hotel Mercure Oostende, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Dear Jimmy, Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay.

We appreciate your mention of our hotel's various amenities and our convenient location near the town center.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast which offers a wide selection of fresh products.

We apologize for any inconvenience regarding the orange juice maker, and we will address the matter.

Your comment regarding our team members has been duly noted, and I will review our service standards with the entire team to ensure that our guests are always greeted with a warm smile.

Thank you again for your review.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back one day.

Best regards,

Kristoffel Verdonckt, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

We travelled from a 4 star Hilton in Luxembourg to a 4 star Mercure in Ostend and there was no comparison. 1) The Mercure was small and had no extra facilities to justify its rating while the Hilton had a pool and sauna and more. 2) We paid 180 eur per night self catering despite their board saying 60-150 per night on arrival. 3) 21 eur extra per night parking. 4) difficult waiting busy only small lift. 5) poor claustrophobic layout. Location is the only plus.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank MattHansonAbbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, General Manager at Hotel Mercure Oostende, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear Matt,

We are grateful to you for taking the time to send us your review.

The main challenge of every hotel establishment is its guests’ satisfaction.

We strive to provide services that better comply with our guests’ needs and regret that you were not entirely satisfied.

As you mention we are very lucky to be situated in the centre of Ostend which means everything is on our doorstep. Regrettably this also has some downsides such as limited space and parking complications.

We would like to believe we provide clean, well equipped rooms at a reasonable rate.

We do have a parking available for the convenience of our guests, however as this is an extra service,and to keep our rates competitive the parking, as in a majority of city hotel has a surcharge.

We are sorry for the misunderstanding you had with your room rate. The prices on the board are for standard rooms and depend on availability and season. We understand that you reserved one of our larger family rooms, which explains the slight difference.

Our star rating corresponds to a required minimum standard of products and services that must be available to guests and is regulated by a national authority. We can assure you that our hotel does meet these standards.

For our guests who wish to continue with their exercise routine we have an agreement with a nearby gym that can be used free of charge and which is open during the week from 8am to 10.30 pm and at the weekend from 9am till 4pm

We very much hope that we may be able to welcome you back on a future visit to Ostend.

With our kind regards,

Kristoffel Verdonckt,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

Very nice and helpful staff. Especially the hotel manager MO must be mentioned. Very courteous and helpful at every turn. The breakfast was great and varied in the selection. In the heart of Ostend, cleanliness is absolutely given. Hotel is very central. The view from the terrace on the top floor was great.
gladly again

Room Tip: If possible you should book a privilege room
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank acossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, General Manager at Hotel Mercure Oostende, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for positively reviewing your visit to Mercure Oostende Hotel.

We are delighted to see that everything was satisfactory during your time with us.

We are grateful for your warm mention for Mo - rest assured, we shall forward your compliments on to him.

Thank you for your high rating!

The whole team looks forward to seeing you, again.

Warm regards,

Kristoffel Verdonckt, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews