We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and gracious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #14 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
new york city
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful and gracious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Grand hotel in amazing location, minutes walking to Markt, with a beautiful garden on its own quiet street. We stayed for 2 nights and had 2 rooms both upgraded to junior suites. Thankfully, one room was ready upon check-in which was earlier than check-in time. The other room was ready soon after. Check-in was pleasant although, peculiar for a 5-star hotel, there was no doorman when we checked-in. Maybe he shares the same responsibilities as a bellhop which we also did not see and was helping other guests with their luggage? Although at checkout, a very pleasant doorman was there and assisted with our luggage into the taxi.

The beds in both rooms could use refreshing, as well as the rest of the furniture which did not share the comfort of the modern up-to-date bathroom. The pressure and water temperature was great. Showers and baths had plenty of hot water. There were desks in the rooms with very dim, too dim, lamps. Fresh floral arrangements in rooms were very much appreciated.

The public rooms were elegantly furnished. We did not try the hotel dining facilities as there are too many delicious options in Bruges.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltales411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,723
    525
    170
    55
    34
See reviews for
340
1,674
32
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Very comfy bed, excellent staff and what a beautiful hotel would go back any time!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
704 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed for 2 nights last week at this beautiful hotel and magnificient building located in a perfect location for the centre of Bruges , but still very quiet . I mention that it is very professionally run because I had a minor problem with valet parking , the person at fault was so apologetic that I felt sorry for him and the management handled the issue extremely well . The gardens are fantastic and if the weather is warm it is the perfect place to relax .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillip g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

This is a very impressive building in the middle of the city. A 5 star retreat.
It's about 50 yards from the main shopping streets of Nordzandstraat &
Geldmuntstraat, where a number of upmarket shops operate and only a 5 minute walk from the main square - The Markt. It was a special occasion so my wife & myself decided to treat ourselves to a 4 night break.
It is the second time we have stayed here, the first being the year of the Ash cloud. We got an upgrade that year, mainly because they'd had a lot of cancellations. However, it seems such events don't have to happen to get
an upgrade as they gave us one again. Customer service is very good at this
place, helpful and friendly, and not just from front of house.
We had a large Junior Suite overlooking the garden. It was spotless with plenty of wardrobe space, large bathroom with a bath and separate powerful shower, and toiletries in abundance. Huge, comfortable bed, and linen changed daily, which one would expect of an establishment of this rating.
The only gripe was the position of the TV. Both the bed and a sofa face down the length of the room. The TV is on a side wall - cricked necks abound.
Very pleasant conservatory bar/brasserie, and sitting area in the nicely tended garden. The huge sculpture of a red poodle in the garden is something to behold.
We have been coming to Bruges regularly over the last 14 years, so we tend to use local restaurants rather than hotel restaurants. The restaurant looks super, but from what I could see, the menu didn't change daily. Breakfast is pricey and, again, we use local cafes which are excellent for what we want.
As seems common in a lot of hotels in mainland Europe parking is expensive at 30 euro a night. I prefer to spend it on a good meal. There is parking at Zilverzand car park a 5 minute walk away for 8.70 euro per night and seems secure.

Room Tip: We have only been here twice and have had a room at the rear each time, so they are quiet. The qual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rapton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at the Duke's for 3 nights. Great location, friendly and professional staff. The location is amazing right in the heart of the town.Hotel seems like it was once a castle before being turned into luxury hotel. Very peacefull place, in a small street. the breakfast was absolutely worth it great choise and good products. Lovely!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.6 km away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.0 km away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.5 km away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.6 km away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.2 km away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Property: Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#11 Family Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,762 - ₹ 29,385
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing