We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
1 review
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Very comfy bed, excellent staff and what a beautiful hotel would go back any time!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,810
    548
    176
    55
    35
See reviews for
357
1,750
35
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
752 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed for 2 nights last week at this beautiful hotel and magnificient building located in a perfect location for the centre of Bruges , but still very quiet . I mention that it is very professionally run because I had a minor problem with valet parking , the person at fault was so apologetic that I felt sorry for him and the management handled the issue extremely well . The gardens are fantastic and if the weather is warm it is the perfect place to relax .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillip g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This is a very impressive building in the middle of the city. A 5 star retreat.
It's about 50 yards from the main shopping streets of Nordzandstraat &
Geldmuntstraat, where a number of upmarket shops operate and only a 5 minute walk from the main square - The Markt. It was a special occasion so my wife & myself decided to treat ourselves to a 4 night break.
It is the second time we have stayed here, the first being the year of the Ash cloud. We got an upgrade that year, mainly because they'd had a lot of cancellations. However, it seems such events don't have to happen to get
an upgrade as they gave us one again. Customer service is very good at this
place, helpful and friendly, and not just from front of house.
We had a large Junior Suite overlooking the garden. It was spotless with plenty of wardrobe space, large bathroom with a bath and separate powerful shower, and toiletries in abundance. Huge, comfortable bed, and linen changed daily, which one would expect of an establishment of this rating.
The only gripe was the position of the TV. Both the bed and a sofa face down the length of the room. The TV is on a side wall - cricked necks abound.
Very pleasant conservatory bar/brasserie, and sitting area in the nicely tended garden. The huge sculpture of a red poodle in the garden is something to behold.
We have been coming to Bruges regularly over the last 14 years, so we tend to use local restaurants rather than hotel restaurants. The restaurant looks super, but from what I could see, the menu didn't change daily. Breakfast is pricey and, again, we use local cafes which are excellent for what we want.
As seems common in a lot of hotels in mainland Europe parking is expensive at 30 euro a night. I prefer to spend it on a good meal. There is parking at Zilverzand car park a 5 minute walk away for 8.70 euro per night and seems secure.

Room Tip: We have only been here twice and have had a room at the rear each time, so they are quiet. The qual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rapton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at the Duke's for 3 nights. Great location, friendly and professional staff. The location is amazing right in the heart of the town.Hotel seems like it was once a castle before being turned into luxury hotel. Very peacefull place, in a small street. the breakfast was absolutely worth it great choise and good products. Lovely!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Our stay at the Duke's Palace was very comfortable, staff were courteous and friendly and rooms were elegantly appointed - but it was soft, luxurious bed that I dropped into exhausted at the end of every full day of sight-seeing that I remember the most. Conveniently located to old-town attractions and the main square, it makes a convenient base from which to explore the city on foot. The food was good, but not outstanding, the beer selection limited to what you will find outside of the hotel, and I'd highly recommend not driving to the hotel unless you are comfortable with navigating small, cobbled, one-way streets. But the bar is comfortable and elegant, the view of the whimsical garden from our room was beautiful and memorable, and the room was comfortable and quiet.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that over-looks the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogbonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.6 km away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.0 km away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.5 km away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.5 km away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
699 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Property: Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#11 Family Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,587 - ₹ 32,121
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing