We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit! ”

The Bear Necessities
Ranked #28 of 85 Shopping in Bruges
Attraction details
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile


Excellent shop and fantastic owner, who stood up tall to welcome us when we walked in. Our only regret is not buying a teddy. However, we do intend to revisit and make a purchase or two. A must visit for anyone in Brugge.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Troy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"collector"
in 5 reviews
"bears"
in 13 reviews
"teddies"
in 2 reviews
"steiff"
in 3 reviews
"shopkeepers"
in 2 reviews
"collection"
in 2 reviews
"belgium"
in 3 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017

My wife is a keen collector of bears and we were very pleased and surprised to come upon this gorgeous little shop whilst walking around the city. y wife was very pleased with the selection of bears both old and new. After a further two visits we did buy a lovely bear to take home to the UK. On our final visit we were fortunate to talk to the husband of the owner of the shop. He was a delightful elderly gentleman and was able to discuss in depth on any on a variety of subjects. Very polite and very well informed. We could have chatted to him all day. It really made out visit.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank dlfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Happened upon this place whilst wondering around the streets of Bruges. The shop is full of character and very traditional and whilst small has a good stock of modern and antique bears some of which are made by the owner. We had a long chat with the owner who was clearly very knowledgeable and enthusiastic and spent lots of time with us. Would thoroughly recommend, a very different experience to buying on line!

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank Arnold W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016

This is one of the cutest shops I have been in a long time. My friends bought one of the bears that the gentleman's wife had made herself - such cute bears and all handmade. You could see the distinct personality of each bear. Lovely place fo children and grown-ups

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Artes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2016

As other reviewers have said, the owner is a wonderful gentleman who loves to talk about Belgium and any other topic you can possibly imagine. We read about this shop and decided that we would make a special trip to Bruges. We were not disappointed! The shop is not on a Main Street, so takes a little finding. The bears are beautiful and the gentleman's wife who makes some of the collection, is extremely talented. Whilst making a selection of one special bear to adopt, we had an informative and interesting conversation for a considerable time and were made to feel very welcome. If only more shops were like this!

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Woofnwinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bear Necessities also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to The Bear Necessities? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing