We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay”
Review of Hotel 't Zand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 't Zand
Ranked #83 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Another excellent stay”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Our third stay here and we will come again. The hotel is very tastefully decorated in a modern style. The location is perfect if you come by car, right outside the hotel are the pedestrian entrances to a large underground car park which is easily accesible from the main access road from the motorway. We had our dog with us, he was allowed in the bedroom, the restaurant and the breakfast room, the staff in the restaurant were very dog-friendly, and there is a park to walk the dog just along the street. The historic centre starts just around the corner so everything is in easy walking distance.

Room Tip: In the summer ask for a room at the back as there would be noise from the terraces outside at the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AJCNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    61
    34
    12
    2
See reviews for
22
66
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

The best feature of this hotel is the location, being an easy 10 minute stroll from the railway station and in easy reach of the historic centre of Bruges.

We were a bit disappointed with the hotel, though. On arrival, we waited for what seemed like ages at reception before someone came through from the restaurant, and then we were checked in very hurriedly.

The room was rather small and the decor was in quite poor condition - in need of a facelift. Unusually, the room had a separate bathroom and toilet. The bathroom was adequate but the shower arrangement less than ideal, and it was difficult to shower without soaking the rest of the bathroom. We took our own soap as hotels often supply ridiculously small bars of soap, but on the first morning, our own soap was removed by room service.

The biggest negative was that the room did not feel especially clean. For example, there were hairs in the washbasin and in the bed, and they weren't ours!

Hotel guests can eat in the restaurant for a special fixed price of €15 for 3 courses, which we thought very good value. Breakfast is taken in a separate room on the first floor, and we thought this barely adequate, with lukewarm bacon and scrambled egg and a minimal selection of ham and cheese.

On checking out we had to remind the reception that we had taken dinner in the restaurant. Good job we're honest.

In summary, we'll be looking for a different hotel for our next visit to this beautiful, beery city.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis_Alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed in this small and relaxed for 2 nights in November 2011. The location was excellent - close enough to walk to the train station and also a quick walk to the historical centre of Bruges. The room and bathroom were clean and tidy and everything except the desk lamp worked (which we didn't use anyway). Great shower in the bathroom with lots of shelf space to store toiletries. The breakfast was good - there was a reasonable selection of warm and cold food. We stayed on the same floor as the dining room, and the smell of cooking food in our room was quite off-putting, although I'm sure some people wouldn't mind! The staff were friendly, if a little scarce at times and check in was quick and painless.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel, which didn't have a view, but was really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairmoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We booked this hotel on last minute.com. We chose it because of the great price plus the excellent reviews. One of the best bits is the location. The main square is a 10 minute walk and you can walk down the main shopping street, but we had fun finding different routes as the shopping street can get quite crowded!
Upon arriving we were greeted by a friendly woman at the reception. Our room wasn't due to be ready but she said it was. Don't be put off by the tiny corridors, the rooms are quite spacious by European standards! We were in one of the rooms at the back of the hotel. I wouldn't of liked one at the front as there was building work in the square, but at the back of the hotel it didn't disturb us one bit. The view from our room was fantastic, we were on the 3rd floor, from our room we could see all 3 of Bruge's well know towers/spires!
The room was basic, a bed with two bedside tables and a dressing table. There was also a wardrobe, but bring your own hangers as their aren't many. The bathroom was lovely. There were some marks and hand prints on the walls but all in all nothing to complain about. We barely ever heard any other guests. Nobody ever disturbed us. The maid came every day and tidied and cleaned everything. We had new towels and little sachets of soap etc every day.
The breakfast was quite nice. There were cereals, pastries, yoghurt, fruit and bread (which you could toast). There was also scrambled egg and bacon which was adequate. You can also have tea,coffee and lovely fresh orange juice. A lady regularly replenished the food when it was getting low.
At night there is no one on reception but you can use your electronic key to get in.
The lady on reception was always helpful when we asked about something. When we left we had to check out at 10am and our train from Brussels wasn't until 7.30pm, the people on reception let us keep our luggage in the hotel in a room next to the reception. I was really pleased with this because we felt that we had an extra day as we weren't lumbered with suitcases.
The hotel made our stay special and we would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the square have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Great small hotel...much surprised by it. Last minute booking. Good value, but thought it may be noisy on a main traffic square and with construction...was pleasantly surprised! Great Breakfast. Recently updated, with great bathrooms by European standards....rooms could use a regular painting touch up from dings and luggage marks on walls, otherwise, good location, only downfall is wifi does not work well in rooms, if at all.

Room Tip: only 19 rooms, ask for on on backside, away form square...mine had a pretty view of the Bell Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prairieguyabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 km away
Leopold
Leopold
#73 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#31 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.1 km away
Portinari Hotel
Portinari Hotel
#48 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Salvators
Hotel Salvators
#57 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.1 km away
Albert 1 Hotel
Albert 1 Hotel
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Passage
Hotel Passage
#88 of 97 in Bruges
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 't Zand? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 't Zand

Property: Hotel 't Zand
Address: 't Zand 21, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,159 - ₹ 8,966
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 't Zand 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel 't Zand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel t Zand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing