We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel”
Review of Hotel Malleberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Malleberg
Ranked #43 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely little hotel”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

The staff were friendly and on hand when we first arrived at the hotel, when we returned late at night after dinner and drinks in bruges and again at breakfast. The hotel only has 8 rooms and as such they are kept to a high standard. Our room was comfortable and romantic, decorated in burgundy with open wood beams on the ceiling. Exactly as advertised when we booked it.
Breakfast is worth paying for, continental buffet style. Served in a lovely cellar room.
Excellent location for tourist attractions in the centre of Bruges. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staceyleanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    137
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
85
139
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We spent four nights in November and were really impressed by the size of the room, the location, and the continental breakfast service in the picturesque cellar. We had room 7 and climbing up the staircases was excellent training before tackling the 366 steps of the Belfort tower! The railway station is just a brisk half hour walk away (but don't take a wheeled trolley suitcase as it will bump against every cobble on the pavement!) If you're homesick for English telly then BBC2 is on channel 19, BBC1 is on channel 25.

We found some amazing places to eat but could never get into the landlord's recommended venue, Cambrinus, as it was always full with locals... however on the last evening we had our best meal to date at 'T Vagevuur, 43 St. Amandstraat, just off Markt. Prestige (12-14, Vlamingstraat) do wonderful afternoon High Teas in an upmarket, salon style setting, attached to a patisserie/chocolatier. Service in both these was excellent. Planning to return in 2012.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs choose a lower numbered room or room 9 -there's no lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I stayed in Bruges before at a great B&B. But it was booked for this trip AND my husband has a strange hatred of Bed and Breakfasts. So the Hotel Malleberg was the perfect alternative. Reasonable price 89euro a night. Especially since it is literally located in the perfect location downtown. Easy acces to everything but quiet street. Across the street from a 4 star hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Even helped us arrange concert tickets. The breakfast exceeded our expectations in a pretty cellar dining room. Our room was quite large. Simple furniture, but comfortable and clean. perfect for our trip to Bruges.

Room Tip: We were in room 8. Very quiet and large. But you do need to be able to climb the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACMC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Only approx. 5 minutes walk from the Belfry and situated on a quiet road. Our room was a good size and breakfasts (included in the room rate) were excellent with lots of choice. Breakfast was taken in the beautiful cellar room.
Easy access by foot from the railway station (25-30 mins walk) through the town.

Room Tip: Lack of a lift may be an issue for less able-bodied travellers, but a ground floor room is available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TangoNovember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Lovely hotel good location lovely little court yard at the back , nice and clean room the breakfast was outstanding in a lovely cellar, we would return to stay there again, car parking close by no complaints at all :) xx

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Karel de Stoute
Hotel Karel de Stoute
#38 of 97 in Bruges
132 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Alegria
Hotel Alegria
#34 of 97 in Bruges
374 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Cavalier
Hotel Cavalier
#54 of 97 in Bruges
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#14 of 97 in Bruges
337 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Cordoeanier
Hotel Cordoeanier
#37 of 97 in Bruges
1,095 reviews
0.1 km away
Anselmus Hotel
Anselmus Hotel
#28 of 97 in Bruges
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Malleberg? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malleberg

Property: Hotel Malleberg
Address: Hoogstraat 7, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Bruges
#33 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,104 - ₹ 14,530
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Malleberg 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Malleberg is a comfortable, friendly, family-run hotel at a unique location just 200 m from the market square. Situated in the heart of magnificent Bruges, the hotel is ideal for cyclists and perfect for discovering the old town of Bruges and its surrounding area. A warm welcome awaits you in a quiet and friendly atmosphere. Our pleasant rooms provide every comfort and they all have their own bathroom with shower. Coffee and tea facilities in the room are standard. You will experience Belgian hospitality in this typical Bruges town house that instantly becomes home to every guest. Families are very welcome to our family suite, which is ideal for parents and their children. You start the day with a full, refined, hearty breakfast in our 16th-century cellar. Please let us know if you need any information on tourist attractions, excursions, bicycle rental, museums, etc. In the afternoons you are invited to have a free cup of coffee or tea in our lounge. A PC is available at no extra charge and there is free Wi-Fi all over the hotel and in all the rooms. On a nice day you can enjoy our patio with its gorgeous flowers and plants. Our hotel becomes a home to every guest! The Vienne-Van Lersberghe family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Malleberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malleberg Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing