We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet again MORE Bedbugs !!!”
Review of Park Hotel Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Park Hotel Brugge
Ranked #88 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Having stayed in this hotel a second time as part of a Shearings 5 day break, the 'bedbugs' problem did occurred again.

Thankfully we were not affected, but one couple on the same trip were.

It is a shame as the hotel is good and as part of a package coach holiday by Shearings it fulfils the needs to enjoy a trip to see Brugge.
For the price paid......... it is value for money.

Its location is ideal for reaching the centre of town and the attractions easily.

BUT the 'Bedbugs' problem needs to be sorted by the hotel and Shearings should push this or take their custom elsewhere.

The 'bedbugs' were filmed by the occupants of the room and on complaining to the reception were moved to an alternative room, however, reception did not appear concerned about the situation.

Overall the stay at the hotel in August 2014 was good..............but had we had the bedbugs in our room, then this would have been a different story.

Not all of the rooms are infested, out of a coach party of 40+ people, it would appear only one couple had a problem........ but one is still too many.

I always take some 'bite' cream and some anti-histamine tablets in case of getting bitten out and about, I don’t expect to have to use them due to an infestation by bedbugs in the hotel room.

The hotel is used by other tour companies and two other groups were in during our stay there. I am surprised that their clients have not had similar problems ....... or perhaps they have and their reviews are here as well.

Hopefully this matter will get resolved, however judging by the reviews, no one is taking any notice.

In rating the hotel, I would give it a 'very good' rating if there was not a 'bedbug' problem, however, with an infestation of this nature the score has to be 'poor'

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Klepperguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (393)
There are newer reviews for Park Hotel Brugge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 118 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

Arriving at the Park Hotel on a Shearings 5 day holiday I was a little worried having read some recent reviews. Here are my observations.
Check in: Fast, efficient and courteous.
Room 113: As requested, close to a lift. Decor a bit dated. On entering I immediately checked the beds and found no evidence of bed or any other bug. The beds were comfortable, covered in crisp white sheets decent pillows and duvet .Room equipped with flat screen T.V English channels, telephone desk table and two small arm chairs. The bathroom was well appointed with hair dryer plenty of towels/flannels soaps and shampoos etc which were replenished daily,
Dining room. Spacious, pleasant with a display of large plants on a second elevated level. Staff efficient.
Food : Excellent Continental Breakfast with plenty of choice including cereals, boiled eggs , lots of breads , pastries, yogourt , fruit juice , tea ,coffee etc. Lunch and dinner (pre arranged by Coach Company) was tasty but I did not like having to make a choice the day before.
Bar, Modern, clean, bright area with great view of the Square and fountain. Service excellent.
Reception. Bit of a curates egg, some good, some bad, I asked if they had any spare reading books and the chap on reception went to a lot of trouble finding one. However when I reported that we had lost our light in the bathroom the receptionist was a bit off handed. There had been some problem which had necessitated some of the power being switched off, due to the considerable amount of rainfall we had had. He was obviously under pressure and had many complaints from residents but that did not excuse his dismissive attitude. We had adequate light from the bedroom so managed for the night. Next morning on asking when the problem would be resolved I was greeted by a totally different attitude. The chap on reception that morning explained what the problem had been and promised to get back to me quickly. Shortly after he came to me in the dining room and apologised for the delay but assured me that the problem had been sorted, (which it had).
Overall impression of the hotel.
A good base close to the centre of Bruges, some staff could have been more helpful. Cleanliness: Excellent. Food very good. Value for money. Good. Would I stay again? Yes.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ragrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We were worried about staying here after reading reviews mentioning bedbugs, we never saw any, but other people on our Shearings holiday trip did. For more than half of one day there were no lights in most of the Hotel, but management tried to rectify the problem, which was due to water leaking in. We found some of the staff to be quiet grumpy, but put this down to the Hotel being understaffed. The food was acceptable, but lots of tinned veg was used, the soups were nice though. Our mattresses were too soft and we found them to be hot and sticky at night, not comfortable at all. We have stayed in worse Hotels, but we won't stay here again. I think Shearings holidays need to change where they put their guests!Lots of guests had issues and said that they won't ever return.

Room Tip: Rooms 237/238 were at the back of the Hotel and were a decent size. The rooms at the front may have...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Grangie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

arrived at this hotel approx 7.30pm after travelling for most of the day with Shearings .
Upon arrival our room was not ready(room231) ,the man on the desk was not happy ,he then gave me keys to another( room 440) this room appeared to be ok and quite satisfactory ,we unpacked and decided to go for a stroll in the city ,then we got back to the hotel ready for a long ,I decided to read a few pages of a book then shortly afterwards realised they were bugs crawling on the top of the duvet when pulled back the duvet there were a few more ,needless to say not happy it was late so I went back downstairs and explained about the bugs and all they said was oh ! so they finally gave us room 6 which was clean and could not find any bugs ,but for the stay I never got under the duvet just in case ....others have had this problem so be warned check your bed ....

Room Tip: check your bed before turning out the lights
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 161PaulineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Just returned from a 4 night stay with National Holidays. After reading many reviews I was dreading staying here, but what a pleasant surprise when we finally arrived. Check in was quick and friendly, the lift is very small but it serves its purpose. We had a room for 3 and it was very clean . Bed very comfortable and definately no bed bugs!!! Clean bathroom, plenty of towels good room service.Clean and pleasant breakfast room, continental and plentiful.The bar area is very good and overlooks the square. Thank you to Durga for the many Julipers he served us. Hotel is in a fantastic location, right in the square lots of good bars and restaurants about. Overall this holiday is fantastic value for money. Be aware that evening meals are not included, bed and breakfast only. Do not be put off by the many negative reviews. I am very fussy when it comes to choosing hotels and this one is absolutely fine. Thank you to Andy our driver. Very pleasant and helpful .would definetly recommend this hotel and trip.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel are on the square, so may be noisy in the height of the season.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 km away
The Golden tree hotel
The Golden tree hotel
#61 of 97 in Bruges
434 reviews
0.1 km away
Portinari Hotel
Portinari Hotel
#41 of 97 in Bruges
158 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Koffieboontje
Hotel Koffieboontje
#83 of 97 in Bruges
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#36 of 97 in Bruges
2,337 reviews
0.7 km away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#40 of 97 in Bruges
2,932 reviews
0.7 km away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#18 of 97 in Bruges
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Brugge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Brugge

Address: Vrijdagmarkt 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: ₹ 7,855 - ₹ 15,260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Brugge 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hotel Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing