We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful apartment and great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Het Blekershuys

living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
living room
living room living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
living room
living room
living room
living room
living room
living room
living room
living room
view from the window
toilet
living room - fire place
view from the window
view from the window
corridor wih staircase
kitchen
kitchen
the facade of the appartment
bathroom
bathroom
bedroom
bedroom
bedroom
bedroom
bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Bruges, West Flanders Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Carole W
Redditch, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Apartment spoiled by awful smell in main shower room and bedroom”
Reviewed 1 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We booked this apartment after looking for accommodation in Bruges with four bedrooms.
When we arrived we were delighted with the aspect, location and space provided. However on going to ned on the first evening it became apparent that their was a serious problem with the plumbing in the en suite shower room. The foul smell that was in there permeated through to the bedroom so much that it was impossible to sleep in that room and I had to spend the night on the couch in the lounge. I emailed Charlotte, the owner, first thing the following morning. Her response was that it was the drains in Bruge. No other washbasin, toilet or sink had this acrid smell. At no time did she come and try to rectify the problem. I had to spend the following three nights sleeping with my granddaughter which was not what we had planned or paid for. If the owner was aware of this problem she should have rented the apartment as a three bed.
We had a lovely time in Bruges despite this major blip

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and space provided
Liked least: unacceptable plumbing issue
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2014
Dear guest,

We are very sorry that the smell was such a big problem for you.
We saw you send a litte email 1 day after arrival that there was a smell in the shower room , you didn't mention that the problem for you was that bad you couldn't sleep in the room. After a dry periode smell for the sewer can happen from the little old streets. That's what I wrote you back. After I didn't have any reaction anymore of you, so for me the problem was solved. After your stay I verify the shower and saw that the odor trap wasn't close. So that's was the problem, its a petty you didn't call me or mail me that there was such a strong smell for you and you couldn't sleep in the bedroom, I could fix this in 2 minutes, just closing the odor trap in the water drain.
We hope you still enjoyed Bruges.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjmnurse
new york
1 review
“Wonderful apartment and great location”
Reviewed 18 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This was a wonderful location with short walk along the canal to Market Square and Burg.
The beds were very comfortable. Fully stocked with pots, dishes, glassware etc. Has coffee pot and toaster.
Will need to purchase hand soap, toilet paper and any other snacks in the supermarket.
We were 4 women and felt perfectly comfortable and safe.
Needless to say, Brugge is a beautiful city.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: the only shower was in one bedroom
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2014
Thank a lot for staying with, we are very happy you enjoyed Bruges!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suble
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very welcoming apartment and fantastic location.”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed in the apartment for one week, 2 families both with teenage children. The moment we arrived we just felt at home. The apartment was very well prepared for our stay, very well equipped and the location couldn't be better. The view of the canals from the front of the apartment was lovely and although we were only a 10 minute walk from the centre the immediate area was quiet in the evenings.
There are 2 small supermarkets nearby as well as the local shops and pubs. The oldest pub in Bruges is just down the road, almost on your doorstep, and definitely worth a visit for beer and/or food.
Great walks in all directions, and cycling is a must. We hired very good bikes from Bruges Bike Rental, 10 Euros per day for an adult, 8 for the kids, and had the bikes from 10am to 8pm. Dads and kids also had a go at the Segway tour and spent a fun hour being guided round the city by Charlie, a real character.
We can't wait to go back and would love to stay in the apartment again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt at home straight away, great location.
Liked least: Didn't need microwave in the kitchen, takes up too much room.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beware you may end up paying more than you think!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group of 9 teachers who were visiting Bruges for a cultural experience. The house was lovely, but beware of the landlady who kept our £200 deposit! She claimed we had stolen pictures, wrecked the walls and a rug and trashed the property. I wouldn't mind if that were true, but we are a group of mature responsible teachers who treated the property with respect. In fact we left it cleaner than we found it, having purchased a large range of clearing materials to do this. We did leave a number of wine bottles in the glass recycling box, there were 9 of us after all and we had a couple of bottles with dinner each night. We feel conned and cheated by this money grabbing person. Yes it is a nice house, yes it's a great location but I have no confidence recommending this house to anyone unless you are prepared to pay extra to stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2014
Dear guests,

I really prefer not to keep the deposit but the appartment was so dirty left with vomit and stains all over , I didn't have the choice.
I had to clean 2 times more than normal in a very unpleasant situation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorrainef...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful accommodation in a fantastic position”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We just spent a week here and had a fantastic time. I was one out of a party of eight people and all said how they liked the apartment.
The only problem we had was the lift failed to work on the third day but I emailed the owner who arranged for a repair man to fix it. Unfortunately we did not know he needed access to the apartment as the lift cupboard was in one of the bedrooms and I think we missed him initially but was rectified later in the week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the property
Liked least: One of the bathrooms was off the downstairs bedroom which left six of us queuing up to use the upstairs one.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing