We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely would go back.......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Martin's Relais
Ranked #30 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Definitely would go back.......”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

As a European style hotel, it was a great stop for what we wanted - a decent room in a great location. Rooms are small however all the amenities you require are in your very small room. The rooms were clean and we were woken by the bells early in the morning.....which might sound irritating, but was actually quite cool. There is a computer for guest to use, a nice lobby and lounge as well as a full breakfast. Perfect for either the single traveller or a family. Take the time to look out your window (on the higher floors) and you will be treated to the amazing roof line of Bruges......a sight well worth waking up for.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whatalife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    365
    106
    41
    10
See reviews for
134
544
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

My partner and I stayed at this hotel early December 2011. The reception staff was polite and welcoming. We were allocated room 6 on the groundfloor, being on the side of the garden, the room was very quiet and therefore we had 3 restful nights. We enjoyed the decor with its old fashioned antique feel. Being there in December, the fire in the lobby was roaring and the Christmas decorations added a real festive warmth. We only only had breakfast at the hotel once. We had booked it by email and paid 15 euros each instead of 20 euros, Yes it was not cheap but the breakfast room was lovely and the buffet offered a good variety of fresh produce: buttery croissants, pain aux raisins, pain au chocolat, fruits, cereals, various cured meat and cheeses, nice bread rolls etc... the only negative that morning was that the waitress was not very welcoming. Worth mentioning is that nowhere in Bruges is cheap to eat, however wherever we have eaten (restaurants or tearooms) the standard of service has always been excellent. The hotel is well situated by a canal and only a two minute walk from the centre. Minor negative detail, the shower rubber water proof tube should be changed. A very pleasant stay and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonConstance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed in this hotel in july 2010, sorry for the delay in a review being written.
Our room was on the bottom floor and had an incredible view of the little canal outside, very picture perfect. The hotel is only a short walk from the town centre, where there are plenty of restaraunts and cafes, as well as tourist info centres. I would highly recommend a trip to the top of the tower in the centre, an amazing view.
The quality of the room was very good, and the room itself clean and fresh. The double bed was just two beds pushed together, which seems to be the norm in europe, or any hotel we have visited anyway. This wasnt a big problem, as the were big enough.
The bathroom was nicely laid out and relativly new, meaning it was nice and modern. There was a plasma television in the room as well as a mini bar and safety deposit box, all very useful.
The staff at the check in desk was very helpful, and allowed us into our room well ahead of our check in time. This allowed us to drop off our bags and get exploring.

Overall this was a very nice hotel and I would highly recommend it to family and friends, as well as anyone on tripadvisor.

Also, there is a small bakers around the corner for the hotel, very much worth an early morning visit :)

Room Tip: any overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillingshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

This is a lovely hotel and is in a fantastic area, near everything within a few minutes walk. From the station you can get a bus or taxi (only €7.50) and a couple of minutes drive. The staff were so helpful especially Bregt. The beds were so comfy and provided a great nights sleep to refuel for the next days sightseeing. The breakfast was nice but I didnt think it was worth the money, but overall Bruges was pricey enough anyway so maybe for convenience it was a good choice. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elleor126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This place is fantastic - our kids called it the haunted house (not scary - just exciting). All the furniture is amazing and the breakfast we had was the best we ate in 6 countries across Europe. If you have 3 people try to get room 33 or 34 - It has a separate single bed room and double bed room and then another reading room. I could stay here a week. It is tucked nicely about 3 minutes walk from the main square in Bruges. We had no problem parking about 100m away in meter parking but we were probably lucky.

I have no doubt there are many beautiful Hotels in Bruges but given our experience I won't bother searching - I'll just go back here.

Room Tip: 33 or 34 was great for 3 people - ask them for the 3 bedder
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slayerice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 km away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#27 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Ter Brughe
Hotel Ter Brughe
#36 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
0.2 km away
Adornes
Adornes
#11 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Martin's Relais? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Martin's Relais

Property: Hotel Martin's Relais
Address: Genthof 4a, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,953 - ₹ 14,195
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Martin's Relais 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering free Wi-Fi, Martin's Relais provides rooms with original features and antique furniture in 5 historic 17th-century canal houses. The hotel benefits from a peaceful rose garden, several comfortable lounges and is only 450 metres from the Grote Markt.Satellite TV, a minibar and work desk are provided in the rooms at Relais. Each of the rooms has been uniquely decorated and include a modern bathroom with luxurious toiletries.Situated along a scenic canal in the historic centre of Bruges, this hotel is 10 minutes’ walk from the Groeninge Museum. The Concert Hall is a 15-minute walk away.The cosy bar serves local Belgian beers both inside and out on the terrace in summer. Martin's Relais also offers a breakfast buffet with Cava in the grand breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Martin's Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing