We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel 10 minutes walk from centre”
Review of Montovani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montovani Hotel
Ranked #79 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Orpington, Kent
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel 10 minutes walk from centre”
Reviewed 12 March 2011

This is a reasonably priced hotel in a nice short quite road. Please note, Google maps, will offer you a couple of choices of route between train station and Hotel, the one that runs by the canal side is the most pleasant. otherwise, you have to walk in main roads that are busy. Very pleasant city, however, we found Gent to be even nicer. We were surprised not to find a local map at the station or not being able to get a map of the city at the station. We had to get it for half a euro at the tourist information centre. the belfry of Bruge was rather disappointing, the one in gent is much better. One thing I learnt on this trip is never crticise a Belgian who is serving you, they do not like it and are unlikely to acknowledge their own wrong doings! This hotel is family run, the room is very well furnished Breakfast is plentiful and nice. They served wholemeal bread, which was a pleasant surprise. Most streets and footpaths are cobbled, could seriously damage your suitcase's wheels.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swift_tara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    57
    30
    26
    8
See reviews for
38
54
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Erpe, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We booked a two night stay in this hotel and we stayed in room 14 at the first floor.
Keeping the price in mind, we didn't expect a four-star hotel. Looking at the pictures on their website, we expected a nice, cosy and clean room.
Unfortunately there were some negative points:
-there was a strong smell of fresh paint in the room ( but did not notice any painting)
-dust in the room and spiderwebs (pictures)
-bathroom contained mold spores (pictures)
-After 1st night the bed was made up when we arrived in the evening but no fresh sheets were provided (stain we made was still on the sheets) - the double bed however was comfortable
-room needs renovation (curtains, furniture..)
-mini bar: I'm willing to pay 2 euros for a 33cl Minute Maid fruit juice (0,71 eurocent at Colruyt) but not for white label Colruyt 20 cl fruit juice that cost 0,12 eurocents (http://www.collectandgo.be/cogo/nl/artikeldetail/19315/#)
-same for the chips => it's not difficult to provide quality and those little things really make the difference
-Breakfast was rather poor: we were the first couple at 8.30 and there were only 2 croissants (not fresh but from a pack), brown bread and rolls (those were fresh), there was ham and two other kinds of meat but these were, again not fresh but from a pack. Unfortunately tasteless. There was a lot of sweet stuff like honey, jam, chocolate paste..
Cereals were, unfortunately again, tasteless. Second day we arrived at 8.35 and coffee and meat was not yet ready. Same bread and rolls (no croissants this time). A pity if you think that fresh meat and quality food can really make a good breakfast of it!
Honestly: I really think you can find a better hotel for the same price in the neighbourhood.

Good points:
-10 minutes walking distance from Bruges
-Cheap (80 euros/nigth)
-Comfortable double bed
-Friendly owners
-we had a quiet night
ps: prices in hotel are cheaper then when booking online ;-)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sp00r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bruges hotels

edinburgh UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Everything with this place is just a disaster. How previous reviews can be positive god only knows. The only good thing about this place is its coffee in the morning. The bread is fresh but the rest of the breakfast is cheap and nasty. Room clean enough but uncomfortable and no soap or shampoo although they did provide upon request.
Enough said.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rene133019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We booked online and were led to expect a hotel in the center of Bruges, but this was very much outside the old city, and nowhere near any restaurants, so dinner was a problem. But aside from the location, it was the inhospitable attitude of the owner that was really uncomfortable. Basics like internet, bike rental were not available. The rooms were clean and spacious, and the TV was a real blessing, as one had to stay in one's room. There was no lounge or garden, or any comfortable common area. Most of the place was off limits to the guests, and we were not allowed to sit on the dining chairs which were right next to the reception, as it was not 'breakfast time'. One got the distnict impression that she was running the place out of necessity and did not really like anyone in her house! To cap it all, the front door would not open easily with the key provided, so one had to struggle for a quarter of an hour to open the door. Of course, no one would ans the bell as she had made it clear that she was not going to. For all she cared, we could be outside all night!
However, the owners family, small child and dog made a huge racket outside our door all the time, and that was perfectly fine. We were confined to our room as it was raining, and forced to listen to loud talk and laughter, and the child yelling and crying, while cycling just outside.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msaigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Hotel provides an excellent, friendly service at a reasonable price. Its location is good - 5 minutes walk from Zand, 10 minutes walk from centre; bus outside to station. The reception is very friendly and helpful; en-suite room was spacious and clean. Breakfast limited but quite adequate. There is no bar or lounge but, given that Bruges has 100's of bars and restaurants, that it not a problem.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Van Eyck
Hotel Van Eyck
#70 of 97 in Bruges
262 reviews
0.4 km away
Leopold
Leopold
#72 of 97 in Bruges
162 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
#66 of 97 in Bruges
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Restaurant 't  Putje
0.4 km away
Hotel Passage
Hotel Passage
#89 of 97 in Bruges
121 reviews
0.2 km away
Ensor
Ensor
#59 of 97 in Bruges
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montovani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montovani Hotel

Property: Montovani Hotel
Address: Schouwvegersstraat 11, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,218 - ₹ 8,246
Hotel Class:2 star — Montovani Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Montovani is a cosy hotel with 12 rooms. You can find us in a quiet small street within walking distance from the historical centre of Bruges (300 m), restaurants- tea rooms, the station, the concert hall and the tourist office of Bruges. It is easily accessible by car. You can park for free in the neighbourhood (maximum at 500 m). In our hotel you will discover a permanent exposition of aquarelle and acrylic. The salon, the veranda and the small garden are at the disposal of our guests. In the morning you can benefit from an extended breakfast. In the afternoon you can have tea or coffee against payment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Montovani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montovani Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing