We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, but pricing and service not what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Ranked #22 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Let me first say that I believe our experience to have been the exception rather than the rule, but unfortunately De Tuilerieen did not live up to our expectations. We made the first error by booking our room through bookings.com, which to our surprise did not include breakfast or parking (remember to read the small print), which at €30 each for breakfast to room and €25 per day parking can add on quite a bit to the bill. When you're already paying €320 for a room, you would expect that this would be included. Error on our part. However, when we arrived at 14:30, we were told it was not possible to check in until 15:00 (check in time is 15:00), but almost every other hotel I have been to are flexible on early check ins. Not so on this occasion. Room itself was beautiful inside, but had ground floor view of car park and was quite noisy with guests on ground stairway coming in/out, again not ideal when you're forking out a significant amount. Staff initially appeared helpful, telling us they could book a restaurant when we arrived, however that evening we were told the good restaurants would likely be booked out as it was a busy evening. Lastly, the internet availability is very poor (no wifi in rooms, although there is internet connection via tv, it is very slow and unreliable and we could not connect laptop to cable). Also, be careful of the front stairs on the entrance when it is rainy, as the marble is very slippy (my girlfriend managed to have a nasty fall on her way out). On the plus side, there is a lovely (but small) pool, the rooms are great and the location is excellent (only 5 min walk from the Grote Markt). All in all, a disappointing stay, and really felt it did not live up to expectations.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 40Foot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

694 - 698 of 1,539 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2012


We had a two night stay at the hotel and had a great stay for the price that we payed. The hotel is in a great location in Bruge making access to the key attractions easy. The hotel is a true gem with great service. Are room did have black marks on the wall but apart from that was perfect. We look forward to using SLH hotels in the future. 

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cenzo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This hotel is drop dead gorgeous in a beautiful piece of European heritage. The location is as billed,very convenient and very pretty.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Good to be aware that the luxury room - which is the entry level room - can be a tight little spot in the attic which will do nothing for the soul. Not worth it for the stay. Pay up for a considerable premium to stay in one of the Rooms in the website or stay in another hotel where you can get the space that is nice for a few days and go to this hotel for a meal or drink in their lovely bar.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CalmTraveller75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Excellent hotel - ideally situated next to the canal and 2 mins away from the town square. Our room was spacious with a huge bathroom and a very comfy bed! Staff are friendly, helpful and welcoming. Perfect for a short break to this breathtaking city.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Het25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Our one night stay in De Tuilerieen would have been close to perfect if there hadn´t been one incident in the end with the manager, who is definetly not doing any good to the reputation of this luxury hotel. First as SLH members, we got an upgrade of room to a suite, that was just amazing - beautifully decorated, with big terrace, huge bathroom etc. We were given good advice on the city and told that the breakfast was included. As I didn´t remember reading about the complimentary breakfast on the reservation sheet I asked for confirmation and got the answer, that yes, as a SLH member, our breakfast is free of charge. Usually it´s 25 euros per person, but it really is a wonderful breakfast with fresh berries, chocolate fountain fondue etc. Everything went smoothly and we were very happy with everything until during the checkout we were asked to pay for the breakfasts. I told the staff that I had double checked with the receptionist that checked us in, but the staff would just tell me that then the girl had made a mistake and I should pay. It is not a matter of money but of principle, that if I´m told by the luxury hotel staff member, that the breakfast is complimentary and that even twice, then I think I can trust this. I asked for the manager, who came out from the back office and said also, that maybe there has been a mistake then and I should pay for the breakfast. He asked me the name of the receptionist, but I actually don´t try to remember the names of the whole staff of a hotel where I stay for one night. Then he said he tries to call her but came back and said she didn´t pick up the phone. So, in other words, he just assumed I was lying and didn´t take responsibility of his hotel staff mistake. That was unbelievable from an upclass hotel like De Tuilerieen. In the end we split the cost, but it left me leaving with a bad feeling. Just for the record, I would have written a review also without this incident, as the hotel itself really is a gem in the historical heart of the beautiful Brugge!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jucandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
747 reviews
0.1 km away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.5 km away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,558 reviews
0.1 km away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Tuilerieen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Tuilerieen

Address: Dijver 7, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#14 Business Hotel in Bruges
#20 Family Hotel in Bruges
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: ₹ 11,329 - ₹ 29,165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Tuilerieen 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atmospheric hotel housed in elegantly restored 15th-century Flemish mansion, decorated with antiques, art objects & rich fabrics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Prestigia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel De Tuilerieen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Tuilerieen Hotel
De Tuilerieen Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing