We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If it's luxury you're after, look somewhere else!”
Review of Hotel De Tassche

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bruges
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel De Tassche
Ranked #86 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed 19 May 2008

If you are looking for luxury this is not the place to stay -at best this hotel can be described as basic - certainly not worth the £100 a night they charge. Although it is ideally located for central Bruges it has very little else going for it. On the positive side, the bathrooms were clean (if a little small) and the beds were clean. On the negative side, the rooms are shabby, the toilet roll holder fell off the wall the first time we used it, the coffee cups were plastic disposable ones, the top of the wardrobe was thick with dust, and the hairdryer didn't work. The reception staff were friendly but not particularly efficient. The trip from reception up to the room along a long dull corridor didn't make you feel excited about what was awaiting you in your room - you kind of new it was going to be nothing to write home about. Breakfast was ok - nothing special but perfectly adequate with a reasonable amount of choice. Finally, the noise was awful, there is no soundproofing whatsoever. We had the pleasure of listening to people doing all kinds of interesting things including being able to hear their conversations, hear which tv programmes they were watching, we knew what they were doing on the toilet, and in the bedroom! It was not fun. It wasn't the worst hotel I've ever stayed in - but it was a long way off the best!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy2Travel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (25)
There are newer reviews for Hotel De Tassche
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2008

We stayed in a Corner room on Easter Saturday night. The Room was nice and clean, comfy bed, great bathroom, great view of the belfrey!
The Staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great!
There was a bit of noise from the street below (pople talking loud and some cars), But overall not a huge issue.
We enjoyed our time in Bruges and even had some snow which i wasnt expecting at Easter.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LondonWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2008

The room in the hotel was lovely, the bathroom fantasic and our experience in Bruges was wonderful..

However, upon paying for the room, we were charged 120 euros rather than the 70 quoted on the website. I am still confused to why this occurred and I have had no reply to two emails

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tinuviel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2007

As an American, where any building older than fifty years is knocked down for a newer one, the opportunity to stay in a hotel in a structure that dates back to the 16th century was interesting. The price was fair and the accommodations were equal to the price. There was nothing too exceptional about my room. There was breakfast available, but I caught an early train and did not eat. Speaking of the train, the public transport consists of city busses. I took one from the station to the center of town when I arrived, but with all the traffic it would have been easier to walk, which is what I did on my way back to the station the next morning. The location is just off of the town square and just about everything I wanted to see was within walking distance. (I like to walk a lot on holiday. Your idea of walking distance may vary.)

It is not fancy or modern, but for a night's stay it was more than adequate.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Titanole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2007

We enjoyed our stay at De Tasshe it was in a great location close to Market and the Belfrey. The breakfast was lovely and the owners very helpful with maps, directions, train schedules, etc. The rooms are small but very quaint and comfortable. The king size bed was very comfortable and the decor lovely. Brugge is a beautiful city with cobble stone streets, picturesque canal ways, amazing chocolate and over 300 bieres! My husband and I loved it.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank 2141Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
#67 of 97 in Bruges
179 reviews
0.0 km away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#40 of 97 in Bruges
2,934 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Van Eyck
Hotel Van Eyck
#65 of 97 in Bruges
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Duc de Bourgogne
Duc de Bourgogne
#44 of 97 in Bruges
417 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Koffieboontje
Hotel Koffieboontje
#83 of 97 in Bruges
623 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Malleberg
Hotel Malleberg
#39 of 97 in Bruges
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Tassche? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Tassche

Address: Oude Burg 11, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: ₹ 5,448 - ₹ 7,783 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De Tassche is located at 50 meters from the Market Square in Bruges and offers a friendly, personal service. With all the sights of Brugge within easy walking distance, Hotel De Tassche is an ideal base to explore this city. In the morning enjoy a free continental breakfast buffet. During the day and in the evening you can relax and have a quiet drink in our bar which is open untill 22.00 hours. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
De Tassche Hotel
De Tassche Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing