We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Medieval Charm, A Must Stay in Bruges!”
Review of Hotel Jan Brito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Jan Brito
Ranked #26 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Our family of 4 enjoyed family room 9 with its private down stairs master bed and loft of twin beds for our girls. The posts and beams with winding staircase exuded charm with a modern bathroom ensuite. Two flat screens allowed for late night viewing of preferred disney shows, while the the skylights provided majestic roof top views. The breakfast was excellent with a nice array of continental fare of meats, cheeses, eggs, breads, and fruits. The courtyard in view was beautiful even in the early spring season. The staff made reservations and answered questions with an earnest smile. The best hotel experience during this european vacation involving 4 other hotels in 3 different countries. The medieval charm of this hotel is a must to experience the true Brugges.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingfoodiefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

664 - 668 of 1,237 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights with my husband. Our room was at the attic, i liked but certainly could use a new tv, better furniture and new bed spreads. The sloping ceiling proved to be a bit of a challenge for a person taller then 6'. Breakfast was included, and a great way to start our day in this beautiful town. The hotel location was good, close enough so the main attractions could be reached with a very short walk. Front desk was always very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Had two day trip and have to say no complaints about this hotel. They have a mixture of rooms and we had a cheaper smaller room, however it was very well equipped, so no complaints. The hotel has lots of character and would stay there again as nice and close to centre.

Room Tip: you can pay extra for a larger room but not sure it's worth it
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
Thank JonathanHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This hotel is only a two minute walk from the main tourist area but is lovely and quiet at night so you do not get disturbed by any noise.

We stayed in room 23 (Garden Duchess Suite) and it was lovely. Had a downstairs seating area and a lovely four poster bed upstairs. The bathroom was great and had the option of both a bath and shower.

Breakfast was great, staff were helpful and friendly and this was the ideal base to explore Bruges. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty D, Owner at Hotel Jan Brito, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

Dear,

We're pleased to read you've had a wonderfull time in our hotel.

Looking forward to welcome you again in the future,

Kind regards,

Betty Devos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This hotel is a great place to base you vacation / business in Bruges. No more than 90 seconds walk from the Vismarkt and then a futhre 90 seconds and you in Burg/Markt. Absolutely brilliant for my wife and I for a birthday / anniversary visit to a UNESCO World heritage site.

Bearing in mind you are in the centre of history the prices of the hotel are more than reasonable. All the staff had fantastic English and were well informed about Bruges and it's attractions. The breakfast was great and a brilliant start to the day with fresh and wholesome food.

I cannot thank the staff of Jan Brito enough for making our short break memorable.

Room Tip: We had a Knight room, which was perfect for what we wanted, which was on the third floor and faced t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 km away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,277 reviews
0.2 km away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.2 km away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
749 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#21 of 97 in Bruges
1,540 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jan Brito? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jan Brito

Address: Freren Fonteinstraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#33 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: ₹ 7,472 - ₹ 20,721 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jan Brito 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Bruges in a 16th-century listed building. Much more than the exterior has been preserved. This impressive mansion has been tastefully refurbished, conserving unique decorations from former centuries: marble mantelpieces, paintings, oak staircase, exposed oak beams. Quietly situated in the heart of Bruges : 20 mtrs from the most romantic and picturesque canals, 200 mtrs from the Burg square (City Hall) and Market square (Belfry). 37 Rooms fully en-suite, hairdryer, telephone, television with English language programs, minibar, free coffee and tea making facilities. Breakfast buffet, lift, bar, wifi, lounge, large renaissance garden with 100 year old beech tree. Public underground parking at only 200 meters (please make a reservation). Since October 2016 the hotel also has a fitness, sauna and hammam in the garden pavillion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jan Brito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jan Brito Hotel
Jan Brito Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing