We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Ter Duinen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ter Duinen
Ranked #6 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
London
2 reviews
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We arrived late from London on Eurostar to find charming little signs on the walls in the hotel showing us the way to our room. We had a lovely room with a view of the canal, which was brilliant for watching the crazy swimmers and cyclists taking part in the triathlon that happened to be on during our stay. The room was clean and spacious.
The hotel isn't slap bang in the middle of town, but Bruges is such a tiny place that it's only a 10 minute walk before you're right in the centre.
Marc and Lieve, the husband and wife team who run the hotel, are unfailingly accommodating and helpful. Don't miss out on the breakfast, which is fantastic. Would wholeheartedly recommend.

Room Tip: Canal view rooms lovely if you can afford them
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,570
    362
    36
    9
    6
See reviews for
350
1,348
35
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nelson
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Location, friendly atmosphere, great advice, wonderful breakfast made this an excellent place to stay. As we had to leave early they were very accommodating over leaving some breakfast out for us. The room was clean and spacious. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleonelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We chose this hotel from the reviews on trip advisor and from looking at the hotel's website so I would like to just say how I found it to help others to make a decision. I booked a 'junior suite' and when my husband and I arrived I thought we'd been put in the wrong room as it was so small (about 14 feet square excluding the lobby and bathroom, although I didn't measure it). We questioned the young man on the desk who said that they didn't have suites (although this was the terminology used on their website) and that this was one of the biggest rooms, he kept stressing that it did have two windows unlike the cheaper rooms. We accepted it as we realised that our expectations were higher and there was nothing we could do about it. The room was clean and comfortable with two small chairs, there was no dressing table and mirror area so everything had to be done in the bathroom. The bathroom was the smallest hotel bathroom I have ever stayed in (the toilet roll holder was the opposite side of the room to the toilet but it didn't matter because you could reach it!) and was incredibly dark. There was a very small space between the toilet and the basin/worktop to get into the bath, there were a lot of hard granite edges and no non-slip surface or mat or handles in the bath so I was a bit nervous getting in and out for a bath or shower (I have slipped in a hotel bath before and had a nasty black eye). However, the bathroom was fully equiped, they have tried to fit everything you need into the small available space. There was a wardrobe area in a lobby to the room and this was spacious but again it was very dark and the full length mirror was smoked. The room was quiet and it had air conditioning if you wanted it but you could also open the windows which looked out on to the road at the front alongside the canal which was nice. There were tea and coffe making facilities in the room which is a plus for European hotels, although they were basic, just 2 tea bags, 2 coffees, 2 milks, 2 sugars although maybe you could get more if you asked. The breakfasts in my opinion were adequate but not memorable, there wasn't much choice and the dishes for museli etc were very small. The only eggs on offer were boiled eggs and when my husband asked it he could have fried eggs he was told 'no there are only boiled available'. The owners were very friendly and explained that as they were in an old building they had to work with space restrictions. We booked a garage parking space with our room, the garage was just up the road and was in a group of about 10 'lock ups' behind some buildings, not a manned car park as I'd wrongly presumed. We were surprised to be asked to park in the open at the end of the plot in front of one of the garages and to leave our car keys at reception so that they could move it if someone needed to get in or out. We were not happy about this and were eventually given one of the garages. The parking was expensive at 16 Euros a night. The location is obviously a plus for some people as it is away from the centre and it can be a pleasant 15-20 minute walk but for me it was just too far to walk on a hot day when I had been walking all day. However, there is a bus stop outside the hotel and the bus takes you into the centre, although we didn't use it. Overall, the hotel is pleasant, clean and small and the owners friendly although we were not offered any help with luggage but for me it's location was just a tad too far out and bearing all this in mind I thought it was far too expensive. I wouldn't stay there again but if you don't mind the walk and don't have high expectations then it might be for you.

Room Tip: pay extra for a junior suite but don't expect one, this will still give you a small room but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzyb47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

This is an excellent family run hotel and I support recent comments on location,helpfulness of owners and superb breakfasts. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidSurrey_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

This beautiful hotel is situated in a quiet area of Bruges overlooking a canal. It is a leisurely 15 minute walk to the centre of the town with cafes, shops and small squares on route. The hotel is charming as are the owners who are welcoming, knowledgeable about the town and very helpful when wanting directions or suggestions. The rooms are very nice, the bed comfortable and the public areas, especially the small courtyard and lounge are delightfulful areas to sit and read. Our room overlooked the canal and even though there is a small road at the front it is not at all noisy. I would definitely stay here again. It is also worth noting it does have a lift.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndallaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.9 km away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
1.1 km away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
1.1 km away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.8 km away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Duinen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Duinen

Property: Hotel Ter Duinen
Address: Langerei 52, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bruges
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,177 - ₹ 16,585
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ter Duinen 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very charming hotel along a beautiful canal in medieval Brugge. Superb buffet breakfast, free wifi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ter Duinen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Duinen Hotel
Ter Duinen Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing