We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Ethical and delicious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of de Buhne

de Buhne
Ranked #125 of 695 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Rennes, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ethical and delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Delighted to find this little organic/ethical restaurant tucked away in the heart of Bruges. Restaurants never come cheap in this city, but the prices here were around average, and all the food - including some quite inventive dishes - was full of flavour and attractively presented. My one criticism is of the refusal to serve tap water, which always strikes me as rather mean. Another quirk is that when 'dessert' is listed on a set menu, this does not mean that you will get a choice; my husband and I were each unexpectedly presented with a different, pre-ordained dessert, but both were delicious in any case. It is also worth being aware that they do not seem to be able to accommodate groups of more than four (at least without prior notice) - a party of five that arrived while we were eating was turned away, perhaps because the waitress/manager did not want to disturb the very peaceful atmosphere by moving tables around. However, those things aside, I have nothing but praise for the place. If we'd found it sooner, we would have got some quiches and pastries to take away for lunch another day.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Abigail_Rennes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    52
    14
    1
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant & good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We pre-booked a table at De Buhne for Good Friday evening via our hotel (Hotel Navarra), and should have given a little more attention to the fact that they don't accept cards - so be aware.

The food was extremely good, delicately flavoured, beautifully presented, and far better than anything in the tourist traps. The range is quite concise (not a massive list but enough for variety), well thought out, responsibly sourced, and reasonably priced. It strikes me as a place where every detail regarding the food and its presentation had been considered, but there is a but!

Despite the quality of the food, and the attentiveness of the staff, the restaurant felt stilted, as if the act of concentrating on serving the customer couldn't be broken by some subtle background music, and this was a great pity. It would have made things complete, and warmer too.

The reverie was broken suddenly, when the bill was presented with a shake of the head when the waitress saw me offering a credit card, and I had to dart out to an ATM. Shame!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FIRESTONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

I really enjoyed my dinner here. The food was delicious and well presented. I had a pumpkin soup, cod, and a lemon tart and it all tasted so fresh. I believe the woman waiting on me may have been the owner and she takes great pride in the food that is served. I would definitely recommend.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank wwbakery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napton-on-the-Hill, United Kingdom
1 review
“For delicious cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Very much enjoyed this quiet restaurant - for the food, rather than atmosphere. The recipes were imaginative, interesting range of ingredients, tasted delicious. Can recommend the scallops, pumpkin soup, duck and quail,

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fantastic food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

had a great meal Saturday, march the 3rd. I had a 3.course vegetarian meal, my boyfriend had meat and fish! it was absolutely fabulous! a recommendation for anyone who loves a good meal with lovely and friendly service! well done!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lejannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed de Buhne also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to de Buhne? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing