We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We skipped lunch and feasted here instead”

Tea-room De Proeverie
Ranked #4 of 27 Coffee & Tea in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Cash Only, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Tea-room "De Proeverie" is an extension of the famous chocolate shop "chocolaterie Sukerbuyc" located opposite, on the same street. It serves cakes and chocolate fantasies and waffles, all made on the premises by family recipes. No pancakes or ice, instead you can savor a whole range of exquisite cakes while enjoying a coffee break by light baroque music.
Florida
Level Contributor
637 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“We skipped lunch and feasted here instead”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We had enjoyed a visit here many, many years ago and it had been fabulous then. It is still fabulous. We each had hot chocolate, which is a do it yourself kit of melted chocolate, hot milk, and whipped cream. This comes with a couple of chocolates from Chocolaterie Sukerbuyc across the street. In addition, in lieu of lunch, we each feasted on a pastry. Mine was a meringue topped with whipped cream and my husband had a layered confection of cake and almond cream. They were incredible - very sweet and filling.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank solomon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    126
    36
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
384 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Fabulous cakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

The cakes, chocolates and drinks were amazing and I would recommend this tea room to all.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank MrMrsHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Chocolate convert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I didn't think there would be enough beer hours in the day to spend time drinking hot chocolate in Bruges but am really glad I did. It's all served up on a platter - a kind of DIY exercise - with a pot of molten chocolate, hot milk and whipped cream, all ready to be mixed together. Top marks all round.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank fussyduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A little slice of heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

If you do nothing else when in Bruges, you must visit this tea rooms. This was our 4th visit and it was just as memorable as the 1st time.
The hot chocolate is to die for, you get a mug of steaming milk, a saucer of melted chocolate, a saucer of cream. You then add the chocolate and cream to the milk for the best hot chocolate ever. An added bonus is the little plate of Belgium Chocolates that they give you. We have always found the staff to be very helpful and polite. The price for this experience is 4 Euro.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a sugar rush!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Found this lovely little tea-room while going on the 'historic walk' around Bruges. The cupcakes in the window caught my wife's eye and we decided to give it a go. We'd heard that here and Bittersweet serve the best hot chocolates in Bruges (trying Bittersweet tomorrow!).

We went early afternoon and the place was very quiet. It was very nice inside and very relaxing after a lot of walking around. Service was friendly and efficient.

I had the hot chocolate and a cupcake and my wife had an earl gray. And a cupcake :-). The hot chocolate came with a selection of chocolates from the chocolate shop across the road (Sukerbuyc/'Sugarbelly'). Everything we had was delicious. The hot chocolate was amazing and the way it was served was very cool (melted dark chocolate to pour into steaming hot milk - and extra whipped cream in case that wasn't decadent enough for you).

Highly recommended although I'm looking forward to comparing this place to Bittersweet. Will see who wins!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arkham0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tea-room De Proeverie also viewed

 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Tea-room De Proeverie? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing