We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ghent River Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$ 131
US$ 128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 144
US$ 132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 122
US$ 119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 107
US$ 95
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Onderbergen(Ghent)(Great Value!)
US$ 93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 177
US$ 161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 153
US$ 146
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,109)
Filter reviews
1,109 results
Traveller rating
326
490
203
69
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
326
490
203
69
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfriday marketriver viewnice breakfast roomnice hotelmarket squarewooden beamsthird floorexecutive roomtop floormini barlarge tvbars and restaurantsshort breaklocation is excellentold buildinghotel barbuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
428 - 433 of 1,109 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2012

The hotel has a great location and is easy to be reached by public transportation. The building looks nice. The room was very basic (we expected some more character based on the discription on the hotels website), but clean (except for a lot of dust on top of the bathroom light...). We noticed after taking a shower that the water didn't run away very well (the room was flooded...), the steamfunction of our shower also did not work. We notified the staff, but the next morning we still had the same issues. Because of the "flood" our room smelled very bad (wet carpet). The breakfast was very good. A lot of choices, but the capacity of the room is a bit too small and the first morning an alarm went off the whole time which was very annoying. Overall, the lack of service makes that we will never return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank felice-harm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed here for the second time. We liked it so much the first time we decided to come back. Spacious room, very clean and a good bed. Despite the location in the city center not too noisy, but close the windows. The staff is helpful. The location couldn't be better, close to shops and historical center. There is a parking garage close by. we payed 10 euro for 24hours. The breakfast is excellent. In the reception area there is a small bar.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anaZaventem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Stayed 10th-13th August 2012.
This place bigs itself up on the net.Upgraded to a twin " executive" room in order to get a kettle and 2 tea bags. The room no 25 on the ground floor was small, no access to half the wardrobe as a bedside table was in the way. No drawers,3 hard wicker chairs, TV no english channel,half the light fittings did not work. When the bathroom lights and fan fused, their remedy- put a standard lamp in the bathroom plugged into the mains!! No bath just a shower that leaked onto the floor. Bar was part of the reception area, manned by the multi-tasking receptionist, no wonder we never saw anyone in it. No local information leaflets. Suana costs 8 euro to use. Dining room good, avoid the bacon and eggs, but the young waiter very pleasant, unlike the reception staff. Unfortunately we had chosen a festival weekend so loud music nightly. Would not go back.

Room Tip: Don't accept room 25, Ask when booking how big the room is and what furniture in it. Pictures on the net do not state what room is shown, some look huge, but what are they. If ours was executive what is a standard room like
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Date of stay 13 & 14th July 2012. I booked through the hotel website, taking a 'Gent stropkes' package which gave us room, breakfast, free admission to the castle, free fries for 2 and a free drink for 2 in the bar. Really good value in comparison to the other similarly rated hotels on Trip Advisor. As per the other reviews, great location.

Checkin - my daughter checked in earlier than I, collected all our bonus stuff that was included in the rate, no identification asked for. When I checked in a couple of hours later, it was handled by a rather disinterested chap. Not an inspiring start.

Our room on the 1st floor up, overlooking the courtyard, was huge, a king bed and a single; large bathroom. The room was lovely and quiet except when the band was playing Saturday night, but they finished before 11 pm so that wasn't a problem. The beds were very comfortable, rooms were spotless. Free wi-fi through the hotel was great.

Breakfast was from 7 - 11 am on weekends; hot food (scrambled eggs and bacon) was very ordinary, looked like it had been sitting in the warmer for a very long time. Plentiful and fresh breads and pastries, fruit, cold meats and cheeses, typical european breakfast. Fresh juice, good coffee, tea makings. There was a good range of yoghurts, but I noticed on the second morning that most of them were out of date.

Bathroom was good, a large bath and a separate walk-in shower. Toiletries hadn't been replaced before we checked in, but as we had our own it wasn't much of an issue for us. They were replaced on the second morning. No hot water on the second morning. We reported it to reception, after half an hour we got dressed and went to breakfast, enquiring on the way to be told there was nothing wrong with it. A courtesy call would have been appreciated. After breakfast we did have hot water, thankfully. On check-out, we were asked if it was ok, and told we needed to run it for a while before the water came through - surely 5 minutes is plenty of time, right???

Also on checkout they tried to double charge me tax - my invoice from their booking website gave the special package rate, plus a separate entry for city tax. The receptionist informed me the quoted price NEVER includes it, even though I had a printed copy to show her the item entitled "city tax". She fixed it for me......

All in all - a very good hotel. If in Ghent, I would definitely stay again. Just ensure you have a copy of your documentation with you, and be prepared for some small hiccups and generally unhelpful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EA59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Every year we looking forward to visit the “Ghent River Hotel”
Great hotel, and a perfect location in one of the most beautiful and historical city’s in Europe.

Room Tip: "Corner suites are large and sunny"
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myrbdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews