We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, average hotel”
Review of Ghent River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ghent River Hotel
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great location, average hotel”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Firstly, the location is brilliant. You must try the Dulle Griet bar nearby and order a Kwak...they take your shoe off you and put it in a basket on the ceiling and you dont get it back until you hand back the glass! Brilliant!

The hotel was OK, certainly very clean and tidy, the view onto the canal was excellent, but people do come sailing by your window so be wary when parading around your room!

I stayed here one night for a business trip and was perfectly adequate, breakfast not too bad but the service wasn't too good. Don't think I'd chose this hotel for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Higher floor the better...get a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruddoug09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    437
    171
    62
    15
See reviews for
123
514
24
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Agra
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

The hotel has a great location and is easy to be reached by public transportation. The building looks nice. The room was very basic (we expected some more character based on the discription on the hotels website), but clean (except for a lot of dust on top of the bathroom light...). We noticed after taking a shower that the water didn't run away very well (the room was flooded...), the steamfunction of our shower also did not work. We notified the staff, but the next morning we still had the same issues. Because of the "flood" our room smelled very bad (wet carpet). The breakfast was very good. A lot of choices, but the capacity of the room is a bit too small and the first morning an alarm went off the whole time which was very annoying. Overall, the lack of service makes that we will never return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felice-harm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zaventem
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed here for the second time. We liked it so much the first time we decided to come back. Spacious room, very clean and a good bed. Despite the location in the city center not too noisy, but close the windows. The staff is helpful. The location couldn't be better, close to shops and historical center. There is a parking garage close by. we payed 10 euro for 24hours. The breakfast is excellent. In the reception area there is a small bar.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anaZaventem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Stayed 10th-13th August 2012.
This place bigs itself up on the net.Upgraded to a twin " executive" room in order to get a kettle and 2 tea bags. The room no 25 on the ground floor was small, no access to half the wardrobe as a bedside table was in the way. No drawers,3 hard wicker chairs, TV no english channel,half the light fittings did not work. When the bathroom lights and fan fused, their remedy- put a standard lamp in the bathroom plugged into the mains!! No bath just a shower that leaked onto the floor. Bar was part of the reception area, manned by the multi-tasking receptionist, no wonder we never saw anyone in it. No local information leaflets. Suana costs 8 euro to use. Dining room good, avoid the bacon and eggs, but the young waiter very pleasant, unlike the reception staff. Unfortunately we had chosen a festival weekend so loud music nightly. Would not go back.

Room Tip: Don't accept room 25, Ask when booking how big the room is and what furniture in it. Pictures on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Date of stay 13 & 14th July 2012. I booked through the hotel website, taking a 'Gent stropkes' package which gave us room, breakfast, free admission to the castle, free fries for 2 and a free drink for 2 in the bar. Really good value in comparison to the other similarly rated hotels on Trip Advisor. As per the other reviews, great location.

Checkin - my daughter checked in earlier than I, collected all our bonus stuff that was included in the rate, no identification asked for. When I checked in a couple of hours later, it was handled by a rather disinterested chap. Not an inspiring start.

Our room on the 1st floor up, overlooking the courtyard, was huge, a king bed and a single; large bathroom. The room was lovely and quiet except when the band was playing Saturday night, but they finished before 11 pm so that wasn't a problem. The beds were very comfortable, rooms were spotless. Free wi-fi through the hotel was great.

Breakfast was from 7 - 11 am on weekends; hot food (scrambled eggs and bacon) was very ordinary, looked like it had been sitting in the warmer for a very long time. Plentiful and fresh breads and pastries, fruit, cold meats and cheeses, typical european breakfast. Fresh juice, good coffee, tea makings. There was a good range of yoghurts, but I noticed on the second morning that most of them were out of date.

Bathroom was good, a large bath and a separate walk-in shower. Toiletries hadn't been replaced before we checked in, but as we had our own it wasn't much of an issue for us. They were replaced on the second morning. No hot water on the second morning. We reported it to reception, after half an hour we got dressed and went to breakfast, enquiring on the way to be told there was nothing wrong with it. A courtesy call would have been appreciated. After breakfast we did have hot water, thankfully. On check-out, we were asked if it was ok, and told we needed to run it for a while before the water came through - surely 5 minutes is plenty of time, right???

Also on checkout they tried to double charge me tax - my invoice from their booking website gave the special package rate, plus a separate entry for city tax. The receptionist informed me the quoted price NEVER includes it, even though I had a printed copy to show her the item entitled "city tax". She fixed it for me......

All in all - a very good hotel. If in Ghent, I would definitely stay again. Just ensure you have a copy of your documentation with you, and be prepared for some small hiccups and generally unhelpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EA59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.8 km away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.5 km away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.4 km away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.4 km away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent River Hotel

Property: Ghent River Hotel
Address: Waaistraat 5, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,936 - ₹ 12,788
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent River Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ghent River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing