We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good city hotel”
Review of Ghent River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ghent River Hotel
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Brussel
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good city hotel”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Verry warm welcome at the reception. Room on ground level with window at inner garden. Standard room, cosy (old town wall in room) and a large bathroom. Perfectly clean. In the middle of the city.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyCityHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    453
    176
    64
    16
See reviews for
127
535
25
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Very nice hotel. The location is perfect in the heart of gent. I would come here again

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orangedax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We were a bit early, but the friendly receptionist checked if our room was available (it was) and
we checked in. The room was nice: quiet and clean. Bathroom with bath and plenty of towels
and other stuff. The breakfast the next morning was huge. Too much to choose from for me, but
everything was there: several kinds of bread, eggs, fresh fruit and yoghurt.

Room Tip: We were staying in 112, a quiet room on the side of the hotel (no river view though)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjoerdsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We'd been staying with family in Germany and decided to stop over in Ghent since it was pretty much on our route back to catch the ferry port in Dunkirk. I'd always wanted to visit the city, so it seemed like a good opportunity.

The hotel is well situated in the historic centre of the city, which was ideal as we wanted to explore as much as we could and we were only staying a couple of nights. I was a bit disappointed not to be staying in the older part of the building as I had been tempted to book by the pictures on the website. We did book late however, so that's possibly our problem!

The breakfast was great, and the room was clean. The mattress was far too soft for our liking, but this is matter of personal taste so I can't really moan about that.

The really disappointing aspect of the stay was the fact that the card-key system didn't seem to work. We discovered this when a family walked into our room as we were taking an afternoon nap before going out in the evening. We'd been asleep for half an hour or so and I thought I could hear someone fiddling with the card lock system. I assumed this must be next door as I wasn't really awake properly... until 2 toddlers walked in! Luckily I was dressed and I ushered the children and the ladies with them out of our room - they apologised profusely and left straight away, but I felt uncomfortable about the fact that anyone could just walk into our room. I did mention this to the receptionist and indicated that I was not at-all happy about it. I was told that the system couldn't let anyone else into the room as each key was set up individually for each room... if that's the case I can only assume this was a mistake made by reception. The staff were pleasant and apologetic, but I didn't feel that the issue was taken seriously. My laptop was with me, so I was concerned about leaving in the room when we went out that night.

I was disappointed with the room for this reason, and it affected the way I felt about the hotel and about the security of the place in general. I probably won't stay there again which is a shame as most things were fine.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anglogermancouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Super friendly, helpful staff. I had a room in the old part of the hotel with a river view. Very quiet. Difficult to find any faults. I will unhesitatingly recommend GRH to my friends.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilJJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.8 km away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.5 km away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.4 km away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
972 reviews
0.6 km away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.4 km away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent River Hotel

Property: Ghent River Hotel
Address: Waaistraat 5, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,681 - ₹ 12,755
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent River Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ghent River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing