We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”
Review of Cremerie Gerard

Cremerie Gerard
Ranked #19 of 31 Dessert in Ghent
Description: Ice cream / waffles / milkshakes / smoothies / hot drinks ... everything home-made and daily-fresh ! Eat-in or take-away
Restaurant details
Description: Ice cream / waffles / milkshakes / smoothies / hot drinks ... everything home-made and daily-fresh ! Eat-in or take-away
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We have been on several occassions to their Sint-Niklaas address and always liked it. In Ghent it is much smaller and the lay-out of the chairs and tables is somewhat unpractical. Their sundaes look great and are clearly made with love. But even though we thought 2 scoops would be little we struggled finishing it. I am affraid their icecream, which is of good taste, is also very 'rich'. As is their whipped cream. We lacked a little bit of 'airiness' in both.
What could have been better is cleaning the tables. As we entered the young waitress was talking relaxed to someone she knew and she took her time to come over and clean the crumbles on the table. Priorities. We also have to point out that some customers also lack good manners as someone left the tap running in the toilets and trew an enormous amount of paper in the toilet. Probably wise that the staff looks into that also from time to time.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark_Daemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Average. Ordered a Dame Noire. Just got two vanilla ice balls and a little bit of chocolate sauce. Chocolate sauce became hard the second it hit the ice instead of remaining liquid for a longer time as you might expect from a well done Dame Blanche. The ice cream itself was alright. Not spectacular but alright.

No cream on top, which was supposed to be from the menu.

Anyhow, the owner will probably react angrily as he did with the other bad reviews and tell me to go somewhere else next time. No worries, I just came here because Nonno was closed.

Thank 11PC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
131maximq, Eigenaar at Cremerie Gerard, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018
Google Translation

Beste,
Met veel aandacht uw middelmatige recensie gelezen.
U mening over ons ijs en chocoladesaus kan ik niet veranderen.
Wel is onze presentatie niet middelmatig te noemen, met een gekoelde ijscoupe en nootjes en chocolade schilfers.
Ook wil ik even vermelden dat op de menukaart nergens staat dat slagroom is inbegrepen, dit staat wel bij de extra's.
Ik reageer op alle recensie's goed en slecht en als u zelf al vermeld dat het een eenmalig bezoek was kan ik hier weinig aan toevoegen buiten u te bedanken voor dit eenmalig bezoek.

Mvg
Quintelier Maxim
Zaakvoerder cremerie Gerard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

I have now visited this place several times. I can confirm the ice cream is excellent. Especially the pistachio (20 eurocents extra for a scoop), my favorite.taste of ice cream.

Good to know is that you will have to pay extra when taking a seat. Takeaway is cheaper.

Soon, they will open a second parlour in the neighborhood of the Gravensteen.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pascal_Coyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
131maximq, Eigenaar at Cremerie Gerard, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thank you for the nice review !
Hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

No, the ice cream is not nice as the other reviewers say. It is avarage and they don't keep the correct temperature.

Another thing: if you buy an ice cream, you can't seat on the terrace outside, even if it is empty. I bought one ice cream and a water and stopped there and someone from inside came and said that I was not authorized because I bought to take away. Very rude for an empty place.

Well, considering that the ice cream is only regular and the treatment given to the customers, I am sure it will not be open on the next summer... Believe me....

And to serve Nespresso coffee is not really a good idea, if want to sell coffee, prepare a nice one.

3  Thank Ricardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
131maximq, Eigenaar at Cremerie Gerard, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017
Google Translation

Beste,
Met veel interesse en vooral met grote ogen deze recensie gelezen.
U bent de allereerste die klachten heeft ivm de smaak en de temperatuur van ons huisgemaakt ijs sinds de opening april 2016.
Deze recensie en slechte commentaar gaat puur en enkel over het feit en uw frustratie dat u niet mocht plaats nemen met een take-away ijsje op ons terras.
Helaas kan het af en toe zijn dat er plaats is op het terras maar wanneer u een take-away ijsje bestelt is dit ook onderworpen aan het btw-tarief van 6%. Wanneer ik u dit tarief aanreken is dit ijsje dus effectief om mee te nemen. Ik heb er ook bewust voor gekozen om een cremerie met verbruikszaal te zijn in het centrum van Gent om zo ook verzorgde ijscoupes te kunnen aanbieden.
Over de nespresso koffie bent u trouwens ook de eerste die klachten heeft, heb er ook bewust voor gekozen om deze koffie te gebruiken.
Misschien had u deze bewuste dag vorige zomer een mindere dag, maar gelukkig voor u zijn er andere cremeries in Gent waar u volgende keer terecht kunt.

Mvg
Quintelier Maxim
Zaakvoerder Cremerie Gerard, nu ook aan het Gravensteen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We had some take away ice creams. My friends had lime sorbet and mango. I had vanilla and praline. All flavour were nice but the lime was excellent, the texture, the flavours, ... yummy

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ojke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cremerie Gerard also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Cremerie Gerard? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing