We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay ”
Review of Chateau de Namur

Chateau de Namur
Ranked #22 of 319 Restaurants in Namur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 19 - US$ 59
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for two days. I liked the surroundings. Peaceful and quiet. Nice walk. The room was clean. We were on the first floor right next to a conference room. Could hear the attendees and that was a bit annoying. The bathroom is spacious though lacks a personal touch. The toiletries are just bare minimum.
Some of the staff members are friendly and helpful. Some could do with a bit of loosening up.
I liked the dinner. Had seafood and it was delicious. The bar has a variety of drinks and is pretty good.
Overall, it was a good stay.

Thank Sadafkarim2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateaudenamur, General Manager at Chateau de Namur, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Dear Guest, Thanks for this review regarding your experience with Château de Namur.
Perched on top of the Citadel, our establishment is a pledge of calm and serenity combining the pleasure of the eyes with that of the table. We appreciate your compliments about the cleanliness and bathroom space and take note of your remarks. We're sorry the double glazing wasn't sufficient for you. Note that we plan big renovations shortly. Thanks for hinting at the bar and quality staff, the young trainees eager to learn and permanently supervised by professionals of the trade. Château de Namur is likewise a good gastronomic address where our chef Axel DEVILLERS proposes a tasty cuisine and full of finesse.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Cédric VANDERVAEREN, General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

If you want to stay in a hotel where the staff fall over themselves, or pander to you noisely don't stay here. Instead you receive quiet, professional, efficient and courteous service in well cared for surroundings with stunning views. The breakfast is very good with a wide range to suit everyone. Comfortable huge bed and we didn't hear a sound in our warm second floor room. Would definitely recommend and return in the future. Also good location to explore the wider area.

Thank Viv2016x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateaudenamur, General Manager at Chateau de Namur, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Dear Guest,
Thanks for this very kind review about Château de Namur.
Perched on top of the Citadel, our establishment is a pledge of calm and serenity combining the pleasure of the eyes with that of the table. All the staff thanks you for your kind comment and is very proud to have been up to it. Thanks for your compliment about the bed and the tasty breakfast for all tastes and appetites.
We're looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future.
Cédric VANDERVAEREN, directeur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Had the set lunch with matching wines here on a foggy Saturday in December. Food and service was very good (I like that the young staff are apprentices in their trade - they try hard and are passionate). We had a slight issue with an under-cooked piece of meat which was handled professionally and did not detract from our overall experience. Views limited due to weather, but again, this did not spoil things for us. Would definitely return!

Thank KatieLouiseV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateaudenamur, Directeur général at Chateau de Namur, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2016

Dear Katie,
Thanks for posting this nice review of your visit to the Chateau De Namur.
Quality and refinement are the guiding principles of the Chateau de Namur. We supply a cooking, prepared with passion and delicacy for a delightful taste experience. We're happy your culinary journey was a success. Thanks for calling attention to our young trainees, eager to learn, permanently supervised by professionals of the trade. Your mention on the beverages is appreciated.
Without any doubt, it will be a shared pleasure to welcome you again in the future.
Cédric VANDERVAEREN, general manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

We had the four courses tasting menu with matched wines. The dishes were all delicious and of a sensible size. The star attraction for us were the matched French wines - Semillion, then Chardonnay then Carignan VV - and not just a glass but topped up till you felt it wise to say thank you no more. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CraigA14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateaudenamur, General Manager at Chateau de Namur, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Dear Craig,
A big thanks for this review related to your culinary experience at Chateau De Namur.
Our hotel is the convenient lair for gourmands and gourmets. Quality and refinement are the guiding principles of our gastronomic restaurant. Our cooking is a subtle blend of French cuisine with hints of "world cuisine". We are happy to know the dishes offered were at your liking. Thanks for the rating assigned and your mention on the beverages.
We would definitely be delighted to count you among our guests one more time. Cédric VANDERVAEREN, director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016

Flew in and drove to Namur to meet a friend. We had some time to burn and stopped in for some morning caffeination. We wanted to sit in the dining room (east facing, nice morning light) but were told that we needed to be in the bar. Large comfortable space, prompt service, good coffee and chocolate. Looks like a nice property to stay.

Thank Gigi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chateau de Namur also viewed

Namur, Namur Province
Namur, Namur Province
 
Namur, Namur Province
Namur, Namur Province
 
Namur, Namur Province
Namur, Namur Province
 

Been to Chateau de Namur? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing