We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel in convenient location”
Review of Hotel Melba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Melba
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bastogne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were pleased to find Hotel Melba on a side street within walking distance of the main city square. Parking was easily found across the street. Check-in was a little odd - we arrived about 30 minutes before check-in and instead of a friendly greeting, we were immediately told that we were checking in too early. Once we got past the check-in process, we found the staff to be friendly and English was excellent.

We booked a luxury suite which consisted of two large rooms - a living area with 2 upholstered chairs, closet to hang clothes and a desk and the bedroom with a bed and desk - overlooking a school. The bathroom was off of the bedroom. The towels were extremely thin and need to be replaced. The room was clean and the mattress was super comfortable.

The location was extremely quiet. Wi-Fi was poor and could use improvement. Breakfast was great - there was a large variety including scrambled eggs, bacon, and potatoes.

We spent 2 nights here while we went on a tour of the Battle of the Bulge. We spent Sunday afternoon and Monday in town. We discovered most museums were closed on these days, which was a big disappointment. This hotel is located near the 101st Airborne War museum but most museums would need to be accessed by car.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJscrapbooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Convenient. Our room #507 was in the new section. Had a nice spacious patio overlooking a school. Clean, modern well appointed but not over the top. Excellent breakfast. Free parking, which was unusual both on the street and behind the hotel. Quick check-in and out. Excellent English skills.

Room Tip: Room 507 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lloyd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Friendly, comfortable and well located, the Melba is modern, unpretentious and efficient. Our room was well appointed and clean without being luxurious but just what we needed for a short stay. Breakfast was adequate but the bar did not seem to function too well. It didnt matter as The Melba is a short walk from the square at the centre of Bastogne where there are numerous restaurants and bars. Parking is easy too.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alistair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Lovely staff
Bedroom warm and comfortable
Great variety for breakfast
Clean throughout.
Great information at reception for traveling around region.
Tv channels were pleasing, great to have some English channels.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank seanmac2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Stayed here with friends while on a war tour of Bastogne.
Nice hotel, good sized clean rooms, good size bathroom with both shower and bath. TV and mini bar if you want it.
Stayed here bed and breakfast, great choice of food and you can help yourself to as much as you want.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking car park are quieter than main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank craice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bastogne
0.6 km away
Le Merceny Motel
Le Merceny Motel
#2 of 6 in Bastogne
212 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Leo At Home
Hotel Leo At Home
#4 of 6 in Bastogne
112 reviews
0.2 km away
Giorgi Hotel Restaurant
Giorgi Hotel Restaurant
#3 of 6 in Bastogne
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 km away
Hotel du Commerce
Hotel du Commerce
#1 of 5 in Houffalize
257 reviews
36.4 km away
Hotel Quartier Latin
Hotel Quartier Latin
#1 of 2 in Marche-en-Famenne
401 reviews
26.9 km away
Hotel L'Amandier
Hotel L'Amandier
#1 of 1 in Libramont
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Melba? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Melba

Address: Avenue Mathieu 49-51, Bastogne 6600, Belgium (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Melba)
Region: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Luxembourg Province > Bastogne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bastogne
Price Range: ₹ 7,086 - ₹ 10,629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Melba 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the centre of Bastogne (Arden) in a pleasant and residential area, the Hotel Melba offers you an absolute quietness, so that your stay is very pleasant. On top of setting, comfort from a world-international hotel and a first-rate substructure, we will accomodate you in a very warm way and with an efficient service. Private carpark, lift, facilities for disabled persons, fitness room, sauna, solarium and a seminar room is at our customers' disposal. Bastogne, Nuts-city, Paris-en-Ardennes, is a dynamic town with 300 shops even open on Sunday. Ideal base for exploring historic sites and the picturesque countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Melba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bastogne
Bastogne Best Western
Best Western Melba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing