We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for the memories, steak!”
Review of CHUMADIA

CHUMADIA
Ranked #58 of 4,098 Restaurants in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 14 - US$ 50
Cuisines: Brazilian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 26 August 2015

My boyfriend and I visited Brussels for 5 days and came across this restaurant by complete mistake...initially. We were trying to find another recommended restaurant however this was a tricky task and we liked the look of this bustling restaurant (at 9pm) We walked in and were greeted by a very welcoming man, whom we now know as the Owner, who sadly advised that there was no space - a reservation is most definitely essential!
We returned two nights later and I can honestly say that it's the best steak we have ever had! The ombiance was warm and friendly and the owner was incredible ants was solely serving everyone in the restaurant in an incredibly effective fashion..
We ordered the Filet Steak, which was initially shown to us on a plate of raw steaks - all different - which was a very strange but amazing way to choose!
We shared a litre bottle of House Rosé (which was a bargain at -17€) and thoroughly enjoyed the simple, but perfectly complementary, sides of salted new potatoes and salad and two very delicious garnishes.
An absolute gem in the Avenue Louise area of Brussels.. Book in advance to avoid disappointment.. We're revisiting on our last night in the city!

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank annabanana152015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2015

After seeing all this positive feedback about this place it was finally time to give it a try. And... its was a big disappointment. There is really nothing special about the meat there. The steak wasn't soft and tender as described in the reviews. Also, 'cevapcici'- the meat dish typical in Serbia, was barley having the taste of cevapcici. There are much better places in Brussels to have great meat, especially cevapcici.

Date of visit: April 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DuLoPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2015 via mobile

Very lovely restaurant. Reservation needed. You won't be disappointed. Certainly try the cote à l' os if you think you can handle it.

Date of visit: June 2015
1  Thank Bart V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2015

the Chumadia is the restaurant I like the most in Brussels. The meat is amazingly tasty, the ambiance is very cosy and the quality/price ratio is unbeatable.

Last time I went, I had the " filet pur " and it was melting in my mouth. Unbelievable

Do not forget to drink the "Juliska" .... but don't take 2 of them or you have to forget to go back home with your car

Date of visit: February 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2015

We have been coming to this restaurant for the last 18mths on a regular basis and the food is always excellent. Alex is fantastic, rushing around serving everyone. His name for my other half is "English Paul". We have brought our friends to try the lovely food, and they all can't believe the size or quality for the money. I usually have the Australia steak which is very generous in size and so juicy. The portions are large but if you love meat you won't be disappointed. Can't say enough good things about this place…… give it a try. Forgot to mention they have a nice courtyard out the back which is really pleasant in the warmer weather.

Date of visit: January 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed CHUMADIA also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to CHUMADIA? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing