We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (461)
Filter reviews
461 results
Traveller rating
18
134
155
68
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
134
155
68
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmetro station rightsmall bathroommanneken pisbrussels midihotel locationanneessenshairdryertrain
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 461 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2010

This hotel is expensive, no matter how cheap it looks like. It is DIRTY as you cannot imagine, smelly, the stuff is unfriendly. The shower is full of hairs, there is no towel for the floor, the toilet better not say. There is NO WARM WATER.
On top of that, the place around is full of thieves. They break into my car, and when I ask the guy in the desk for help, he didn't care at all.
I hated the place, don't go there.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ec_grs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amin L, Gérant at Hotel Barry, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013
Google Translation

bonjour,
je me souviens de vous, si vous n'avez pas aimer bruxelles, cela ne vous autorise pas a nous critiquer en échange
de plus vous étiez les pires clients que nous avions eu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

The front desk attendant was a young man who seemed ashame of his participation in this rotten place. Beside that positive, do yourself a favor an AVOID this URINAL rotten place. Made a reservation for two nights for wife, daugher and myself. Arrived at the Hotel on November 7, 2010. The first impression was terrible. The area around the hotel looked unsafe. Front desk area and adjacent breakfast room looked unclean and wear down lacking basic maintenance. This stop was part of an Amsterdam, Brussels, Paris family vacation. It was a rainy afternoon, however, all room windows where open in the room. Rain and open windows? MMmmm. I closed the windows and left for sight seeing after spending 15 minutes in the room. We noticed a slight smell in the air but with the windows open did not paid too much attention. When we returned in the evening, the stinch of urine was overwhelming. It was impossible to stay in that room. Went downstairs and requested a new room. My request was denied. However, the attendant provided me with some air refreshner tablet that would not make a dent against the strong URINE smell in the room. He got the bag of tablets right there in the front desk which should tell everyone that this is a recurrent problem. I had no other choice than to leave and spent the night in a nearby hotel. My request for a reimbursement of my payment at reservation time was denied by the manager saying that his hotel is not require to meet American standards. He also added that I was a "cheat". I think he insulted all the good people of Belgium with the implication that my request for basic hygine in his smelly hotel was only an American expectation. If you are looking for a budget hotel, this is not a budget hotel. I was looking for a budget hotel and made the mistake of choosing this one. This is a rotten urine dirt hole and you should avoid it, especially if you are traveling with your family.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chicago1052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

This hotel, (actually a flop house) is the most horrible place to stay in Belgium. We had two rooms for two women. My room had a hole in the wall at the baseboard where I watched bugs crawl in and out. I had plenty of time to do this as I was terrified to fall asleep. My shower had hair in it which was not mine. The carpet was stained beyond recognition. To top things off, the light fixure above my sink fell off the wall and INTO THE SINK when I tried to plug in a curling iron. My friend's room didn't have a working toilet and was just as filthy. Yes, the woman screaming in the hallway at 2:30 am was very alarming. When we brought up our concerns to the management (as did Booking.com, which got me nowhere) I was accused of ripping the light fixture off the wall! The "gentleman" then made comments regarding the United States government and President Obama. We immediately left. We had booked for 3 days and only stayed there 1. They refused to refund the 2 nights we did not stay there, even though they re-rented our rooms. Please, save yourself some trouble and DO NOT STAY HERE! I have photos to back up this entire stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TJS1632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

What can i possibly say. Unless you like to have to climb over rubbish bags to get up the stairs, snails on the ceiling, filthy carpets, a melted phone, a room that STINKS, a shower that is falling apart and a general disregard for a guests comfort/safety/health then for the love of god, DO NOT EVEN CONSIDER STAYING IN THIS HELL HOLE!!!

Just knowing the business is allowed to function makes me so so angry. I hope the place goes out of business fast.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank herbert_lemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Stayed here as part of a university residential. Arrived after a 12 hour coach trip to discover a fight in the square outside the hotel - Great First Impression!!! A few of us had already raised converned about the accomodation prior our departure after reading some of the reviews on trip advisor.

When we arrived there were about 20 rubbish bags outside the hotel, so our concerns had probably been passed onto the hotel. I was in room 11, which was a single room. I took the stairs to the first floor rather than the lift and saw a dirty cotton bud on the third step up (another great first impression) this cotton bud remained on the stairs during the whole of our four days in the city.

I walked into the room and felt a sinking feeling. The room was small, dark and had a view of a brick wall out of the window. It seemed that following our concerns the hotel had made a effort, as everyone in our group of 20 had new mattresses and sheets and our bathrooms had been cleaned. However, the rooms are very depressing. When returning to my room in the afternoon / evening I found that my bedroom window was left open. I did ask reception if they could leave this closed and to give credit where it is due the gentleman I spoke to was very polite and my window remained closed from then on.

The area around the hotel is very urban and was very unsafe. The majority of our group were women and it felt very unsafe waliking back from the Grand Place in the evening.

When spending time in the room (which I didn't do very often!) a noise could be heard, which I assumed was the pipes in the corner of the room but on the last night we discovered that this noise was the sound of cockroaches!!!! The hotel has various traps located around the hotel.

Overall, I would NEVER stay at Hotel Barry again and was more than happy to depart.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clare7645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews