We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I think we could book something better...”
Review of Hotel Barry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Barry
Ranked #173 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Reviewed 22 February 2011

The external is super, it seems to be a very nice hotel!
Inside... oh my God... bad smell (smoke? or simply something dirty?), cold welcome from the staff... rooms are spacious but very dark and - sorry - they are not clean. In fact I found a hair in the shower (bleah) and the carpet seems to be quite dirty.
Breakfast is ok... it could be better, but it also could be worse, so that's ok (milk or tea, bread, marmalade).
Location is fantastic, as you can easily reach (5 minutes walking) the historical city center or the train station (10 minutes walking).
We loved Bruxelles but we did not like the hotel, therefore if we'll come back to the city, we will for sure change place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goodtraveller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 142 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2010

This hotel is expensive, no matter how cheap it looks like. It is DIRTY as you cannot imagine, smelly, the stuff is unfriendly. The shower is full of hairs, there is no towel for the floor, the toilet better not say. There is NO WARM WATER.
On top of that, the place around is full of thieves. They break into my car, and when I ask the guy in the desk for help, he didn't care at all.
I hated the place, don't go there.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ec_grs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amin L, Gérant at Hotel Barry, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013
Google Translation

bonjour,
je me souviens de vous, si vous n'avez pas aimer bruxelles, cela ne vous autorise pas a nous critiquer en échange
de plus vous étiez les pires clients que nous avions eu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

The front desk attendant was a young man who seemed ashame of his participation in this rotten place. Beside that positive, do yourself a favor an AVOID this URINAL rotten place. Made a reservation for two nights for wife, daugher and myself. Arrived at the Hotel on November 7, 2010. The first impression was terrible. The area around the hotel looked unsafe. Front desk area and adjacent breakfast room looked unclean and wear down lacking basic maintenance. This stop was part of an Amsterdam, Brussels, Paris family vacation. It was a rainy afternoon, however, all room windows where open in the room. Rain and open windows? MMmmm. I closed the windows and left for sight seeing after spending 15 minutes in the room. We noticed a slight smell in the air but with the windows open did not paid too much attention. When we returned in the evening, the stinch of urine was overwhelming. It was impossible to stay in that room. Went downstairs and requested a new room. My request was denied. However, the attendant provided me with some air refreshner tablet that would not make a dent against the strong URINE smell in the room. He got the bag of tablets right there in the front desk which should tell everyone that this is a recurrent problem. I had no other choice than to leave and spent the night in a nearby hotel. My request for a reimbursement of my payment at reservation time was denied by the manager saying that his hotel is not require to meet American standards. He also added that I was a "cheat". I think he insulted all the good people of Belgium with the implication that my request for basic hygine in his smelly hotel was only an American expectation. If you are looking for a budget hotel, this is not a budget hotel. I was looking for a budget hotel and made the mistake of choosing this one. This is a rotten urine dirt hole and you should avoid it, especially if you are traveling with your family.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chicago1052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

This hotel, (actually a flop house) is the most horrible place to stay in Belgium. We had two rooms for two women. My room had a hole in the wall at the baseboard where I watched bugs crawl in and out. I had plenty of time to do this as I was terrified to fall asleep. My shower had hair in it which was not mine. The carpet was stained beyond recognition. To top things off, the light fixure above my sink fell off the wall and INTO THE SINK when I tried to plug in a curling iron. My friend's room didn't have a working toilet and was just as filthy. Yes, the woman screaming in the hallway at 2:30 am was very alarming. When we brought up our concerns to the management (as did Booking.com, which got me nowhere) I was accused of ripping the light fixture off the wall! The "gentleman" then made comments regarding the United States government and President Obama. We immediately left. We had booked for 3 days and only stayed there 1. They refused to refund the 2 nights we did not stay there, even though they re-rented our rooms. Please, save yourself some trouble and DO NOT STAY HERE! I have photos to back up this entire stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TJS1632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

What can i possibly say. Unless you like to have to climb over rubbish bags to get up the stairs, snails on the ceiling, filthy carpets, a melted phone, a room that STINKS, a shower that is falling apart and a general disregard for a guests comfort/safety/health then for the love of god, DO NOT EVEN CONSIDER STAYING IN THIS HELL HOLE!!!

Just knowing the business is allowed to function makes me so so angry. I hope the place goes out of business fast.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank herbert_lemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
#93 of 198 in Brussels
704 reviews
0.8 km away
La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels
0.8 km away
The Moon Hotel
The Moon Hotel
#143 of 198 in Brussels
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Galia
Hotel Galia
#117 of 198 in Brussels
378 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#67 of 198 in Brussels
1,016 reviews
1 km away
easyHotel Brussels City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barry? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barry

Address: Place Anneessens 25, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: ₹ 4,213 - ₹ 8,101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Barry 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO HOTEL BARRY In the heart of Brussels, the HOTEL BARRY is ideally located for business leisure or shopping. Hotel situated front of the metro anneessens, the GRAND PLACE with is superb architecture, renewed restaurants, international atmosphere and charming little streets is just few minutes walk. Near North-Central- Midi Stations, airport and easy parkings. Parking spaces reserved for the hotel are available on request. Our staff offers you a warm welcome and will be at your service to ensure your stay is a pleasant one. All within classical yet comfortable surroundings. Our 48 comfortable rooms comme fully equipped with shower, toilet, stellite tv and direct telephone line. Full internet facility is also available to our guests. We provide the highest quality service at every competitive prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Barry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barry Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing