We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All fur coat & no knickers”
Review of Warwick Brussels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Warwick Brussels
Ranked #53 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Reviewed 3 August 2012

My partner and I recently visited this hotel for a city break. The location is excellent in that the train station is approximately 200m from the hotel and it is within very close (walking) proximity to a number of tourist spots. Previous reviews on this hotel mentioned the amount of 'bums' or ' le clochard' as they're known locally, to be honest i don't think this is restricted to the area around the hotel, we agreed that we'd never seen so many vagrants in any other city....And i'm originally from Glasgow!

On first impressions the hotel is fantastic, the lobby is quite opulent and there is an air of superiority in the surroundings, It was also immaculately clean. Check in was relatively pain free although the computer kept crashing.

The room was tiny, there were dirty marks all over the walls, the bed was comfortable although i wasn't overly impressed with the cushion covers or throw, the covers were dirty and the throw had what appeared to be chewing gum attached to it. There was a large chip out of the bathroom mirror, a chunk of tile had come out above the bath exposing a screw (granted it would have been impossible to harm oneself on it; but aesthetically, very poor).

Housekeeping were very efficient, complimentary toiletries were of an average standard, towels of a good size. Beds made and floor hoovered daily. As a British couple we are used to having complimentary tea and coffee making facilities when we visit hotels....Don't expect it of the Royal Windsor, unless you're willing to pay 8 Euro per day for the privilege, which i think is just ridiculous.

I think the main thing we took away from this hotel is that they market themselves as 5* and provide a maximum of 3* facilities, i thought the point was you paid a 5 * price for the conveniences at the outset, so you didn't have to keep paying out for added extras!

All in all, we wouldn't stay here again, really not worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eternaloptimist79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,320 - 1,324 of 2,727 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2012

My other half booked this via the internet 5months prior to our stay. We would definitely come back. We stayed for 3 nights from the 12th - 15th July 2012. Hotel was just a short walk from the central station and was easy to find. We were welcomed by staff on our arrival at reception and check-in was no problem at all. They had upgraded us to a business suite free of charge which was a very nice suprise. We were then showed to our room whilst a staff member carried our luggage. The room was lovely and clean. Television with english channels, tea and coffee, towels, bathrobes etc. Housekeeping was brilliant. We had clean sheets, towels and the bed was made everyday. The hotel itself is in the centre of the town which was brilliant for us. Just a short walk to the grande place and all the bars and restaurants. We didn't want to leave.

The only thing to watch out for is the pre-authorisation on the debit/credit card you use. Its 50euros a day. They pre-authorise your card on the day you are due to arrive and as long as you haven't used the mini-bar or damaged any thing you get that money back a week after you have checked out. However, we didnt know this until we arrived back in England. This wasn't stated on the website or wasn't mentioned when we checked in.

Overall though the hotel was lovely and we would definitely return again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

There's nothing special here, you are right next to the tourist trap that is the Grand Place. The area of town is actually very dirty and littered with bums and people screaming at themselves in whatever language they can, high on drugs. The hotel is ok and offers great room rates if you don't include the 25 Euro a night parking. The service is average, nothing special and the rooms are the standard European rooms that are small and attempt at Air Conditioning. Keep in mind you are in a tourist trap area so always ask what the cost is for everything, nothing is free. The beds are comfortable and the pillows are very plush. The walls are very very thin and the smoking floors tend to smell like bars all day long. I contemplated moving to another room but just bit the bullet and slept with the bar patrons. I highly suggest not to go out at night as you might get gang raped or jumped. I'm sure if you are looking for the score on drugs, this is the spot to be, as the little park next to the hotel is full of insanity. I would suggest to stay further outside of the city center and go see the many museums. Stay away from spending any money near the Grand Place! It's a trap!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AliGard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis V, General Manager at Warwick Brussels, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Dear Aligard,

We would like to thank you for having taken time to share your feedback with the Tripadvisor travellers.

We read your comment with a great attention and I was surprised to learn that you have been disappointed by the surroundings of the hotel and mainly the Grand Place area. That’s true that Brussels, as any other big city, comes alive at night . We do care about our guests’ wellbeing in all circumstances and we would like to thank you sharing your concern with us. We sincerely hope that this resentment towards the city centre of Brussels didn’t spoil your feeling and your appreciation of our hotel.

We look forward to your return so that you might give us the opportunity to prove our commitment to you. Meanwhile, we all remain at your service.

Kind regards

Louis Vanheusden
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Great location, right between central station and grand place.
Friendly staff.
Quiet room

great little bread and cheese shop over the road for takeaway lunch.

Requested a tea/coffee maker, this never arrived

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tom and Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis V, Directeur général at Warwick Brussels, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Dear Tom and Paula B,
We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at Royal Windsor Grand’Place, its central location and the friendliness of our staff. Your post is very motivating for them and we will be pleased to welcome you again in our hotel.
Sincerely Yours,
Louis Vanheusden
Regional General Manager Brussels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

1i booked this hotel last minute. We were welcomed by attentive staff on reception who arranged for us to be shown our room. The room was comfortable and well appointed. The locarion is central for vsitiing the majority of the sight seeing locations. Breakfast was exceptionally good value for money. We have stayed in the hotel preciously a few years ago and the standards remain very high.

Room Tip: Rooms on the sde of the hotel are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis V, Directeur général at Warwick Brussels, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear David T,
We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at Royal Windsor Grand Place. Your post is very motivating for our staff and we will be more than pleased to welcome you again in our hotel.
Sincerely,

Louis Vanheusden
Regional General Manager Brussels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#69 of 198 in Brussels
2,838 reviews
0.2 km away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
0.2 km away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 198 in Brussels
2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
0.1 km away
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
0.8 km away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Brussels? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Brussels

Address: Rue Duquesnoy 5, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly Royal Windsor Hotel)
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: ₹ 8,852 - ₹ 33,731 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Warwick Brussels 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and sophisticated, the Warwick Brussels boasts the best location in Brussels. Just off the world-famous Grand Place and only 150 meters from the “Square” congress centre, this Brussels hotel is within walking distance from Brussels' Central Station, the Antique Market on the Sablon, the Royal Covered Galleries and Brussels' Royal Palace Gardens. Brussels' Zaventem Airport is only a 20-minute journey away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Warwick Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Windsor Brussels
Hotel Royal Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing