We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food great service”
Review of Le Roy d'Espagne

Le Roy d'Espagne
Reserve with
Le Roy d'Espagne is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #629 of 4,071 Restaurants in Brussels
Price range: US$ 6 - US$ 32
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: After the 1695 bombardment left a large part of the buildings on the Grand-Place in ruins, the guilds were responsible for its reconstruction. The baker’s guild rebuilt the Roy d’Espagne at number 1, Grand Place, in 1697. The patron-saint of bakers, Saint Aubert’s bust can still be seen right above the main entry, watching over his artisans. On the second floor, Charles II’s bust ornates the facade and gives his name to the building. At the time Charles II was king of Spain and sovereign of the Southern Netherlands, geogra-phically comprising Belgium of today. The building, having suffered during the French Revo-lution, was in terrible condition, but was restored in 1902 under the influence of then mayor of Brussels : Charles Buls. Having been a cafe and afterwards an ironmongery, of which the gallery remains on the first floor, finaly exercing its previous vocation in 1954. This side of the Grand’Place offers the most glamorous view of what Jean Cocteau named « world’s most beautifull theater ». The Estaminet, our private dining hall is located on the second floor, which allows an even better view to savor for those lucky enough to dine there.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Whilst I wouldn't go wild about the food but the setting more than makes up for it. Evening is best when the square is illuminated and full of people to watch.

Thank Pete8761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wedoobox, Responsable relations clients at Le Roy d'Espagne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Pete8761,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review here on TripAdvisor. The square sure is beautiful when it's illuminated and we're happy you had the opportunity to enjoy it at le Roy d'Espagne. We hope to see you again soon.

Have a very nice day,
Le Roy d'Espagne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,004)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 1,004 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

Is is a good spot with a great view trough the grand place, but infurtunently the meet was horrible.

Thank Gil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wedoobox, Responsable relations clients at Le Roy d'Espagne, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello Gil J,

Thank you for your visit and nice comments about the location. We're sorry to hear the meat wasn't to your liking. We'd ha ve loved you to call a waiter to have another piece or maybe the cooking wasn't to your liking? We usually have positive comments about our meat.

Have a nice day,
Le Roy d'Espagne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

I went to this place after dinner with a friend and we had two drinks each (a Grand Marnier, a tequila and two glasses of Porto for a total 30 euros +). At around midnight, a while after asking for the bill, we decided to leave. As the waiter who had served us was no longer around, we walked towards a small counter, where another waiter was standing and we paid our bill. As we walked out, another waiter addressed us, asking us if we had paid. We said yes and kept walking. He went back inside, then came after us shouting, right in the middle of the Grand Place: "Did you pay? Who did you pay to?"
We could have walked away, but we didn't. We stopped instead, and the man started asking us to describe the waiter we had paid to, then he wanted to see our receipt. I found it in my wallet and showed it to him. He did not apologise and just walked away, to which I said this is not the way clients should be treated to which he gave me a very impolite answer. I decided to go back in and look for a manager. He shouted after me: "Where are you going? I am the manager". I walked inside anyway, and found the waiter I had paid my bill to. He looked very embarrassed for his colleague's behaviour. His colleague, on the other hand, kept addressing me and saying, in front of everyone: "I am the manager, he is just a waiter!" As I left with my friend, this person kept watching us, even from the window.
Nothing like this ever happened to me before and I was in shock. Shouting after clients and following them outside a restaurant, not even apologising for accusing them of not paying, is absolutely not acceptable and a staff like that person should not be allowed to work in a respectable restaurant.
I wrote to the restaurant, attaching the receipts, to flag the waiter/manager's behaviour and I received no answer. I am disgusted and advise anyone else who is treated like this by staff in this restaurant to report them.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank TizianaC49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wedoobox, Responsable relations clients at Le Roy d'Espagne, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear TizianaC49,

First of all we'd like to thank you for taking the time to write this review, which is always useful to improve the quality of our services.

We sincerely regret that your experience with us did not happen as you would have liked.

Nevertheless, we're a bit surprised by your comment because after investigation it appears that the story has not quite unrolled the way you have explained...

First of all it is true that more and more customers are "distracted" and forget to pay their additions. It's an unfortunate reality that we could do without.

Our manager tried to have a clear and constructive communication with you to explain the situation but obviously you were not willing to listen to it.

Your companion was even insulting him in Italian thinking that our manager didn't understand!

We really pay attention to the reviews our customers leave on TripAdvisor as they serve us regularly to better ourselves, our service or attitudes of our staff.

We have the feeling your opinion was written right after the heat of the moment which would explain your angry tone.

We sincerely believe that with a little more listening on your part at the time of the matter it would have been settled in... 30 seconds.

We hope that other TripAdvisor readers will be able to make their own opinions based on our response. Isn't that what TripAdvisor is made for?

Have a nice day,
Le Roy d'Espagne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

Best place for your Belgian food dinner. Excellent jamboneau ham. Friendly staff and good service. Bé recommanded

Thank BoardingPass817046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wedoobox, Responsable relations clients at Le Roy d'Espagne, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Hello Bill V,

Thank you so much for your excellent review. We're very happy your experience was to your liking and that you liked the jamboneau :-).

We hope to see you again very soon. Have a nice day,
Le Roy d'Espagne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

We had had a long day in Brussels. We had been on and around the Grande Place all day and been stung before by poor service and badly overpriced average food at other establishments.

At Le Roy d’Espagne when we previously visited we had seen and watched a young lady labouring hard, applying new gold leaf with a small paintbrush around the windows. We were looking at her work as it had been a few years since we had visited Brussels. The gold leaf in the Grande Place is amazing.

We have previously been to this place for just a drink and decided this time that we would eat. We were greeted by Patrick who offered a warm and friendly welcome.

We were seated and we ordered Spaghetti Bolognese, Lasagne Bolognese, Fish and Chips, a burger and a bottle of red house wine, two Coca-Colas and a Panache beer.

Our drinks were brought practically immediately and when taking our order Patrick explained that there might be a short delay as it was close to 6 PM in the evening and they were extremely busy. He was very pleasant and asked us about us looking at the gold leaf.

Food arrived. It was piping hot could not be faulted and tasted good.

We asked for our bill and once again Patrick brought the bill and also the card machine.

The restaurant was extremely busy, there were large groups of people eating here however the service was good. Thank you Patrick!

1  Thank julieleejorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wedoobox, Responsable relations clients at Le Roy d'Espagne, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Hello julieleejorge,

Thank you for taking the time to write your detailed review. We love it when our customers are happy and provide us with aditionnal information. We'll make sure Patrick hears about your review :-).

Have a great day,
Le Roy d'Espagne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Roy d'Espagne also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Le Roy d'Espagne? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing