We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW, excellent choice for Brussels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel
Ranked #21 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I was in Brussels for business and decided to stay in this Hotel mainly due to the positive reviews on this media and ofcourse the good reputation of the Starwood brand. The rooms are excellent, modern, right temperature, good working AC, lovely soft beds, large TV, large showerhead, free Wifi (strong signal) and very educated/professional staff. Very close to the Hotel is a Square called Place Jourdan with lovely restaurants. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stalenbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

964 - 968 of 1,788 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2012

The room was very spacious and pleasant, nice beds, strong wifi signal throughout the hotel. The lobby and bar were a bit too modern to my taste though. The hotel goes to great lengths to be green. Centrally located in the European quarter. The happy hour is split in two parts which needs some getting used to. Restaurant is self-service. Bar prices a tad on the high side. All in all recommendable.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the square. Traffic is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coennie, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Hi Jyster,

Thanks for taking the time to write these comments!
Glad you liked the room size, design, free wifi, beds etc. Yes the hotel design is quite modern but hopefully too modern for anybody's taste! We have some great cosy corners with a fire place, lots of games, comfy seats and an excellent resident DJ to keep you entertained on Wednesday's and Thursdays. You pay 2.50 euros for a beer and 3.50 for a wine which I consider very reasonable. Let me know if you find a better alternative in the area!

All in all I do hope you will come back soon. Wishing you a-lovely day!

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This hotel is perfectly placed for anyone in Brussels to do business with the EU Commission, Council and Parliament, which are all within a few minutes walk. The Eurostar station is 20/25 minute on the metro; more or less by taxi, depending on traffic. The old town with restaurants and other attractions is about 20 minutes walk away. So, it's well located. My room was also very good: smart, modern clean, well furnished and comfortable. Everything you could reasonably expect in a good business hotel.
Those are the good bits. The bad, and it was pretty bad, are the breakfast arrangements, which are simply awful. Nothing hot is served, just pre-packaged cereals, pots of yoghurt, a few sad looking slices of processed cheese, coffee from a machine, etc. If you can bear to eat any of this stuff you can't sit at a table, there aren't any. The choice is to sit on a low sofa and balance a tray on your lap or sit at the bar looking at beer pumps. This set up wouldn't be tolerated in a budget hotel and is not good enough for the prices charged by Aloft.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Torrepinerolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coennie, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Hi Torrepinerolo,

You have really taken the time to write some constructive and good feedback for us. Many thanks for doing so; highly appreciated!
It seems you overall had a good experience with us, liking the location, the rooms and hopefully also the service.
Breakfast does come back as feedback regularly and trust me that we are looking for longer term sollutions that fit our guests well. Let me at least explain why we have made the choice of our current setup. Our breakfast packages are either 6 or 10 euro's whereas our direct competitors in Brussels charge between 20 and 30 euros, even if you will only have a coffee & croissant which in those locations is often a large source of complaints. Instead we try to offer solid options for those that want a little or for others that want more. The food selection covers fresh baked croissants, pain au chocolat, cereals, bread rolls, cheeses and charcutery, fruit, juice, fresh coffee and a number of other things - all things we believe most people value having in the morning. As said, we continue to look for longer term sollutions. Bare with us as we want to make it work!

I do hope that the other factors that had a positive influence on your stay will convince you to come back and enjoy some more Aloft Buzz.

Wishing you an easy breezy day!

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Stayed here during December whilst in Brussles on business. Good location for European parliment but a taxi or metro away from the tourist area.
Rooms were modern & clean. The free bottled water was a nice touch. Beds were nice and comfortable. They also offered a reduction on your bill if you went without a daily maid service.
The hotel bar was a nice place to relax in the evening. Different offers each night, happy hours, DJ's etc...
The selfservice quickstop cafe was an excellent idea, you could grab different items for between 6 and 10 euro which you could either eat in or take out. We often took the items to our meetings. Free pastries, fruit, yogurts etc.... In the evenings they did Pizzas and salads and sandwiches, ideal for an evening snack.
All the staff were helpfull and looked like they enjoyed working at the aloft.
I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coleyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coennie, Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Hi Coleyw,

Spot on!
Our Make A Green Choice Program is an initiative to save on water, linen, cleaning products and energy to clean your room if you do not feel this is necessary. Sure, it helps our re:fresh team to clean less rooms as well, however in order to be clear that this is not only a money saving exercise we give you a 5 euro voucher in return. This can be redeemed at the Wxyz bar or refuel for food and beverages. You can also choose to exchange it for SPG points, donate it to Unicef or get a "plant a tree kit". The choice is up to you!

Hope to see you again soon and have an easy breezy day.

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

My adult son and I spent four nights at the Aloft hotel over the Holiday Break and thought it had everything we needed at a reasonable price (81 Euros per night total for a "twin" room with prepaid holiday package). We ended up in Paris and London later on in the trip and in comparison, this was the best value. It was spacious, had two full sized "twin" beds, and in-room safe with power outlet, large TV with AV plug ins, and an empty in-room fridge, and was very new and clean. The decor was modern and minimal, and the beds were comfortable. They even came with the French "Lincoln log" pillows if you want to try those.

The staff was friendly, efficient, helpful, and were fluent in English. Check in was fast (everything was already in their system from our online booking). We did read some comments about the noisy bar, so requested a quiet room in our online reservations - and we ended up with the last room on the third floor farthest away from the bar! It overlooked the quiet side street, so overall a very quiet room.

The location is somewhat inconvenient, but it was only about a block away from the Metro station, and about 10-15 minutes ride to the center of the historic area. We ended up taking a couple of day trips to Bruges and Antwerp (both easy and worthwhile) from the Central station, so it really didn't matter much.

A few other random thoughts: As with most European and Asian hotels, there's a master power switch at the entry to the room. This particular switch was a little more difficult to figure out (it's quite stiff and only part of the room key is inserted - see picture). We came from the airport and arrived at the Schuman station (by bus) in the dark. It was at a big traffic circle with multiple out-branching streets, and the map posted on a pole at one of the intersections was a great help. Look for "Froissart" street (on a sign posted on the nearest building wall), and the big "aloft" and "HOTEL" lights on the side of the aloft building will be apparent about a block away from the traffic circle down the first street.

We didn't get breakfast, visit the bar, or buy anything from their convenience store, so don't have any useful comments concerning those.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chestnutmash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.5 km away
Thon Hotel EU
Thon Hotel EU
#14 of 199 in Brussels
1,558 reviews
0.9 km away
Courtyard Brussels EU
Courtyard Brussels EU
#5 of 199 in Brussels
187 reviews
0.8 km away
MAS Residence
MAS Residence
#2 of 199 in Brussels
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Radisson RED Brussels
Radisson RED Brussels
#2 of 15 in Ixelles
479 reviews
2.1 km away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 15 in Ixelles
1,065 reviews
0.3 km away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#10 of 199 in Brussels
1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel

Address: Place Jean Rey, Brussels 1040, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: ₹ 5,132 - ₹ 21,241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tune it up in the capital of Europe. Tuned into modern day expectations with open loft-inspired approach, tech-savvy features and self-service options, Aloft Brussels Schuman gives an innovative concept to early adopters travelling for business or leisure. Autonomy and flexibility are key: our guests can fully customize their stay, from choosing to grab & go anytime, anywhere, to mixing up work and play in our free-flowing re:mix space. The rooms are modular, comfortable, and can also become an open-plan urban office in an instant. Where others imitate, Aloft Brussels continues to break new grounds, supporting up and coming music talents with a vibrant Live @ Aloft programming in W XYZ bar and offering a platform for creative entrepreneurs to showcase their creations to our guests in the re:mix lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing