We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,857)
Filter reviews
1,857 results
Traveller rating
971
699
125
36
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
971
699
125
36
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsschuman metro stationfree wifileopold parkplace jourdanmaison antoineeuropean quartereu areaeu institutionsfunky hotellarge tveuropean commissioncomfortable bedgreat showerwalk in showercity centrereception deskcroissants
Filter
Updating list...
996 - 1,001 of 1,857 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The room was very spacious and pleasant, nice beds, strong wifi signal throughout the hotel. The lobby and bar were a bit too modern to my taste though. The hotel goes to great lengths to be green. Centrally located in the European quarter. The happy hour is split in two parts which needs some getting used to. Restaurant is self-service. Bar prices a tad on the high side. All in all recommendable.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the square. Traffic is noisy.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coennie, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Hi Jyster,

Thanks for taking the time to write these comments!
Glad you liked the room size, design, free wifi, beds etc. Yes the hotel design is quite modern but hopefully too modern for anybody's taste! We have some great cosy corners with a fire place, lots of games, comfy seats and an excellent resident DJ to keep you entertained on Wednesday's and Thursdays. You pay 2.50 euros for a beer and 3.50 for a wine which I consider very reasonable. Let me know if you find a better alternative in the area!

All in all I do hope you will come back soon. Wishing you a-lovely day!

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This hotel is perfectly placed for anyone in Brussels to do business with the EU Commission, Council and Parliament, which are all within a few minutes walk. The Eurostar station is 20/25 minute on the metro; more or less by taxi, depending on traffic. The old town with restaurants and other attractions is about 20 minutes walk away. So, it's well located. My room was also very good: smart, modern clean, well furnished and comfortable. Everything you could reasonably expect in a good business hotel.
Those are the good bits. The bad, and it was pretty bad, are the breakfast arrangements, which are simply awful. Nothing hot is served, just pre-packaged cereals, pots of yoghurt, a few sad looking slices of processed cheese, coffee from a machine, etc. If you can bear to eat any of this stuff you can't sit at a table, there aren't any. The choice is to sit on a low sofa and balance a tray on your lap or sit at the bar looking at beer pumps. This set up wouldn't be tolerated in a budget hotel and is not good enough for the prices charged by Aloft.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Torrepinerolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coennie, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Hi Torrepinerolo,

You have really taken the time to write some constructive and good feedback for us. Many thanks for doing so; highly appreciated!
It seems you overall had a good experience with us, liking the location, the rooms and hopefully also the service.
Breakfast does come back as feedback regularly and trust me that we are looking for longer term sollutions that fit our guests well. Let me at least explain why we have made the choice of our current setup. Our breakfast packages are either 6 or 10 euro's whereas our direct competitors in Brussels charge between 20 and 30 euros, even if you will only have a coffee & croissant which in those locations is often a large source of complaints. Instead we try to offer solid options for those that want a little or for others that want more. The food selection covers fresh baked croissants, pain au chocolat, cereals, bread rolls, cheeses and charcutery, fruit, juice, fresh coffee and a number of other things - all things we believe most people value having in the morning. As said, we continue to look for longer term sollutions. Bare with us as we want to make it work!

I do hope that the other factors that had a positive influence on your stay will convince you to come back and enjoy some more Aloft Buzz.

Wishing you an easy breezy day!

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Stayed here during December whilst in Brussles on business. Good location for European parliment but a taxi or metro away from the tourist area.
Rooms were modern & clean. The free bottled water was a nice touch. Beds were nice and comfortable. They also offered a reduction on your bill if you went without a daily maid service.
The hotel bar was a nice place to relax in the evening. Different offers each night, happy hours, DJ's etc...
The selfservice quickstop cafe was an excellent idea, you could grab different items for between 6 and 10 euro which you could either eat in or take out. We often took the items to our meetings. Free pastries, fruit, yogurts etc.... In the evenings they did Pizzas and salads and sandwiches, ideal for an evening snack.
All the staff were helpfull and looked like they enjoyed working at the aloft.
I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coleyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coennie, Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Hi Coleyw,

Spot on!
Our Make A Green Choice Program is an initiative to save on water, linen, cleaning products and energy to clean your room if you do not feel this is necessary. Sure, it helps our re:fresh team to clean less rooms as well, however in order to be clear that this is not only a money saving exercise we give you a 5 euro voucher in return. This can be redeemed at the Wxyz bar or refuel for food and beverages. You can also choose to exchange it for SPG points, donate it to Unicef or get a "plant a tree kit". The choice is up to you!

Hope to see you again soon and have an easy breezy day.

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

My adult son and I spent four nights at the Aloft hotel over the Holiday Break and thought it had everything we needed at a reasonable price (81 Euros per night total for a "twin" room with prepaid holiday package). We ended up in Paris and London later on in the trip and in comparison, this was the best value. It was spacious, had two full sized "twin" beds, and in-room safe with power outlet, large TV with AV plug ins, and an empty in-room fridge, and was very new and clean. The decor was modern and minimal, and the beds were comfortable. They even came with the French "Lincoln log" pillows if you want to try those.

The staff was friendly, efficient, helpful, and were fluent in English. Check in was fast (everything was already in their system from our online booking). We did read some comments about the noisy bar, so requested a quiet room in our online reservations - and we ended up with the last room on the third floor farthest away from the bar! It overlooked the quiet side street, so overall a very quiet room.

The location is somewhat inconvenient, but it was only about a block away from the Metro station, and about 10-15 minutes ride to the center of the historic area. We ended up taking a couple of day trips to Bruges and Antwerp (both easy and worthwhile) from the Central station, so it really didn't matter much.

A few other random thoughts: As with most European and Asian hotels, there's a master power switch at the entry to the room. This particular switch was a little more difficult to figure out (it's quite stiff and only part of the room key is inserted - see picture). We came from the airport and arrived at the Schuman station (by bus) in the dark. It was at a big traffic circle with multiple out-branching streets, and the map posted on a pole at one of the intersections was a great help. Look for "Froissart" street (on a sign posted on the nearest building wall), and the big "aloft" and "HOTEL" lights on the side of the aloft building will be apparent about a block away from the traffic circle down the first street.

We didn't get breakfast, visit the bar, or buy anything from their convenience store, so don't have any useful comments concerning those.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chestnutmash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

This was a great hotel. Was a distance out of town though so you have to get the bus or train into the city.

Really clean and modern rooms with free internet, bottles of water etc. very spacious and airy.

One thing that was annoying though is when we checked in we were told it was happy hour from 6 until 7 and given a printed off leaflet with this info on. When we went to the bar at 6.35 they said it was in fact from 6 until 6.30 and wouldn't honour it. A little thing, but not a good way to do business and not a good start to the stay.

Apart from that, all in all very good. staff were helpful and it really is a great hotel for the money! Oh, and really comfy beds!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cam_csb2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coennie, Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

Hi Camille,

Thanks very much for writing and sharing here on tripadvisor.
So sorry we missed the boat on our happy hour communication. I believe you informed our front desk on this printing mistake in our room? You will be glad to know that all flyers have since been reprinted with the correct timings - daily happy hour from 18.00-18.30 AND 20.00-20.30. Double fun!

Hope to see you back with us soon.
Have an easy breezy day.

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews