We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect location, lovely staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
Ranked #12 of 69 Hotels in Antwerp
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect location, lovely staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We chose this hotel because we had very limited time in Antwerp (overnight) and wanted to maximize our experience in the old city center without breaking the budget. Not being used to driving in Antwerp we had a difficult time finding the hotel (street names are on sides of buildings vertical from the car and can change by block so it is difficult to get readings, further complicated by one-way streets and narrow streets shared with trolleys), and it became quite funny that when we called for assistance the lovely young woman at the front desk always said "You're almost here! It is very easy from there! Just...." and by that time we would be in some other location entirely, swept along by traffic. It says a lot for the staff that when we finally just gave up and parked the car in a largish square (by the Hilton) and called in frustration, they sent someone to usher us to the hotel, just a few blocks away. Once there, the room had lovely light, a nicely separated toilet room from bath, and a comfortable bed. We also were literally one row of structures behind the Grote Markt, which was just where we wanted to be. We wound up eating dinner at a small restaurant just across the cobble-stone street from the hotel out of exhaustion--and were extremely pleased with the quality of the food and wine. Breakfast the next morning was plentiful and varied. This was a perfect choice. (Although the weather was not conducive to outdoor sitting while we were there as it was damp/rainy--the hotel has a really nice small garden.)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaSanDiego_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    154
    70
    9
    8
See reviews for
34
184
11
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Within minutes from Hotel Rubens, we could walk to a number of great sight-seeing destinations of Antwerp. We even walked to the MAS (the new museum) and it was a pleasant experience. The hotel served a sumptuous breakfast which was included in the room charges. We prepaid and got a discount. It was worth it. The bedroom is of American size. The bed is at least king-size if not even bigger. Our bathroom is separate from the toilet, which occupies a smaller, separate closet. The TV is big, with good reception and many channels. Antwerp is a real city complete with grit, great works of art, and a gleeful desire for renewal which you can sense around this hotel. Take time to walk around the neighborhood. I am happy to have seen Antwerp while staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Eat breakfast there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jameschan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

The Rubens Hotel is a small central hotel, just a few minutes to the Cathedral. The breakfast was great, whit many kinds of dairy products and bread. The rooms are large and comfortable, whith a wonderful view of the cathedral's tower. The bathroom is clean and has a partial glass on the bathtub that blocks the water to flood outside. The service is very kind. A really good choice.

Room Tip: The room view is terrific! On bed, it's possible to see the cathedral's tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izabellamartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harderwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Perfect location. Small scale hotel, very cosy. Most of the rooms have a patio. I would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We were lucky to get an upgrade to the best suite, but it took the better part of 24 hrs. before the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HierdenTulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Stayed here on business but I would stay again if it were a holiday. Welcoming reception which offered a glass of port or sherry. This may be useful if you have just attempted to drive in to Antwerp, where the rush hour traffic was total gridlock - allow yourself an extra hour to arrive if it is late afternoon. The hotel has a secure garage just round the corner. The room was clean and big enough, bathroom likewise. Breakfast was also just enough. Location is excellent for visiting main square.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WithScruples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.3 km away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.2 km away
Hotel Julien
Hotel Julien
#7 of 69 in Antwerp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.4 km away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#3 of 69 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
1.8 km away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.4 km away
Hotel 't Sandt
Hotel 't Sandt
#11 of 69 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt

Property: Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
Address: Oude Beurs 29, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#9 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
#9 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,771 - ₹ 12,274
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rubens-Grote Markt is situated less than a 1-minute walk from the lively Market Square with bars and restaurants, as well as The Cathedral of Our Lady. It has a 24-hour front desk and free high speed wireless internet access throughout the property. This hotel offers light and spacious rooms as well as a luxurious suite. All units have individual climate control as well as a flat-screen TV. Some of the deluxe rooms and suites also come with a private terrace. The breakfast buffet offers a variety of hot and cold choices. Weather permitting, breakfast is served on the patio with the hotel's own 16th-century Pagadder tower. Guests can benefit from the Rubens-Grote Markt's convenient location in the historic centre for visiting the most important museums and shopping streets, De Meir and Groenplaats Square, all within walking distance. The MAS Museum is a 10-minute walk and the Red Star Line Museum can be reached in 15 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rubens Grote Markt
Rubens Grote Markt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing