We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very good accommodation for a stay in historic...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Antwerp, Antwerp Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
KWAKBeerf...
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very good accommodation for a stay in historic Antwerp”
Reviewed 29 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

A rather dark communal entrance hall and winding staircase lead to this attractive and spacious one bedroom apartment on the first floor of an older building in the historic area of Antwerp. The accommodation, on three levels, comprises a small kitchen, good sized dining/living area (set on two levels), outside seating area (not used by us in January), and steps down to the bathroom and bedroom.

The apartment provided an excellent base for our stay in Antwerp. On arrival we were met by Catherine who showed us around, explained how things worked and provided very useful information on local shops and restaurants. The kitchen was stocked with basic foodstuffs such as spices, olive oil, vinegars, coffee, a selection of teabags. cereal, and jams. It was equipped with sufficient pots, pans, dishes and cutlery for cooking if desired.

The apartment was perfectly situated for exploring the historic old town and central Antwerp more generally . All sights and shops were within walking distance. A very good pub/cafe - ‘Billies' (see separate reviews on TA - outstanding selection of beers, good food and service) - was about a two minute walk away. A good baker ('Het Dagelijks') and cafe was a four minute walk away in a neighbouring street (Steenhouwersvest). WiFi (used for our laptop, mobile phone and internet radio) was good, the TV had a wide selection of channels (including BBC), and there was a radio tuner. The Groenplaats and Groetplaats were a five and ten minute walk respectively as were bus, tram and metro stops and a taxi rank. We wanted a change from a hotel for this city break and were delighted with our experience of this very comfortable apartment. Highly recommended without reservation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: (1) The space (2) The location (within walking distance of all sights and amenities)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
772jane14
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent location and apartment is light, clean, well equipped.”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed for 6 nights in May 2015 with two teenage children. The apartment is light, spacious and well equipped. Tastefully furnished and a pleasure to stay in. The kitchen are had all we needed and we used it a lot; supplied with tea, coffee and cereals, jam etc as well as beer which was a very good start. The bathroom was well equipped and lots of towels supplied. The terrace is a gem. Lovely living area with interesting art work. Catherine and Dieter were really helpful, and met us on arrival, and though we did not need to we could have contacted them during our stay with any problems. The location is great: in the older part of Antwerp and easy to access shops and sights across the city by foot or public transport. We had not visited Antwerp before and there is lots to do. The only warning may be the steep access steps to the apartment which go with an older building but these would only be a problem if you had mobility problems or lots of baggage. We would definitely stay there again. Thanks Catherine and Dieter!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and cleanness and facilities
Liked least: very hard to say - maybe kitchen knives could be sharper for chopping veg!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D C
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A spacious modern duplex close to the Grote Markt in Antwerp”
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A spotless, extremely well equipped duplex which was large enough for four of us for 4 days. Catherine was extremely helpful and charming and had left beer in the fridge and cereals and jam for breakfast. We could easily have cooked but ate out each night in one of the many local restaurants. The pictures and description are spot on and I especially enjoyed the outside terrace with a great view of the Cathedral spire.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness and location.
Liked least: The stairs are rather steep when climbing up to the top apartment after a days sightseeing.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane R
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect hosts”
Reviewed 30 December 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed here with our one year old daughter. The apartment was clean, homely and had everything we needed. Catherine met us and explained what was nearby, writing down local restaurants and showing us where they were on the map, telling us where local food shops were and opening times and generally just gave us a really warm welcome (including 2 local beers in the fridge! Fabulous after a day of traveling)

A high chair and cot were provided, making it easy to eat and live in the apartment during out stay. We enjoyed sitting with a glass of beer after our daughter had gone to bed and even sat outside one evening in the gorgeous patio area.

The apartment is perfectly based for exploring Antwerp and we walked everywhere. It was in a quiet location yet key tourist areas where within a 5 minute walk.

If there is any downside it was just that there are steps down to the bedroom that we just had to keep aware of in case our daughter wandered over to them (but this was easily barricaded with chairs). The apartment is on the middle floor but it was fine and safe to leave the pram on the ground floor.

We would stay in this apartment again for it's location, price, facilities and the marvellous welcome we had from Catherine, and definately recommend it to anyone looking for a convenient and comfortable place to stay in Antwerp.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm personal welcome
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carefree8...
West Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
989 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL, fully equipped home in the heart of old town Antwerp”
Reviewed 16 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

While we could only manage 2 nights in this lovely recently completed apartment, we could not feel luckier. Catherine met us at the door as agreed upon based on the arrival time of our train from Amsterdam. She led us up 2 long flights of stairs (the only real thing to be aware of) to this spacious apartment. Then there is another internal set of steps within the apartment up to the sleeping quarters and bathroom and deck. Of course, the deck was not usable during this chilling December week but the glass doors to the deck offer the MOST spectacular view of the lighted cathedral spire - it is truly breathtaking.
Aside from the apartment itself - and this apartment is their second apartment in this building not to be confused with the original apartment on the first floor - Catherine could not have been more helpful nor attentive. The apartment is nicely supplied with all the basics for cooking - spices, olive oil, vinegar, coffee, cereal, and jams. We did not prepare any meals but were surprised and pleased to find the essentials. There is a fully equipped kitchen with pots, pans, dishes, etc so that any guest could easily prepare all meals if he/she so chose to do.
Many, many thanks to Catherine and all recommendations to other are to avail yourselves of this lovely rental - we will certainly be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location, the view, the owners, the amenities,
Liked least: the stairs up to the apartment are narrow and steep but do-able and worth it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing