We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,116)
Filter reviews
1,116 results
Traveller rating
731
237
82
43
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
731
237
82
43
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high tea beautiful hotel old world small pool steam room escher museum den haag rain shower junior suite public areas lovely room concierge starwood doorman turndown denneweg netherlands
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,116 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

We visited this hotel for a short, one night stay. At our arrival, the porter helped us parking our car. Checking in was excellent.

Our hotel room was not that large but very nice. The bed was super.

The quality of the food and beverages at breakfast was great. Service however should be improved. It felt chaotic and it looked like the waiters were understaffed. During breakfast more staff showed up and structure returned.

Overall, we had a very nice experience at hotel Des Indes and we will probably return if we are staying in The Hague again.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank AMG1970NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

Turned up at the hotel to be told that even those though I had booked and paid for the room over a month prior, there was no room as the hotel was overbooked. Exactly same thing had happened to me in another Marriott hotel (in Aberdeen) over a month ago.

Receptionist told me that they had booked me in another hotel and would be happy to pay the taxi fare over there (!?). At same time, receptionist at next door desk was dealing with another irate customer, and suddenly announced he had been able to find a room for that customer.

As a Gold card customer with Marriott, I asked to speak to the manager but was told that he was too busy to speak to me. Clearly hiding in his office whilst the junior staff were dealing with upset customers. Hannah, the receptionist gave me the Marriott rewards program phone number and told to call them if I had a complaint.

Took the taxi to the Hotel Indigo where Marriott had booked me in. Even though Marriott had promised to pay for the taxi, they had not done so ... so I had to pay.

They say that the rot always starts at the head of a fish, in this hotel’s case, clearly the case for this hotel....

Nothing good to say about Marriott or Hotel des Indes.... Bad customer service coupled with ineffectual and cowardly senior management...

Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesIndesTheHague, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Dear Mr. Patrick M.

Thank you for your feedback on your recent experience at our Hotel.

First of all I want to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced with us with regards to the reservation process.
We understand this is very upsetting and want to address, that is not the service we want to deliver and strive for at our Hotel.

We have internally investigated the situation and subsequent to this we have understood that, after asking for the Manager, our Rooms Division Manager directly came out to speak with you. We did not recognize your Gold Member status as you booked with us via Expedia, other than booking directly via our reservation system.

Regarding the taxi we have given instructions to the driver to come back and collect the costs, but apparently has not done so, for which we apologize and this has been evaluated with our partner company. Furthermore, we are of course happy to reimburse these costs, as they should have never been charged to you in the first place.

We were not able to collect your contact details via Expedia, which we immediately tried after the situation took place, but were not provided with due to privacy regulations. Also, we instructed Expedia to reimburse you for your stay. Today, they have confirmed that this has been handled.

Again, our sincere apologies for the experience you have had with us.

We would highly appreciate it, if you could contact us and inform us how to reimburse the taxi costs.

With kind regards,

Coen Masselink
General Manager
Coen.masselink@desindes.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

If you are looking for something stylish and more glamorous then hotel Des Indes is the place to be. The hotel will impress you from outside already. Pretty dark inside but it gives a feeling of warmth and intimacy. Besides great rooms make sure you visit their restaurant. Food is excellent. Bar Lounge also offers some nice sweet treats and snacks and a good variety of drinks. Personnel is very polite and professional. Even if you are not staying in a hotel you can always visit the inside and have a drink in their bar.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BNapotnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

We had some friends there and had just a cup of coffee but it is a hidden gem for sure with a beautiful building, decoration and excellent service.
Very near the shopping area and very quiet place too.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank 838mercedesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesIndesTheHague, Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Dear Mercedes D,

Thank you for the kind review of your recent visit at Hotel Des Indes. Furthermore, we would like to thank you for the compliments about the hotel and our staff and for the wonderful mark that you scored us!

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Kortleve
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in this SPG group hotel, overall is very pleasant experience!

Staff: The staff is very warm and helpful, they are well verse with English and always able to help you.

Room: The room is very clean and I like the tradition Europe design! Very comfortable and love the pillow!

Breakfast: the breakfast locate at level 1, interesting lay out. Would be nice sit next to the windows, you can have a view of outside street.

Location: it is 5 mins taxi ride to main train station, you can also do a short tour behind the street. Few nice cafe around the area.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
Thank Dxc100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesIndesTheHague, Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Dear Dxc100,

Thank you for having chosen Hotel Des Indes as your accommodation in The Hague and for taking the time and effort to complete our guest satisfaction questionnaire.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and we are very grateful for the beautiful comments and beautiful mark that you scored us. Furthermore, your compliments about the service of the staff will be shared with our team.

On behalf of the team we would like to thank you for that! In case you have any additional feedback, please do not hesitate to reply to this email. All your valuable feedback regarding your stay will help us to improve the quality and consistency of our services.

Warm regards,

Coen Masselink
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews